Travel Vaccine Requirements by Country (2026 Data)
Yellow fever entry rules for 220 countries and territories as listed in 2022, malaria prevention types, vaccine coverage and cases, U.S. advisory levels, vaccine prices and the Philippine travel tax.
- Published
- Updated
- 19 sources
- 33 statistics
- 13 min read
- PhD in organizational behavior
- Senior-level HR certification
- Former Global Mobility Director, 60,000-employee multinational
- Former federal consular-fee policy analyst
- Credentialed actuary
- 18 years in travel-insurance underwriting
Key findings
- 119 of 220On the 2022 list, 119 of 220 countries and territories required yellow fever proof from some travelers.
- 19In 2022, 19 countries and territories, 18 of them in Africa, required yellow fever proof from every traveler.
- 53%Only 53% of 1-year-olds in countries at risk of yellow fever were vaccinated in 2025, against 80% recommended.
- 631Worldwide, 631 yellow fever cases were reported in 2025, 23% more than in 2024.
- 24In September 2026, 24 destinations were at Level 4, Do Not Travel, on the U.S. advisory scale.
- 75On the 2022 list, Type C malaria prevention, bite prevention plus preventive medicine, applied in 75 countries and territories.
- $222A yellow fever shot is $222 on one Utah county's proposed 2026 fees, 2.4 times hepatitis A.
- PHP 1,620The Philippines' full travel tax for an economy-class departure is PHP 1,620, about $25.81.
Travel vaccine requirements by country come down to one vaccine at the border: yellow fever. Under the International Health Regulations it is the only vaccination a country may routinely demand as a condition of entry, and 1191 of 220 countries and territories on the 2022 list (revised January 2023) asked for proof from at least some travelers. Only 422 places are themselves at risk of the disease. Since 11 July 2016, one certificate has been valid for the life of the person vaccinated.1
Everything else is advice rather than a border rule: hepatitis A, typhoid, rabies and Japanese encephalitis vaccines, and malaria prevention by area. Seven of the 19 places that asked every traveler for proof were also at Level 4, Do Not Travel, on the U.S. advisory scale in September 2026.3 Reported yellow fever cases rose three years in a row to 6314 in 2025. On one county clinic's proposed 2026 fees, a typical set of travel shots adds up to $287 to $994.56
Which countries require a vaccine for entry?
Only yellow fever can be a routine condition of entry. Proof of any other vaccination can be asked for only under temporary recommendations issued for a public health emergency of international concern, as with polio.1 On the 2022 list, 1001 countries and territories asked for yellow fever proof from travelers arriving from, or passing through, a country with risk of transmission, and 191 asked everyone. Together that is 54.1% of the 220 entries; the other 1011 had no yellow fever entry requirement.
- Not required10145.9%
- Required from arrivals from risk countries10045.5%
- Required from all arriving travelers198.6%
- Just over half of the 220 entries ask for yellow fever proof in some form.
- The all-traveler rule is the rare one: 19 entries.
- The common rule targets arrivals from risk countries: 100 entries.
The map shades each country by its rule. The all-traveler rule is almost entirely African, with 18 of the 19 entries; arrival-based rules are common across the Americas, Asia and the Pacific; and in Europe only three entries list any rule.1 Small islands and territories without an outline on the world map are not drawn.
- Code 3, every traveler, covers a belt of West and Central Africa plus French Guiana.
- Code 2, arrivals from risk countries, dominates the Americas and South Asia.
- Europe is almost entirely code 1: no rule.
Two kinds of rule: arrivals from risk countries, or everyone
The 19 all-traveler places are Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, French Guiana, Gabon, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Mali, Niger, Sierra Leone, South Sudan, Togo and Uganda.1 All 19 are themselves at risk of yellow fever transmission.2 Grouped by WHO region, the share of entries with any rule falls from 92.0%1 in Africa to 5.4%1 in Europe, where only Albania, Kazakhstan and Malta list one.7
- Africa is near-universal at 92.0%.
- The Americas and South-East Asia sit above 70%.
- Europe is the exception at 5.4%.
The Americas (73.5%1) and South-East Asia (72.7%1) sit close together. The Western Pacific is split almost evenly: 17 of its 33 entries, or 51.5%, ask for proof. In the Eastern Mediterranean, 9 of 21 do (42.9%).17
Age limits and layovers
Yellow fever rules are among the most detailed travel restrictions by country, and two details decide whether one reaches a given traveler: a child's age and the length of a layover. Of the 119 places that ask for proof, 612 set the threshold at 1 year of age and 542 at 9 months, 115 in all (96.6%). Honduras asks for proof only from people aged 1 to 50 years, Sint Eustatius from 6 months, and Kazakhstan and Sierra Leone state no age.2
- Two thresholds cover almost every rule: 1 year or 9 months.
- Only 1 place sets an upper age limit.
- 2 places state no age at all.
Layovers matter for the 100 places whose rule targets arrivals from risk countries. 591 of them count a transit of more than 12 hours in an airport of a risk country, 101 count any transit, and 291 have no transit clause; Guyana counts more than 4 hours and Paraguay more than 24. The 12-hour line goes back to a 2010 expert view that under 12 hours of airport transit in a risk area, the risk is almost non-existent.1
- The 12-hour rule is the norm: 59 of 100.
- 10 places count even a short connection.
- Guyana and Paraguay set their own limits of 4 and 24 hours.
