Research · Travel Rules

How Much Is Travel Size Liquid (2026 Data)

The carry-on liquid limit in the US, Canada, the UK and the EU, what travel sizes cost and how toiletry prices moved since 1935, travel CPAP machines and compression socks for long flights.

  • Published
  • Updated
  • 63 sources
  • 151 statistics
  • 15 min read

Key findings

  1. 3.4 ouncesA travel-size liquid holds 3.4 ounces (100 ml) or less, and all of them must fit in one quart-size bag.
  2. $1.99In September 2026, 10 of 16 travel-size toiletries on one major US retailer's shelf cost $1.99 or less.
  3. 3.01 timesA 3.2-ounce travel mouthwash costs 3.01 times as much per ounce as the 1-liter bottle.
  4. $769The cheapest current travel CPAP machine lists at $769; the AirMini costs $919.
  5. 12.0%Prices of personal care products rose 12.0% between 2019 and 2025, less than overall inflation of 25.9%.
  6. 47In flight trials, 47 passengers without compression stockings got a silent clot, against 3 wearing them.
  7. 906.7 millionUS airport checkpoints screened a record 906.7 million people in 2025, each allowed one quart bag.

"Travel size" is not a marketing phrase. At US airport checkpoints it is a legal size: a container of 3.4 ounces1 (100 ml) or less, packed with the others in one quart-size bag. Canada, the UK and the EU use the same 100 ml number for their standard rule.2 3 Yet the bottle that fits the rule is rarely a bargain: on one store shelf, a mini mouthwash cost 3.01 times4 as much per ounce as the 1-liter bottle of the same product.

The rule touches almost everyone who flies. US checkpoints screened 906.7 million5 people in 2025, and a bottle one size too big ends up in the bin. Below: the exact limits and exemptions, what travel sizes cost on the shelf today, how toiletry prices in general moved over 90 years, why some European airports now take 2-liter bottles, what a travel CPAP machine costs ($7696 to $9197), and why compression stockings cut silent clots on long flights from 47 cases to 3 in trials.8

Travel-size liquid: 3.4 ounces in one quart bag

The US rule has three parts. Each container of liquid, aerosol, gel, cream or paste holds 3.4 ounces1 or less; all of those containers fit in one quart-size bag; and each passenger brings one bag in the carry-on. Anything larger goes in checked baggage, and an item that sets off an alarm gets additional screening.1

Carry-on liquid limits in the US, Canada, the UK and the EU, September 2026
Standard container limit, the bag it goes in, and the largest single container some airports allow with CT scanners; in force on September 25, 2026
Unit: milliliters (ml); 100 ml = 3.4 US fl oz (see columns)
United States100 ml946 ml100 mlno larger limit in the rule; one quart-size bag per passenger
Canada100 ml1,000 ml100 mlno larger limit in the rule; one 1-liter bag per passenger
United Kingdom100 ml1,000 ml2,000 mlsome airports; check with the airport
European Union100 ml1,000 ml2,000 mlonly airports whose CT lanes allow it, such as Munich from September 18, 2026
Source: TSA; CATSA; GOV.UK; press report of January 30, 2026; Bavarian State Ministry for Housing, Building and Transport123910travelstatisticsbureau.com

The limit is the size of the container, not the amount inside it. A 100 ml bottle holds 3.384 US fluid ounces, which the rule rounds to 3.4, and a US quart is about 9464 ml. A half-empty 5-ounce bottle is still a 5-ounce container. The UK says it outright: the limit still applies if the container is only part full.3

Other countries use the same container size with a slightly different bag. Canada allows 100 ml or 100 g per container in one clear resealable bag of 1 L2 or less, one per passenger. The UK asks for a single transparent bag of no more than 1 liter3, about 20 cm by 20 cm, where a bag is required at all.

What is exempt

Some liquids may be larger than the limit and stay out of the quart bag. Liquid medication is allowed in "reasonable quantities" above 3.4 ounces; tell the officer at the checkpoint.11 Formula, breast milk, juice for toddlers and baby food are allowed in larger amounts too, and do not have to go in the bag.12 Duty-free liquids over the limit can travel in the carry-on for travelers connecting in the US from abroad if they are in a secure, tamper-evident bag and were bought within the last 48 hours1.

Canada exempts baby food and drink for infants under 24 months2, breast milk, and prescription and essential non-prescription medicine, and lets duty-free liquids through in a sealed official security bag with an itemized receipt for up to 48 hours13 after purchase. The UK lets travelers carry up to 2 liters3 of liquid for essential medical purposes, special dietary needs, baby food or baby milk at every airport.

Liquids exempt from the container limit, by country
Items that may exceed the standard 100 ml (3.4 oz) container limit in carry-on bags, September 2026
Unit: text (no quantities unless stated)
Medicationreasonable quantities; declare itprescription and essential non-prescription medicineup to 2 liters for essential medical purposes
Baby formula, breast milk, baby foodallowed above 3.4 oz; declare itfor infants under 24 months; breast milkup to 2 liters of baby food or baby milk
Special dietary needsnot listed as a separate exemptionnot listed as a separate exemptionup to 2 liters
Duty-free liquidssealed tamper-evident bag, bought within 48 hourssealed official security bag with an itemized receipt; valid for 48 hourssealed in a security bag with the receipt
Source: TSA; CATSA; GOV.UK111212133travelstatisticsbureau.com

Where bigger bottles go

Checked bags have their own federal limits for toiletries, perfume and aerosols: at most 17 fl oz14 (500 ml) per container and 68 fl oz14 (2 L) per person in total. Alcohol between 24% and 70% alcohol by volume may go in checked bags in unopened retail packaging, up to 1.3 gallons14 (5 L) per person; drinks over 70%, above 140 proof, are not allowed at all.15

Checked-bag limits for toiletries and alcohol, United States
Limits for medicinal and toilet articles (including perfume and aerosols) and for alcoholic drinks of 24% to 70% alcohol by volume in checked baggage; drinks over 70% are not allowed
Unit: liters; US units in the second column
Toiletry or medicine, per container0.5 L17 fl oz (18 oz by weight)
Toiletries and medicines, total per person2.0 L68 fl oz (70 oz by weight)
Alcohol 24%-70% ABV, unopened retail packaging, per person5.0 L1.3 gallons
Source: eCFR, 49 CFR 175.10; TSA1415travelstatisticsbureau.com

Abroad, a carry-on bottle can grow twentyfold, but only at some airports.

In the EU the standard rule is still 100 ml per container in one 1-liter bag. Airports that run the new CT (computed tomography) scanners may now let passengers carry single containers of up to 2 liters, and most airports have not made the change yet; an EU-wide end to the 100 ml rule was still only planned in early 2026.9 Munich Airport, for example, dropped the 100 ml rule at all of its security checkpoints from September 18, 2026, after converting them to CT screening; containers over 2 liters still go in checked bags, and liquids and laptops can stay in the carry-on.10 It is not the first change: in September 2024 the EU had pushed airports with this equipment back to 100 ml over a technical problem,16 and in July 2025 it lifted that restriction again for airports whose scanners had been recertified, which is why CT lanes can take 2-liter containers now.17 The UK also says some airports allow up to 2 liters.3 In the US the rule stays at 3.4 ounces, so a 2-liter bottle carried through a CT lane in Europe has to go in the checked bag on any flight that leaves from a US airport.

How much is a travel size at the store?

Mostly less than two dollars. On one major US retailer's travel aisle on September 25, 2026, the 16 travel-size toiletries with a printed unit price cost between $1.4918 and $6.2918 each, and 10 of the 16 cost $1.99 or less.18 These are shelf list prices on one day, before tax and coupons.

The price per ounce tells a different story. It ran from $0.5918 for a travel shampoo and conditioner to $3.7818 for a half-ounce mini deodorant, a 6.41-fold4 spread. On this shelf the half-ounce sticks and the ointment cost the most per ounce, and the 3-ounce bottles of shampoo, conditioner and mouthwash the least.18