A rule at the border is not the same as a risk on the ground. Of the 119 places that require proof, only 37 are themselves at risk of transmission; the other 82 require it without being at risk.26
Where yellow fever is a risk
422 countries and territories are classed as having a risk of yellow fever transmission in all or part of their territory: 28 in Africa, 13 in the Americas and one, Sudan, in the Eastern Mediterranean. Their own entry rules differ: 19 ask every traveler for proof, 18 ask arrivals from other risk countries, and five ask for nothing at all.2
- Require proof from all travelers1945.2%
- Require proof from arrivals from risk countries1842.9%
- No entry requirement511.9%
- 19 of the 42 at-risk places ask every traveler for proof.
- 5 at-risk places have no entry rule at all.
- 18 ask only arrivals from other risk countries.
The five at-risk places with no entry rule are Argentina, where the risk covers only Misiones and Corrientes, Brazil, Peru, Sudan, and Trinidad and Tobago.2 Vaccination is recommended for travelers to all or part of 421 countries and territories, generally not recommended for 3 (Eritrea, Somalia and Zambia) and not recommended for 175.1 Severe cases are deadly: about half of the roughly 15% of infected people who become severely ill die within 7 to 10 days.8
| Countries at high risk of outbreaks | 27 in Africa, 13 in Latin America |
| Severe infections a year (Africa and the Americas, estimate) | 67,000-173,000 |
| Deaths a year (Africa and the Americas, estimate) | 31,000-82,000 |
| Infected people who develop severe disease | about 15% |
| Severe cases who die within 7-10 days | about 50% |
| Incubation period | 3-6 days |
| Vaccinated people protected within 10 days | 80-100% |
| Vaccinated people protected within 30 days | over 99% |
| Actual cases in outbreaks, relative to reported | 10-250 times higher |
Travel vaccine requirements, country by country
The table lists every country and territory on the 2022 list with its yellow fever entry rule, the minimum age, whether the vaccine is recommended for travelers, the malaria prevention type and the U.S. advisory level as of September 25, 2026. Sort any column by its header; the full list opens with the button below it. A dash means no value is given, or the place has no advisory of its own. The rules are shown as listed in 2022 (revised January 2023), and countries can change them at any time.13
| Afghanistan | Not required | - | No | Type C | Level 4 |
| Albania | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | Level 2 |
| Algeria | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | - | Level 2 |
| Andorra | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Angola | All travelers | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 2 |
| Antigua and Barbuda | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | Level 1 |
| Argentina | Not required | - | Yes (all or part) | - | Level 1 |
| Armenia | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| Aruba | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | - | Level 1 |
| Australia | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | Level 1 |
| Austria | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Azerbaijan | Not required | - | No | Type A | Level 3 |
| Bahamas (The) | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | Level 2 |
| Bahrain | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | - | Level 3 |
| Bangladesh | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type C | Level 3 |
| Barbados | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | Level 1 |
| Belarus | Not required | - | No | - | Level 4 |
| Belgium | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| Belize | Not required | - | No | Type A | Level 2 |
| Benin | All travelers | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 2 |
| Bhutan | Not required | - | No | Type C | Level 1 |
| Bolivia (plurinational State Of) | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | Yes (all or part) | Type B | Level 2 |
| Bonaire | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | - | Level 1 |
| Bosnia and Herzegovina | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| Botswana | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type C | Level 2 |
| Brazil | Not required | - | Yes (all or part) | Type C (A-C by area) | Level 2 |
| British Indian Ocean Territory | Not required | - | No | - | - |
| Brunei Darussalam | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | Type B | Level 1 |
| Bulgaria | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Burkina Faso | All travelers | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 4 |
| Burundi | All travelers | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 3 |
| Cabo Verde (the Republic Of) | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type A | Level 1 |
| Cambodia | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type C | Level 2 |
| Cameroon | All travelers | ≥ 1 year | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 2 |
| Canada | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Central African Republic | All travelers | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 4 |
| Chad | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 4 |
| Chile | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| China | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | - | Level 2 |
| Colombia | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 3 |
| Comoros | Not required | - | No | Type C | Level 2 |
| Congo | All travelers | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 2 |
| Cook Islands | Not required | - | No | - | - |
| Costa Rica | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | Type A | Level 2 |
| Côte d’Ivoire | All travelers | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 2 |
| Croatia | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Cuba | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | - | Level 2 |
| Curaçao | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | - | Level 1 |
| Cyprus | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Czechia | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Democratic People’s Republic of Korea | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type A | Level 4 |
| Democratic Republic of the Congo | All travelers | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 4 |
| Denmark | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| Djibouti | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type C | Level 2 |
| Dominica | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | Level 1 |
| Dominican Republic | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type C | Level 2 |
| Ecuador | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 2 |
| Egypt | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | - | Level 2 |
| El Salvador | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type A | Level 1 |
| Equatorial Guinea | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 2 |
| Eritrea | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | Generally not | Type C | Level 2 |
| Estonia | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Eswatini (kingdom Of) | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | Type C | Level 2 |
| Ethiopia | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 3 |
| Faroe Islands | Not required | - | No | - | - |
| Fiji | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | Level 1 |
| Finland | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| France | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| French Guiana | All travelers | ≥ 1 year | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 1 |
| French Polynesia | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | Level 1 |
| Gabon | All travelers | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 2 |
| Gambia | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 2 |
| Georgia | Not required | - | No | Type A | Level 1 |
| Germany | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| Ghana | All travelers | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 2 |
| Greece | Not required | - | No | Type A | Level 1 |
| Greenland | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| Grenada | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | Level 2 |
| Guadeloupe | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | Level 1 |
| Guatemala | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type B | Level 3 |
| Guinea | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 2 |
| Guinea-bissau | All travelers | ≥ 1 year | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 3 |
| Guyana | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 3 |
| Haiti | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type C | Level 4 |
| Honduras | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year and ≤ 50 years | No | Type C (A-C by area) | Level 3 |
| Hungary | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Iceland | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| India | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | Type C | Level 2 |
| Indonesia | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | Type C | Level 2 |
| Iran (islamic Republic Of) | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | Type C | Level 4 |
| Iraq | Not required | - | No | - | Level 4 |
| Ireland | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Israel | Not required | - | No | - | Level 3 |
| Italy | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| Jamaica | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | Level 2 |
| Japan | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Jordan | Not required | - | No | - | Level 3 |