Price per ounce of 16 travel-size toiletries, September 2026
List price divided by net contents, as printed on the shelf; one US retailer, September 25, 2026; fluid ounces for liquids marked (fl oz), ounces by weight otherwise
Unit: US dollars per ounce
  1. Secret Outlast mini solid (0.5 oz)$3.78
  2. Aquaphor Healing Ointment (1.75 oz)$3.59
  3. Dove Advanced Care mini stick (0.5 oz)$3.18
  4. Dove Invisible Clear Finish mini stick (0.5 oz)$3.18
  5. Dove Advanced Care mini dry spray (1 oz)$2.59
  6. Not Your Mother's dry shampoo (1.6 oz)$2.49
  7. Tresemme travel hairspray (1.5 oz)$1.99
  8. eos mini body lotion (2.5 fl oz)$1.60
  9. Colgate Total travel toothpaste (1.4 oz)$1.42
  10. Crest + Scope travel toothpaste (2.7 oz)$1.03
  11. Vaseline Cocoa Radiant lotion (2 fl oz)$0.80
  12. Colgate MaxFresh travel toothpaste (1.9 oz)$0.78
  13. Listerine Cool Mint travel mouthwash (3.2 fl oz)$0.62
  14. Dove Sensitive Skin mini bar (2.6 oz)$0.61
  15. Herbal Essences Smooth travel shampoo (3.38 fl oz)$0.59
  16. Herbal Essences Smooth travel conditioner (3.38 fl oz)$0.59
Source: Target list prices, read September 25, 2026 (retailer, commercial)18travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • The mini solid antiperspirant costs $3.78 an ounce.
  • The travel shampoo and conditioner cost $0.59 an ounce.
  • The dearest item costs 6.41 times the cheapest per ounce.
Travel-size toiletries: size, price and price per ounce, September 2026
List prices on September 25, 2026, one US retailer; price per ounce as printed
Unit: ounces; US dollars (see columns)
1Secret Outlast Xtend mini solid antiperspirant0.50 oz$1.89$3.78
2Aquaphor Healing Ointment1.75 oz$6.29$3.59
3Dove Advanced Care mini antiperspirant stick0.50 oz$1.59$3.18
4Dove Invisible Clear Finish mini stick0.50 oz$1.59$3.18
5Dove Advanced Care mini dry spray1.00 oz$2.59$2.59
6Not Your Mother's Clean Freak dry shampoo1.60 oz$3.99$2.49
7Tresemme Extra Hold travel hairspray1.50 oz$2.99$1.99
8eos mini body lotion (fl oz)2.50 oz$3.99$1.60
9Colgate Total travel toothpaste1.40 oz$1.99$1.42
10Crest + Scope Complete travel toothpaste2.70 oz$2.79$1.03
11Vaseline Intensive Care Cocoa Radiant lotion (fl oz)2.00 oz$1.59$0.80
12Colgate MaxFresh travel toothpaste1.90 oz$1.49$0.78
13Listerine Cool Mint travel mouthwash (fl oz)3.20 oz$1.99$0.62
14Dove Sensitive Skin mini bar2.60 oz$1.59$0.61
15Herbal Essences Smooth travel shampoo (fl oz)3.38 oz$1.99$0.59
16Herbal Essences Smooth travel conditioner (fl oz)3.38 oz$1.99$0.59
Source: Target list prices, read September 25, 2026 (retailer, commercial)18travelstatisticsbureau.com

The travel-size markup

Four products sold in the same version at two sizes on the same day show the premium directly. The travel mouthwash is the extreme case: $0.624 per fluid ounce for the 3.2-ounce bottle against $0.214 for the 1-liter bottle, or 3.01 times4 as much per ounce. The markup is much smaller where the full size is not huge. The travel shampoos cost about 19%4 and 14%4 more per ounce than their 12.5- and 13.5-ounce bottles, and the deodorant dry spray only about 9%4 more than the full-size can.

A fifth pair, the Dove Advanced Care antiperspirant stick, is left out: the mini and the full-size stick list different strengths of the active ingredient, so they are not the same version.