| Kazakhstan | If arriving from a risk country | not stated | No | - | Level 1 |
| Kenya | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 2 |
| Kiribati | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Korea (republic Of) | Not required | - | No | Type A | Level 1 |
| Kuwait | Not required | - | No | - | Level 3 |
| Kyrgyzstan | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Lao People’s Democratic Republic | Not required | - | No | Type C | Level 2 |
| Latvia | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Lebanon | Not required | - | No | - | Level 4 |
| Lesotho | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| Liberia | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 2 |
| Libya | Not required | - | No | - | Level 4 |
| Liechtenstein | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Lithuania | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Luxembourg | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Madagascar | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | Type C | Level 2 |
| Malawi | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type C | Level 2 |
| Malaysia | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type B | Level 1 |
| Maldives | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | - | Level 2 |
| Mali | All travelers | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 4 |
| Malta | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | - | Level 1 |
| Marshall Islands | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Martinique | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | - |
| Mauritania | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 3 |
| Mauritius | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| Mayotte | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type A | - |
| Mexico | Not required | - | No | Type A | Level 2 |
| Micronesia (federated States Of) | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Moldova (republic Of) | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| Monaco | Not required | - | No | - | - |
| Mongolia | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Montenegro | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Montserrat | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | Level 1 |
| Morocco | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| Mozambique | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type C | Level 2 |
| Myanmar | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type C | Level 4 |
| Namibia | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | Type C | Level 2 |
| Nauru | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Nepal | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | Type A | Level 2 |
| Netherlands (The) | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| New Caledonia | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | Level 2 |
| New Zealand | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Nicaragua | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type C (A-C by area) | Level 3 |
| Niger | All travelers | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 4 |
| Nigeria | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 3 |
| Niue | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | - | - |
| North Macedonia (republic Of) | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Norway | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Oman | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | - | Level 3 |
| Pakistan | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type C | Level 3 |
| Palau | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Panama | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | Yes (all or part) | Type C (A-C by area) | Level 2 |
| Papua New Guinea | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type C | Level 3 |
| Paraguay | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | Yes (all or part) | - | Level 1 |
| Peru | Not required | - | Yes (all or part) | Type C (A-C by area) | Level 2 |
| Philippines | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | Type A | Level 2 |
| Pitcairn Islands | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | - |
| Poland | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Portugal | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Puerto Rico | Not required | - | No | - | - |
| Qatar | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | - | Level 3 |
| Reunion | Not required | - | No | - | - |
| Romania | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Russian Federation | Not required | - | No | - | Level 4 |
| Rwanda | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type C | Level 3 |
| Saba | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Saint Barthelemy | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | - |
| Saint Helena | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | - |
| Saint Kitts and Nevis | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | Level 1 |
| Saint Lucia | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | - | Level 2 |
| Saint Martin | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | - |
| Saint Pierre and Miquelon | Not required | - | No | - | - |
| Saint Vincent and the Grenadines | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | Level 1 |
| Samoa | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | Level 1 |
| San Marino | Not required | - | No | - | - |
| Sao Tome and Principe | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type C | Level 2 |
| Saudi Arabia | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | Type C | Level 3 |
| Senegal | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 1 |
| Serbia | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| Seychelles | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | Level 1 |
| Sierra Leone | All travelers | not stated | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 2 |
| Singapore | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | Level 1 |
| Sint Eustatius | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 6 months | No | - | Level 1 |
| Sint Maarten | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | - | Level 1 |
| Slovakia | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Slovenia | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Solomon Islands | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | Type C | Level 2 |
| Somalia | Not required | - | Generally not | Type C | Level 4 |
| South Africa | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type C | Level 2 |
| South Sudan | All travelers | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 4 |
| Spain | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| Sri Lanka | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | - | Level 2 |
| Sudan | Not required | - | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 4 |
| Suriname | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | Yes (all or part) | Type B | Level 1 |
| Sweden | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| Switzerland | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Syrian Arab Republic | Not required | - | No | - | Level 4 |
| Tajikistan | Not required | - | No | Type A | Level 2 |
| Tanzania (united Republic Of) | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | Type C | Level 3 |
| Thailand | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | Type C (A-C by area) | Level 1 |
| Timor-leste | Not required | - | No | Type C | Level 2 |
| Togo | All travelers | ≥ 9 months | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 2 |
| Tonga | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Trinidad and Tobago | Not required | - | Yes (all or part) | - | Level 3 |
| Tunisia | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| Turkey | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| Turkmenistan | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Tuvalu | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Uganda | All travelers | ≥ 1 year | Yes (all or part) | Type C | Level 4 |
| Ukraine | Not required | - | No | - | Level 4 |
| United Arab Emirates | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | - | Level 3 |
| United Kingdom (with Channel Islands and Isle of Man) | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| United States of America | Not required | - | No | - | - |
| Uruguay | Not required | - | No | - | Level 2 |
| Uzbekistan | Not required | - | No | - | Level 1 |
| Vanuatu | Not required | - | No | Type C | Level 1 |
| Venezuela (bolivarian Republic Of) | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | Yes (all or part) | Type C (A-C by area) | Level 3 |
| Viet Nam | Not required | - | No | Type C | Level 1 |
| Wake Island | Not required | - | No | - | - |
| Wallis and Futuna | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | No | - | - |
| Yemen | Not required | - | No | Type C (A-C by area) | Level 4 |
| Zambia | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 1 year | Generally not | Type C | Level 1 |
| Zimbabwe | If arriving from a risk country | ≥ 9 months | No | Type C | Level 2 |
The list is older than its date suggests. Only 1436 of the 220 entries (65.0%) were last confirmed in 2021 or 2022, and 10 carry no year because they date from before 2013.1
| 2022 | 78 |
| 2021 | 65 |
| 2020 | 21 |
| 2019 | 22 |
| 2018 | 9 |
| 2017 | 5 |
| 2016 | 2 |
| 2015 | 2 |
| 2013 | 6 |
| Before 2013 (no year given) | 10 |
The reason is the response rate. For the 2022 edition, a survey went to 196 States Parties on 16 March 2022, and 701 (36%) answered by 15 August. None of the 47 in Africa replied, against all 21 in the Eastern Mediterranean.1
- The Eastern Mediterranean answered in full: 100%.