How much more a travel size costs per ounce than the full size, September 2026
Travel-size price per ounce divided by the full-size price per ounce, same product version, same retailer, same day
Unit: times the full-size price per ounce
  1. Listerine Cool Mint mouthwash3.01x
  2. Head & Shoulders Classic Clean shampoo1.19x
  3. Herbal Essences Smooth shampoo1.14x
  4. Dove Advanced Care dry spray1.09x
Source: Target list prices, read September 25, 2026 (retailer, commercial)1920212223242526travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • The travel mouthwash costs 3.01 times as much per ounce as the 1-liter bottle.
  • The travel dry spray costs 1.09 times the full-size can per ounce.
  • The two shampoos come in at 1.19 and 1.14 times.
Travel size vs full size of the same product, September 2026
List prices on September 25, 2026, one US retailer; price per ounce = price / size (1 liter = 33.814 fl oz)
Unit: US dollars; US dollars per ounce; times (see columns)
1Listerine Cool Mint mouthwash3.2 fl oz$1.99$0.621 liter$6.99$0.213.01x
2Head & Shoulders Classic Clean shampoo3 fl oz$1.99$0.6612.5 fl oz$6.99$0.561.19x
3Herbal Essences Smooth shampoo3.38 fl oz$1.99$0.5913.5 fl oz$6.99$0.521.14x
4Dove Advanced Care dry spray1 oz$2.59$2.593.8 oz$8.99$2.371.09x
Source: Target list prices, read September 25, 2026 (retailer, commercial)1920212223242526travelstatisticsbureau.com

The mouthwash shows why. The same product came in five sizes, and the price per ounce fell at every step up: $0.4727 for 250 ml, $0.3028 for 500 ml and $0.1629 for 1.5 liters. A traveler who decants from the biggest bottle into a reusable 3-ounce bottle pays a fraction of the travel-size price for the same liquid.20 19

Price per fluid ounce of one mouthwash by bottle size, September 2026
Listerine Cool Mint, list price divided by volume, one US retailer, September 25, 2026; bottles in order of size
Unit: US dollars per fluid ounce
  1. 3.2 fl oz (travel)$0.62
  2. 250 ml$0.47
  3. 500 ml$0.30
  4. 1 liter$0.21
  5. 1.5 liters$0.16
Source: Target list prices, read September 25, 2026 (retailer, commercial)1927282029travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • The travel bottle costs $0.62 an ounce, the 1.5-liter bottle $0.16.
  • The 500 ml bottle costs $0.30 an ounce, $0.32 less than the travel bottle.

What a Colgate Total travel size costs

The 1.4-ounce travel tube costs $1.9930, or $1.4230 per ounce. It has no same-version full-size tube to compare with: the full-size Colgate Total tubes on the same shelf that day were other versions with a different ingredient list, so a per-ounce premium would compare two formulas, not two sizes. Among travel toothpastes on the same shelf, it is the dearest per ounce, above a 2.7-ounce Crest + Scope tube at $1.0318 and a 1.9-ounce Colgate MaxFresh tube at $0.7818.

The shelf prices above are one day's snapshot. No series tracks travel-size prices over time, but the price index for toiletries of every size goes back 90 years.

Toiletry prices over 90 years

The consumer price index for personal care products covers toothpaste, shampoo, razors, cosmetics and the like in all sizes, not travel sizes alone. It stood at 2231 in 1935 and 180.03931 in 2025 (1982-84 = 100), 8.18 times4 higher. For almost two decades it barely moved: 153.531 in 2003, 159.71131 in 2021. Then it jumped, and 2025 ended 12.0%4 above 2019.

That is still less than the 25.9%4 rise in consumer prices overall over the same six years. The index says how toiletry prices moved in general; the travel-size premium above is a separate, same-day comparison of one product at two sizes.

Consumer prices of personal care products, 1935-2025
Annual average index, 1982-84 = 100, US city average, all urban consumers. Trend line: straight-line fit over 1980-2025, extended to 2050; our calculation, not a forecast.
Unit: index, 1982-84 = 100

Projection: linear trend of 1980–2025 yearly values, 95% prediction range. Our calculation, not a forecast.

Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, CPI-U, U.S. city average, not seasonally adjusted, annual averages (series CUUR0000SEGB)31travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • The index rose from 22 in 1935 to 180.039 in 2025, 8.18 times higher.
  • It was 160.703 in 2019 and 180.039 in 2025, 12.0% higher.

The index reached a record 185.70731 in August 2026, the highest monthly value in the series.31 A straight line fitted to 1980-2025 rises 1.694 points a year and gives about 184.24 for 2026, so the August value sits slightly above the line. Fitted to 2000-2025 only, the rate is 0.764 points a year, less than half, because the index barely moved from 2003 to 2021; that shorter line ends below the level the index has already reached, so the chart uses the 1980 start. Both are our calculation, not a forecast.

Hair, dental and shaving products: flat for over two decades, then a jump

The group that holds toothpaste, shampoo, razors and other hair and dental products moved even less for a generation. Its index was 100.731 in 1998 and 103.82231 in 2021 (December 1997 = 100), then rose 17%4 from 2021 to 2024 and reached 122.97431 in 2025. In August 2026 it stood at 126.65231, 3.1%4 above a year earlier.

No trend line fits this series. It is a flat line followed by a step: every straight line fitted to a long stretch of it lands below the level already reached in 2026, and a line fitted only to the last few years would simply extend the 2022-2024 jump for another 25 years. The table shows the yearly values without a projection.

Hair, dental and shaving products price index, 1998-2025
Annual average index for hair, dental, shaving and miscellaneous personal care products, December 1997 = 100, US city average; shown without a trend line (a level shift in 2022-2024, no plausible straight-line fit)
Unit: index, December 1997 = 100
1998100.700
1999101.600
2000103.300
2001104.400
2002104.400
2003102.500
2004102.100
2005101.800
2006102.600
2007103.606
2008104.299
2009105.371
2010104.251
2011102.397
2012103.111
2013102.820
2014103.364
2015103.701
2016103.084
2017102.332
2018102.335
2019103.021
2020103.779
2021103.822
2022110.134
2023118.486
2024121.526
2025122.974
Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, CPI-U, U.S. city average, not seasonally adjusted, annual averages (series CUUR0000SEGB01)31travelstatisticsbureau.com

Cosmetics, perfume and bath products

Cosmetics, perfume and bath products tell the opposite story: a long rise from 69.731 in 1978 to 190.32231 in 2025, but only 4.1%4 of it since 2019. In August 2026 the index was 196.74131, 2.8%4 above August 2025.

The trend line is fitted to 2000-2025, when the index rose 0.864 points a year. A line fitted to 1990-2025 rises 1.584 points a year, almost twice as fast, but it runs above every actual year since 2019 (about 198.44 for 2025 against the actual 190.32231), so it does not describe the index today. The 2000-2025 line gives about 212.84 for 2050; our calculation, not a forecast.

Cosmetics, perfume and bath products price index, 1978-2025
Annual average index for cosmetics, perfume, bath, nail preparations and implements, 1982-84 = 100, US city average. Trend line: straight-line fit over 2000-2025, extended to 2050; our calculation, not a forecast.
Unit: index, 1982-84 = 100

Projection: linear trend of 2000–2025 yearly values, 95% prediction range. Our calculation, not a forecast.

Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, CPI-U, U.S. city average, not seasonally adjusted, annual averages (series CUUR0000SEGB02)31travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • The index rose from 69.7 in 1978 to 190.322 in 2025.
  • It was 182.827 in 2019, so 2025 was 4.1% higher.

Which personal care and health prices rose fastest, 2019-2025

Among these consumer price categories, services rose fastest: personal care services rose 31.9%4 from 2019 to 2025, more than prices overall.31 Hair, dental and shaving products rose 19.4%4, nonprescription drugs 12.9%4, medical equipment and supplies 8.5%4 and cosmetics only 4.1%4.

Price change by category, 2019-2025
Change in the annual average consumer price index from 2019 to 2025, US city average
Unit: percent change, 2019 to 2025
  1. Personal care services31.9%
  2. All items25.9%
  3. Hair, dental, shaving products19.4%
  4. Nonprescription drugs12.9%
  5. Personal care products12.0%
  6. Medical equipment and supplies8.5%
  7. Cosmetics, perfume, bath products4.1%
Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, CPI-U, U.S. city average, not seasonally adjusted, annual averages314travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • Personal care services rose 31.9%.
  • All items rose 25.9%, 13.9 points more than personal care products.
  • Cosmetics, perfume and bath products rose 4.1%.

The latest months

The 2026 figures so far keep the same order. By August 2026 personal care products were 2.9%4 dearer than a year earlier, against 3.4%4 for all items, while medical equipment and supplies were 2.3%4 cheaper. Data run to August 2026; October 2025 has no index (not published).