- 0% of states in Africa replied.
- The Western Pacific response rate was 14.8%.
Polio, meningitis and Hajj certificates
Beyond yellow fever, 221 countries and territories listed other vaccination requirements in 2022, most tied to polio or to the Hajj pilgrimage. Polio appears in 18 entries, meningococcal meningitis in 10, seasonal influenza in 4 and Haemophilus influenzae type b in 1 (Afghanistan, for Hajj travelers); 10 of the 22 mention the Hajj.1 Saudi Arabia asks for meningococcal vaccination for Hajj and Umrah, Iran asks arrivals from polio-endemic countries for polio vaccination 4 weeks to 12 months before arrival, and Egypt asks for polio vaccination regardless of age. Polio lists change, so these entries are shown as listed in 2022.
- Polio is named in 18 entries, the most of any vaccine.
- Meningococcal meningitis is named in 10.
- Hib appears in 1 entry, for Hajj travelers.
Passports and visas head most lists of travel documents by country, but the yellow card, the International Certificate of Vaccination or Prophylaxis, is the one health document a border can routinely ask for.1 Since 11 July 2016 a yellow fever certificate is valid for the life of the person vaccinated, and no country can require a booster as a condition of entry.2 No other vaccine, cholera included, can be a routine entry requirement.1
Malaria prevention by country
Malaria has no entry rule, but the list gives each country a prevention type. Type A means very limited risk and mosquito-bite prevention only; Type B means risk of non-falciparum malaria, with bite prevention plus chloroquine, or doxycycline, atovaquone-proguanil or mefloquine; Type C means risk of P. falciparum malaria, with bite prevention plus atovaquone-proguanil, doxycycline or mefloquine.1 The medicine is chosen by drug-resistance pattern, side effects and contraindications. 751 entries are Type C, 14 Type A and 5 Type B, and 126 list no type.
- No prevention type listed12657.3%
- Type C (P. falciparum risk)7534.1%
- Type A (very limited risk)146.4%
- Type B (non-falciparum risk)52.3%
- 126 entries list no malaria prevention type.
- 75 entries are Type C, the highest risk type.
- Type B is rare, with 5 entries.
Of the 94 entries that name a type, 79.8% are Type C.6 Eight countries mix types by area: Brazil, Thailand and Yemen combine A and C (Thailand's C areas lie near the Cambodia and Myanmar borders, and Yemen's Socotra is A), while Honduras, Nicaragua, Panama, Peru and Venezuela combine B and C.1 The 2022 list notes four countries as certified malaria-free: Paraguay (2018), Algeria and Argentina (2019), and China (2021).1 More have been certified since: as of July 2025, 479 countries and 1 territory were certified malaria-free, including Cabo Verde and Egypt (2024) and Georgia, Suriname and Timor-Leste (2025).9
- Code 3, Type C, covers most of sub-Saharan Africa.
- Most of Europe, the United States, Canada and Australia are code 0: no type listed.
- Codes 1 and 2 appear mainly in Asia and the Americas.
Recommended but not required: the other travel vaccines
Most travel vaccines are advice, not entry rules. Hepatitis A is among the most common vaccine-preventable infections in travelers, with high endemicity in parts of Africa and Asia, intermediate levels in Central and South America, eastern Europe and parts of Asia, and low levels in western Europe and the United States.10 Rabies viruses (lyssaviruses) occur on every continent except Antarctica, and dog rabies persists in Africa, parts of Central and South America, and Asia.11
Typhoid is widespread: about 9.2 million typhoid and 3.8 million paratyphoid cases a year worldwide, with about 133,00012 deaths. In the United States, about 85% of typhoid and 80% of paratyphoid cases occur among international travelers, over 70% of them after travel to Bangladesh, India or Pakistan.12 Japanese encephalitis is rare in travelers: 16 cases among U.S. travelers from 1993 to 2024 and fewer than 1 per million travelers to Asia.13
| Typhoid | Cases a year worldwide | 9.2 million |
| Paratyphoid | Cases a year worldwide | 3.8 million |
| Typhoid and paratyphoid | Deaths a year worldwide | about 133,000 |
| Typhoid | Culture-confirmed U.S. cases, 2019 | about 450 |
| Paratyphoid A | U.S. cases, 2019 | about 130 |
| Typhoid | U.S. cases among international travelers | about 85% |
| Paratyphoid | U.S. cases among international travelers | about 80% |
| Japanese encephalitis | Cases in travelers and expatriates from non-endemic countries, 1973-2022 | 90 |
| Japanese encephalitis | Cases among U.S. travelers, 1993-2024 | 16 |
| Japanese encephalitis | Risk for travelers to Asia | under 1 per million travelers |
| Japanese encephalitis | Resident children in endemic areas, per year | 6-11 per 100,000 |
Yellow fever in numbers: coverage and cases
Coverage of the yellow fever vaccine among 1-year-olds in countries at risk rose from 12%14 in 2000 to 53%14 in 2025, a gain of 41 points, and it is still 27 points short of the 80% recommended.15 Growth has slowed: coverage stood at 41% in 2009 and has added 12 points since. On a straight line fitted to 2010-2025, after the 2003-2009 catch-up, coverage would reach about 58% in 2030 and 80% in 2050, with a 95% range of about 73% to 88% in 2050.6 This is our calculation, not a forecast.