Price indexes, January-August 2026 and August 2025
Monthly index, not seasonally adjusted, US city average; base as in each series (personal care products and cosmetics 1982-84 = 100; hair, dental and shaving December 1997 = 100; medical equipment December 2009 = 100)
Unit: index; percent (last column)
Personal care products180.503181.597182.953183.762184.895184.394184.689185.387185.7072.9%
Hair, dental, shaving products122.858124.317125.749126.219126.078125.940126.268126.440126.6523.1%
Cosmetics, perfume, bath products191.367191.697192.404193.373195.913195.077195.215196.398196.7412.8%
Medical equipment and supplies112.865112.381113.857113.562112.569112.573110.993109.162110.294−2.3%
Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, CPI-U, monthly, not seasonally adjusted314travelstatisticsbureau.com

A CPAP is a prescription device, but it travels in the same carry-on.

How much is a travel CPAP machine

From $7696 to $1,14932 at list price in September 2026. The cheapest current model, the Transcend Micro Auto, costs $769 and weighs 0.48 lb6 (218 g4). The AirMini AutoSet costs $9197 with its bag, power supply and a filter but no mask or tubing, and needs a prescription.7 It weighs 300 g33 (0.66 lb4), and its maker states that it meets the FAA requirements for all phases of air travel.33 The Transcend Micro 510 was on sale for $82932 against its regular price, a $3204 discount.

Two travel models have left the market. The Z2 Auto, a 10.4-ounce34 machine, is listed as discontinued in 2026, and the DreamStation Go was discontinued after a Class 1 recall that began in June 2021.35 The makers describe all three current machines as approved or compliant for air travel, and earlier Transcend models were cleared as Class II CPAP devices.6 32 36

Travel CPAP machine list prices, September 2026
List price of the machine in US dollars, read September 25, 2026 (maker stores); masks and tubing not included; the Micro 510 shown at its regular and its sale price
Unit: US dollars
  1. Transcend Micro 510 Auto (regular price)$1,149
  2. ResMed AirMini AutoSet$919
  3. Transcend Micro 510 Auto (sale price)$829
  4. Transcend Micro Auto$769
Source: Maker list prices (commercial): ResMed eShop; Transcend (Somnetics International)7632travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • The AirMini costs $919, $150 more than the Transcend Micro at $769.
  • The Micro 510 sale price of $829 is $320 below its regular $1,149.
Travel CPAP machines: price, weight and size, September 2026
List prices and specifications as published by the makers, read September 25, 2026
Unit: US dollars; pounds; grams; inches (see columns)
1Transcend Micro 510 Auto (regular price)$1,1490.48 lb218 g3.6 x 3.6 x 2.4 in
2ResMed AirMini AutoSet$9190.66 lb300 g5.4 x 3.3 x 2.1 in
3Transcend Micro 510 Auto (sale price)$8290.48 lb218 g3.6 x 3.6 x 2.4 in
4Transcend Micro Auto$7690.48 lb218 g3.6 x 3.6 x 2.4 in
Source: Maker list prices and specifications (commercial)7336324travelstatisticsbureau.com

What Medicare pays for a CPAP

Medicare does not buy a CPAP outright. It pays a supplier to rent the machine for 13 months37, after which the patient owns it, and the patient pays 20%37 of the approved amount after the Part B deductible.37 A CPAP is a capped-rental item: in July 2026 the Medicare fee schedule amount for each of the first three rental months had a median of $50.9038 across the contiguous states in non-rural areas, and from the fourth month it is 75%38 of that, about $38.184 a month.38 Thirteen months add up to about $534.454 (3 x $50.90 + 10 x $38.175), of which the patient's 20% share is about $106.894. The Transcend Micro's list price is 1.44 times4 that total and the AirMini's 1.72 times4. In rural areas the fee for months 1-3 is higher, with a median of $97.0238, 1.91 times4 the non-rural fee.

A decade of CPAP payment swings

The fee has swung hard. The monthly rental fee for months 1-3 was $106.8739 in 2015 and $39.7540 in 2017, a 62.8%4 cut. It stayed there through 2019, rose 68.2%4 to $66.8641 by 2023, then fell 28.0%4 to $48.1242 in 2024. In 2026 it is $50.9043.

The trend line starts in 2017, the first year after the 2016 cut took full effect, so it follows the fee as it has been set since then. Fitted to 2017-2026, it rises about $1.784 a year and reaches about $1004 a month by 2050. A line fitted to every year from 2013 would be dragged down by the 2016-2017 cut and fall to zero before 2040, which no fee can do. Both are our calculation, not a forecast.