Projection: linear trend of 2010–2025 yearly values, 95% prediction range. Our calculation, not a forecast.
- Coverage more than quadrupled from 12% in 2000 to 53% in 2025.
- The fastest gains came in 2003-2009.
- On the fitted line, the 80% goal is not reached until about 2050.
Country figures spread widely. In 2025, Guyana reached 99% and Colombia 96%, and 12 of the 39 countries with a figure were at or above 80%. Argentina (7%), Panama (5%) and Kenya (3%), which vaccinate only in risk areas, were near the bottom, and Ethiopia and South Sudan reported 0%.14
- Guyana, Colombia and Trinidad and Tobago lead above 90%.
- 12 of 39 countries reach 80% or more.
- Several large at-risk countries sit between 50% and 75%.
Reported cases tell a noisier story. They peaked at 5,3444 in 1988, fell to 54 in 2014, and have risen each year since 2022: 217, then 476, 513 and 6314 in 2025, 23% more than in 2024. The Americas drove the latest jump, from 61 cases in 2024 to 341 in 2025, while Africa fell from 452 to 290.4 Reported counts understate the disease: in outbreaks, actual cases may be 10 to 250 times higher.8
Single years swing from 54 to 2,591 cases since 2000, so no straight-line fit describes the series; it is shown as a table, not a projection.
| 2025 | 631 | 290 | 341 |
| 2024 | 513 | 452 | 61 |
| 2023 | 476 | 435 | 41 |
| 2022 | 217 | 203 | 14 |
| 2021 | 281 | 256 | 25 |
| 2020 | 1,139 | 1,110 | 27 |
| 2019 | 459 | 360 | 99 |
| 2018 | 2,064 | 734 | 1,326 |
| 2017 | 876 | 53 | 823 |
| 2016 | 1,154 | 1,040 | 113 |
| 2015 | 72 | 35 | 37 |
| 2014 | 54 | 31 | 23 |
| 2013 | 294 | 268 | 26 |
| 2012 | 262 | 246 | 16 |
| 2011 | 2,591 | 2,574 | 17 |
| 2010 | 737 | 714 | 23 |
| 2009 | 136 | 76 | 59 |
| 2008 | 372 | 270 | 102 |
| 2007 | 265 | 212 | 53 |
| 2006 | 358 | 272 | 86 |
| 2005 | 591 | 474 | 117 |
| 2004 | 1,376 | 1,253 | 122 |
| 2003 | 739 | 498 | 241 |
| 2002 | 715 | 610 | 105 |
| 2001 | 656 | 572 | 82 |
| 2000 | 699 | 593 | 106 |
| 1999 | 216 | 8 | 208 |
| 1998 | 309 | 33 | 276 |
| 1997 | 193 | 47 | 146 |
| 1996 | 439 | 292 | 147 |
| 1995 | 1,219 | 695 | 524 |
| 1994 | 1,440 | 1,351 | 89 |
| 1993 | 410 | 218 | 192 |
| 1992 | 295 | 176 | 119 |
| 1991 | 2,712 | 2,561 | 151 |
| 1990 | 4,339 | 4,248 | 91 |
| 1989 | 3,507 | 3,270 | 237 |
| 1988 | 5,344 | 5,104 | 240 |
| 1987 | 3,247 | 3,012 | 235 |
| 1986 | 1,477 | 1,318 | 159 |
| 1985 | 138 | 13 | 125 |
| 1984 | 1,012 | 917 | 95 |
| 1983 | 793 | 743 | 50 |
| 1982 | 171 | 31 | 140 |
| 1981 | 238 | 7 | 231 |
| 1980 | 144 | 24 | 120 |
Two countries accounted for 38.7% of the 2025 total: Colombia with 124 reported cases and Brazil with 120. South Sudan (87), Peru (49) and Uganda (47) followed, and 24 countries reported at least one case, including 2 in Canada.4
- Colombia and Brazil together reported 244 cases.
- South Sudan led Africa with 87.
- Most reporting countries had fewer than 15 cases.
Yellow fever vaccination also lags other childhood vaccines. In 2025, 85% of the world's children got three doses of the diphtheria-tetanus-pertussis vaccine, 84% a first measles dose and 78% three doses of Hib vaccine, against 53% for yellow fever in the countries at risk.15 About 21 million children missed their first measles dose, and 13.5 million were counted as zero-dose.
- Yellow fever trails the routine childhood vaccines by 25 points or more.
- Measles first-dose coverage is 84%.
- Hib coverage is 78%.
Travel safety by country
The U.S. travel advisory scale rated 214 destinations on four levels as of September 25, 2026: 813 at Level 1, Exercise Normal Precautions; 81 at Level 2, Exercise Increased Caution; 28 at Level 3, Reconsider Travel; and 243 at Level 4, Do Not Travel. Three in four (75.7%) were at Level 1 or 2. Of the ratings, 126 (58.9%) were last updated in 2026, and the oldest dated from June 27, 2023.3
- Levels 1 and 2 cover 162 of 214 destinations.
- 52 destinations sit at Level 3 or 4.
- Level 4 holds 24 destinations.
Level 3 and 4 ratings cluster in a few regions. In the Eastern Mediterranean, 19 of 23 destinations (82.6%) were at Level 3 or 4; in Africa, 31.9%; in Europe, 9.3%; and in the Western Pacific, 6.5%.3 The map shows each destination's level; small islands are not drawn.
- Level 4 destinations cluster in the Sahel, the Middle East and Eastern Europe.
- Most of Europe and the Americas sits at Level 1 or 2.
- Several Gulf states are at Level 3.
Grouped by the same WHO regions used for the yellow fever list, South-East Asia had 30.0% of its destinations at Level 3 or 4 and the Americas 16.7%. In the Americas that meant Colombia, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Nicaragua, Trinidad and Tobago and Venezuela at Level 3, and Haiti at Level 4.37
- The Eastern Mediterranean stands apart at 82.6%.
- Africa and South-East Asia sit near 30%.
- Europe and the Western Pacific stay under 10%.
Each summary names the risks behind its level. On our count of the reasons named in each summary, crime appears in 903 of 214 (42.1%), terrorism in 64, civil unrest in 60, health in 41 and kidnapping in 35.6 Landmines appear in 21 summaries, armed conflict in 16, arbitrary enforcement of laws in 6, and piracy and wrongful detention in 3 each. Nine summaries, including Ukraine and Russia, have no single sentence of reasons to count.
- Crime is named for 90 destinations, the most of any reason.
- Terrorism and civil unrest follow at 64 and 60.
- Health risks are named for 41 destinations.
U.S. travel restrictions by country: the Level 4 list
The 24 Level 4 destinations were Afghanistan, Belarus, Burkina Faso, Burma, the Central African Republic, Chad, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Gaza, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Lebanon, Libya, Mali, Niger, North Korea, Russia, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Uganda, Ukraine and Yemen.3 Levels move: at their latest updates, Cyprus, Nepal and Venezuela were lowered, Tanzania was raised from Level 2 to 3, Mozambique was lowered from 3 to 2, and Jordan moved to Level 3 with an ordered departure.
| Cyprus | Level 1 | Lowered | June 1, 2026 |
| Jordan | Level 3 | Moved to Level 3, ordered departure | May 4, 2026 |
| Nepal | Level 2 | Lowered | March 31, 2026 |
| Venezuela | Level 3 | Lowered | March 19, 2026 |
| Tanzania | Level 3 | Raised from Level 2 | October 31, 2025 |
| Egypt | Level 2 | Level changed (direction not stated) | July 15, 2025 |
| Mozambique | Level 2 | Lowered from Level 3 | June 16, 2025 |
Health rules and safety ratings overlap most at the strict end. Of the 19 places that required yellow fever proof from every traveler, 7 (36.8%) were at Level 4: Burkina Faso, the Central African Republic, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Mali, Niger, South Sudan and Uganda.13 Among the 91 matched places with no yellow fever rule, 46 were at Level 1.
| Not required | 46 | 29 | 5 | 11 | 91 |
| Arrivals from risk countries | 29 | 39 | 19 | 5 | 92 |
| All travelers | 1 | 9 | 2 | 7 | 19 |
How much do travel vaccines cost?
Prices depend on who buys. The federal vaccine price list gives two prices per dose: a contract price and a private-sector price, which is the manufacturer's list price to private buyers, not what a patient pays.16 On the list dated August 3, 2026, private-sector prices ran from $47.81 a dose for polio (IPOL) to $260.13 for mpox (Jynneos); hepatitis A cost $83.73 (Vaqta) or $89.57 (Havrix), and the meningococcal ACWY vaccine MenQuadfi $177.11. The list does not include yellow fever, typhoid, rabies, Japanese encephalitis or cholera vaccines.
- Mpox (Jynneos) is the most expensive dose on the list at $260.13.
- Hepatitis A costs $83.73 to $89.57 a dose depending on the brand.
- Polio (IPOL) is the cheapest at $47.81.
| 1 | Mpox (Jynneos) | $260.13 | $188.66 | 37.9% |
| 2 | Meningococcal ACWY (MenQuadfi) | $177.11 | $80.34 | 120.4% |
| 3 | Hepatitis B (Heplisav-B) | $165.85 | $82.57 | 100.9% |
| 4 | Hepatitis A-B (Twinrix) | $141.60 | $81.01 | 74.8% |
| 5 | MMR (M-M-R II) | $97.99 | $59.00 | 66.1% |
| 6 | Hepatitis A (Havrix) | $89.57 | $42.09 | 112.8% |
| 7 | Hepatitis A (Vaqta) | $83.73 | $51.28 | 63.3% |
| 8 | Hepatitis B (Engerix-B) | $75.10 | $37.66 | 99.4% |
| 9 | Tdap (Adacel) | $51.08 | $29.35 | 74.0% |
| 10 | Polio, inactivated (IPOL) | $47.81 | $27.35 | 74.8% |
Private-sector list prices were 37.9% to 120.4% above the contract prices; Havrix was 112.8% above.6 For the vaccines missing from that list, clinic fees are the available benchmark. One Utah county health department's proposed 2026 fee schedule lists rabies at $4355, Japanese encephalitis at $390 (the line does not say per dose or per series) and yellow fever at $2225, with typhoid at $144 in either its injectable or oral form.
- Rabies is the most expensive listed item at $435.
- Yellow fever is $222, 2.4 times hepatitis A.
- Routine vaccines such as Tdap and polio cost $62 to $65.