Medicare monthly CPAP rental fee, months 1-3, 2013-2026
January fee schedule of each year, CPAP device rental (E0601), fee for rental months 1-3 (months 4-13 are paid at 75%); median of the 48 contiguous states and DC; non-rural amounts from 2016, one statewide amount before 2016; Medicare pays 80%. Trend line: straight-line fit over 2017-2026, extended to 2050; our calculation, not a forecast.
Unit: US dollars per month (Medicare fee schedule amount)

Projection: linear trend of 2017–2026 yearly values, 95% prediction range. Our calculation, not a forecast.

Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, DMEPOS fee schedule, January files 2013-20264445394640474849505141425243travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • The fee fell from $106.87 in 2015 to $39.75 in 2017.
  • It peaked again at $66.86 in 2023.
  • In 2026 it is $50.90 a month.

The fee schedule amount for a full face mask followed the same path, from $176.0444 in 2013 to $86.5340 in 2017-2019 and $110.8143 in 2026. Fitted from 2017 for the same reason, its line rises about $3.604 a year to about $2064 by 2050; our calculation, not a forecast.

Medicare fee for a full face mask, 2013-2026
January fee schedule of each year, full face mask purchase (A7030); median of the 48 contiguous states and DC; non-rural amounts from 2016, one statewide amount before 2016; Medicare pays 80%. Trend line: straight-line fit over 2017-2026, extended to 2050; our calculation, not a forecast.
Unit: US dollars per mask (Medicare fee schedule amount)

Projection: linear trend of 2017–2026 yearly values, 95% prediction range. Our calculation, not a forecast.

Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, DMEPOS fee schedule, January files 2013-20264445394640474849505141425243travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • The mask fee fell from $180.47 in 2015 to $86.53 in 2017.
  • It was $110.81 in 2026.

Masks, tubing and filters

Several parts around the machine have higher fee schedule amounts than a month of rent. The amount for a heated humidifier is $171.0238, a full face mask $110.8138 and a nasal mask $70.0038, while a disposable filter is $2.6038. Medicare pays 80% of each amount and the patient 20%.

Medicare fee schedule amounts for CPAP supplies, July 2026
Median Medicare fee schedule amount per unit, 48 contiguous states and DC, non-rural, July 2026; Medicare pays 80%, the patient 20%
Unit: US dollars per unit (Medicare fee schedule amount)
  1. Heated humidifier (E0562)$171.02
  2. Full face mask (A7030)$110.81
  3. Nasal interface (A7034)$70.00
  4. CPAP rental, per month, months 1-3 (E0601)$50.90
  5. Heated tubing (A4604)$49.80
  6. Headgear (A7035)$22.97
  7. Humidifier water chamber (A7046)$16.89
  8. Standard tubing (A7037)$14.90
  9. Reusable filter (A7039)$7.59
  10. Disposable filter (A7038)$2.60
Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, DMEPOS fee schedule, July 2026 (DME26-C)38travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • The heated humidifier amount is $171.02.
  • A disposable filter is $2.60.
  • A full face mask is $40.81 more than a nasal interface.
Medicare fee schedule amounts for CPAP supplies by state range, July 2026
Median, lowest and highest Medicare fee schedule amount across the 48 contiguous states and DC, non-rural, July 2026
Unit: US dollars per unit (Medicare fee schedule amount)
1Heated humidifier (E0562)$171.02$168.20$176.47
2Full face mask (A7030)$110.81$109.52$118.14
3Nasal interface (A7034)$70.00$67.86$71.97
4CPAP rental, per month, months 1-3 (E0601)$50.90$50.04$52.65
5Heated tubing (A4604)$49.80$49.31$52.55
6Headgear (A7035)$22.97$22.56$24.43
7Humidifier water chamber (A7046)$16.89$15.83$17.20
8Standard tubing (A7037)$14.90$14.19$15.64
9Reusable filter (A7039)$7.59$7.39$7.87
10Disposable filter (A7038)$2.60$2.55$2.84
Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, DMEPOS fee schedule, July 2026 (DME26-C)38travelstatisticsbureau.com

CPAP payments by state

The monthly CPAP rental fee for months 1-3 is almost the same everywhere in the contiguous states: from $50.0438 in DC, Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania to $52.6538 in Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio and Wisconsin. Alaska ($93.4438) and Hawaii ($97.9738) are the outliers; Hawaii's fee is 1.96 times4 the lowest contiguous one. These differences come from the Medicare fee schedule's locality adjustments. The map shows the Medicare fee schedule amount per month, not what travelers pay and not what travel costs in each state.