The same schedule adds a travel administration fee of $50 for a 30-minute visit or $100 for an hour. A national retail clinic chain lists a typhoid vaccine at $245, $101 more than the county, and a pre-travel consultation at $107 to $126; yellow fever vaccine is not on its price list.17 Adding the county fees for one dose of each vaccine and a visit gives a rough range for common sets, before insurance and second doses.
| Hepatitis A + typhoid (injectable) + 30-min travel visit | $287 |
| Yellow fever + hepatitis A + typhoid + 30-min travel visit | $509 |
| Hepatitis A + typhoid + Japanese encephalitis + 30-min travel visit | $677 |
| Yellow fever + hepatitis A + typhoid + rabies + 1-hour travel visit | $994 |
How much is the travel tax in the Philippines?
The Philippines levies a travel tax on individuals leaving the country. The full rate is PHP 2,70018 for first class and PHP 1,62018 for economy, about $43.02 and $25.81 at the central bank reference rate of PHP 62.756 per dollar on September 25, 2026.19 The standard reduced rate is PHP 1,350 or PHP 810, and a privileged reduced rate for dependents of Overseas Filipino Workers is PHP 400 or PHP 300.18
| Full | 2,700 | 1,620 | $43.02 | $25.81 |
| Standard reduced | 1,350 | 810 | $21.51 | $12.91 |
| Privileged reduced (OFW dependent) | 400 | 300 | $6.37 | $4.78 |
First class pays PHP 1,080 more than economy, and the standard reduced economy rate is exactly half the full one.6 By law, half of the proceeds go to tourism infrastructure, 40% to tourism-related higher education and 10% to culture and the arts.18
- Tourism infrastructure (TIEZA)50%50%
- Tourism-related higher education (CHED)40%40%
- Culture and the arts (NCCA)10%10%
- Half, 50%, goes to tourism infrastructure.
- Higher education receives 40%.
- Culture and the arts receive 10%.
What it adds up to for a trip
For a trip, the numbers sort into three layers. The first is the border: 119 places asked for yellow fever proof on the 2022 list, and one certificate now covers every future trip.1 The second is advice: hepatitis A, typhoid, rabies, Japanese encephalitis and malaria prevention depend on the destination, not on a border rule. The third is cost and safety: a set that includes yellow fever came to $509 on one county's proposed fees, and 7 of the 19 strictest yellow fever places were also at Level 4.63
The list itself carries a warning: requirements are subject to change at any time, many entries were last confirmed years ago, and some countries have changed their rules since 2022. For a given trip, the destination country's current rule is the one that applies.1
FAQ
Is a yellow fever certificate valid for life?
Yes. Since 11 July 2016 the certificate is valid for the life of the person vaccinated, and a country cannot require a booster as a condition of entry.1
Does a layover count toward yellow fever rules?
It depends on the destination. Of the 100 places whose rule targets arrivals from risk countries, 59 count a transit of more than 12 hours in a risk country's airport, 10 count any transit and 29 have no transit clause.1
At what age do children need yellow fever proof?
Usually from 9 months or 1 year: 115 of the 119 places that ask for proof use one of those two thresholds.2
How soon after vaccination does protection start?
Immunity develops in 80-100% of people vaccinated within 10 days and in over 99% within 30 days, and one dose gives lifelong protection.8
Can a country require vaccines other than yellow fever?
Only under temporary recommendations for a public health emergency of international concern, such as polio. In 2022, 22 countries and territories listed other requirements, mostly polio or meningococcal vaccination.1
Conclusions
- The strictest borders overlap with the least safe. 7 of the 19 places that asked every traveler for yellow fever proof were at Level 4 in September 2026.
- Most rules protect the destination, not the traveler. 82 places require proof without being at risk of transmission, while 5 at-risk places require none.
- The list is older than it looks. None of the 47 states in Africa answered the 2022 survey, although 46 of the region's 50 entries require proof.
- Coverage climbs slowly while cases rise. Coverage gained 41 points in 25 years to 53%, while reported cases rose three years running, from 217 in 2022 to 631 in 2025, led by the Americas.
- The yellow fever shot is a one-time cost. One $222 dose lasts a lifetime; a set with hepatitis A, typhoid and a visit comes to $509 on one county's proposed fees.
Methodology
- Entry rules: 220 Country List entries with their own text (18 cross-reference lines not counted), as listed in 2022 (revised January 2023); not current requirements.
- Yellow fever coverage and cases: world and WHO African and Americas regions, by year; country values for 2025.
- Advisories: 214 destinations, latest update per destination as of 25 September 2026.
- Prices: one federal price list, one county's proposed schedule, one commercial chain; not national averages.
Definition. A vaccination requirement is proof of vaccination a country asks for as a condition of entry; under the International Health Regulations only yellow fever can be required routinely. Countries at risk are those determined to have a risk of yellow fever transmission in all or part of their territory. Malaria prevention types A-C are the 2022 list's categories. Coverage is the share of 1-year-olds vaccinated. Advisory levels are the U.S. four-level travel advisory scale. Private-sector price means the manufacturer's list price to private buyers, not a patient price.
Data sources. International Travel and Health Country List and Annex 1 (18 November 2022, revised 3 January 2023, the newest edition published); Global Health Observatory series for yellow fever vaccine coverage (2000-2025) and reported cases (1980-2025) and its country-to-region table; yellow fever fact sheet (20 October 2025) and immunization coverage fact sheet (15 July 2026); U.S. travel advisory feed read 25 September 2026 (items dated 27 June 2023 to 8 September 2026); Adult Vaccine Price List dated 3 August 2026; the proposed 2026 fee schedule of one Utah county health department; a retail clinic chain's price list (commercial); Yellow Book 2026 chapters on typhoid, Japanese encephalitis, hepatitis A and rabies; the Philippine travel tax page and the central bank reference rate bulletin of 25 September 2026; the register of countries certified malaria-free (last update 15 July 2025).
Calculations. Entry rules were parsed entry by entry from the Country List; Annex 1 was parsed by column position. India's rule (travelers without proof arriving from risk areas are detained in isolation) is counted with the arrival-based rules, as Annex 1 does. Countries and territories were grouped by WHO region; territories without a region were assigned by us (for example Christmas Island to the Western Pacific, Bonaire, Saba and Sint Eustatius to the Americas). The advisory feed's three items for mainland China, Hong Kong and Macau were merged to one row per destination (216 items to 214). Advisory reasons are our count of the reasons named in each summary's first 'due to' sentence; nine summaries have none. Shares, markups, vaccine set totals (arithmetic sums of listed fees) and USD conversions are our arithmetic. The coverage projection is a least-squares line fitted to 2010-2025 (16 yearly values, after the 2003-2009 catch-up) and carried to 2050 with a 95% prediction range: our calculation, not a forecast. Reported cases have no plausible straight-line fit and are shown as a table.
Limitations. The Country List reflects what States Parties reported: only 70 of 196 (36%) answered the 2022 survey (none of the 47 in Africa), so many entries carry an older confirmation year, and requirements are subject to change at any time. Polio-related requirements are shown as listed in 2022. Reported yellow fever cases understate the true number. Advisory levels change often and are dated here. Clinic fees come from one county's proposed schedule; the Japanese encephalitis fee is shown as listed, without a per-dose or per-series label. Small islands are not drawn on the maps.
Sources
- World Health Organization. “International Travel and Health - Country List: Country vaccination requirements and WHO recommendations for vaccination against yellow fever, poliomielytis, and malaria prophylaxis in international travellers (revised 3 January 2023).” World Health Organization, 2022-11-18. cdn.who.int. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- World Health Organization. “Countries with risk of yellow fever transmission and countries requiring yellow fever vaccination (International Travel and Health, Annex 1, revised 3 January 2023).” World Health Organization, 2022-11-18. cdn.who.int. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Consular Affairs. “Travel Advisories (feed).” U.S. Department of State, 2026-09-08. travel.state.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- World Health Organization. “Yellow fever - number of reported cases (Global Health Observatory, WHS3_50).” World Health Organization, 2026. ghoapi.azureedge.net. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- TriCounty Health Department. “Proposed 2026 TriCounty Health Department Fee Schedule.” Utah Public Notice Website, 2025-07-15. utah.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Travel Statistics Bureau. “Travel Statistics Bureau calculations.” own calculation, 2026. Methodology. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- World Health Organization. “Global Health Observatory: country dimension (WHO region of each country).” World Health Organization, 2026-09-25. ghoapi.azureedge.net. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- World Health Organization. “Yellow fever (fact sheet).” World Health Organization, 2025-10-20. who.int. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- World Health Organization. “Countries and territories certified malaria-free by WHO (last update 15 July 2025).” World Health Organization, 2025-07-15. who.int. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. “Hepatitis A (Yellow Book 2026).” Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2025. cdc.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. “Rabies (Yellow Book 2026).” Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2025. cdc.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. “Typhoid and Paratyphoid Fever (Yellow Book 2026).” Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2025. cdc.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. “Japanese Encephalitis (Yellow Book 2026).” Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2025. cdc.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- World Health Organization. “Yellow fever vaccine (YFV) immunization coverage among 1-year-olds (%) (Global Health Observatory, VACCINECOVERAGE_YFV).” World Health Organization, 2026. ghoapi.azureedge.net. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- World Health Organization. “Immunization coverage (fact sheet).” World Health Organization, 2026-07-15. who.int. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. “Adult Vaccine Price List (08-03-26).” Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, 2026-08-03. cdc.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- CVS Health. “MinuteClinic Service Price Lists (out-of-pocket service prices).” CVS Health, 2026-09-25. cvs.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Tourism Infrastructure and Enterprise Zone Authority. “Travel Tax.” Tourism Infrastructure and Enterprise Zone Authority, 2026-09-25. tieza.gov.ph. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas. “Reference Exchange Rate Bulletin (25 September 2026).” Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas, 2026-09-25. bsp.gov.ph. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
About the author
Marcus Oyelaran researches how organizations manage business travel, relocation, duty of care and the workforce behind the travel industry itself. He holds a PhD in organizational behavior from a leading Canadian business school, where his dissertation examined burnout and retention among frequent business travelers. Before joining the publication, Marcus spent 12 years in corporate human resources, most recently as Global Mobility Director for a multinational with roughly 60,000 employees in 40 countries. He designed travel and relocation policies, negotiated with travel-management companies and relocation vendors, and led the firm's duty-of-care program, including crisis response for staff caught in regional emergencies. He holds a senior-level HR professional certification and sits on the research advisory network of a global business-travel industry association. His reports combine survey data he collects directly from HR and travel managers with public labor statistics, and he has been cited in reporting on airline and hotel staffing shortages.
Every figure on this page links to its source. How we research
Related research
More tourism and travel-cost research from Travel Statistics Bureau.
- Travel DocumentsHow Much Does It Cost to Renew a Passport (2026 Data)$130 to renew an adult US passport bookRead the research →
- Travel DocumentsHow Much Are Passport Photos at Walgreens (2026 Data)$16.99 a Walgreens passport photo (2026)Read the research →
- Travel DocumentsHow Much Is a Passport (2026 Data)$165 cost of a first-time US adult passport bookRead the research →
- Hotel CostsHow Much Is a Hotel for a Month (2026 Data)$1,983 a month in an extended-stay hotel at the 2025 average rateRead the research →
- Travel CostsHow Much Is Travel Insurance (2026 Data)$307 average travel insurance policy, 2026Read the research →
- Travel CostsAverage Cost to Travel the World (2026 Data)$1,200 spent per international trip, 2025Read the research →