Medicare monthly CPAP rental fee by state, months 1-3, July 2026
Related dataset: Medicare fee schedule amount for a CPAP device rental per month (E0601), non-rural, July 2026; monthly rental fee, months 1-3; months 4-13 are paid at 75%. State differences come from Medicare fee-schedule locality adjustments; the map does not show travel costs or what travelers pay.
Unit: US dollars per month (Medicare fee schedule amount)
Alabama: $51.94Alaska: $93.44Arizona: $50.91Arkansas: $51.94California: $50.44Colorado: $50.90Connecticut: $50.89Delaware: $50.04District of Columbia: $50.04Florida: $51.94Georgia: $51.94Hawaii: $97.97Idaho: $50.90Illinois: $52.65Indiana: $52.65Iowa: $50.70Kansas: $50.70Kentucky: $51.94Louisiana: $51.94Maine: $50.89Maryland: $50.04Massachusetts: $50.89Michigan: $52.65Minnesota: $50.70Mississippi: $51.94Missouri: $50.70Montana: $50.90Nebraska: $50.70Nevada: $50.44New Hampshire: $50.89New Jersey: $50.04New Mexico: $50.91New York: $50.04North Carolina: $51.94North Dakota: $50.70Ohio: $52.65Oklahoma: $50.91Oregon: $50.44Pennsylvania: $50.04Rhode Island: $50.89South Carolina: $51.94South Dakota: $50.70Tennessee: $51.94Texas: $50.91Utah: $50.90Vermont: $50.89Virginia: $51.94Washington: $50.44West Virginia: $51.94Wisconsin: $52.65Wyoming: $50.90AL$51.94AK$93.44AZ$50.91AR$51.94CA$50.44CO$50.90CT$50.89DE$50.04DC$50.04FL$51.94GA$51.94HI$97.97ID$50.90IL$52.65IN$52.65IA$50.70KS$50.70KY$51.94LA$51.94ME$50.89MD$50.04MA$50.89MI$52.65MN$50.70MS$51.94MO$50.70MT$50.90NE$50.70NV$50.44NH$50.89NJ$50.04NM$50.91NY$50.04NC$51.94ND$50.70OH$52.65OK$50.91OR$50.44PA$50.04RI$50.89SC$51.94SD$50.70TN$51.94TX$50.91UT$50.90VT$50.89VA$51.94WA$50.44WV$51.94WI$52.65WY$50.90
Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, DMEPOS fee schedule, July 2026 (DME26-C)38travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • Hawaii's $97.97 is 1.96 times the lowest contiguous fee of $50.04.
  • The contiguous states range from $50.04 to $52.65.

Medical equipment prices

Consumer prices of medical equipment and supplies rose less than most. The index was 99.07731 in 2010 (December 2009 = 100), dipped to 96.2331 in 2021 and reached 110.87531 in 2025, 8.5%4 above 2019. The series starts in 2010, and a straight line fitted to all of it falls below the 2025 level, so the table shows the years without a trend line.

Medical equipment and supplies price index, 2010-2025
Annual average index, December 2009 = 100, US city average; shown without a trend line (the only available fit, 2010-2025, falls below the 2025 level)
Unit: index, December 2009 = 100
201099.077
201199.347
2012100.584
2013101.022
2014100.473
201599.740
201699.272
201799.587
2018100.159
2019102.184
202099.381
202196.230
2022101.411
2023109.291
2024110.730
2025110.875
Source: U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, CPI-U, U.S. city average, not seasonally adjusted, annual averages (series CUUR0000SEMG)31travelstatisticsbureau.com

A CPAP needs a prescription; compression socks sit on an open shelf. But how strong should they be?

How much compression you need in travel socks

Anyone traveling more than 4 hours53, by air, car, bus or train, can be at risk of a blood clot, and some people may benefit from graduated compression stockings.53 The risk is higher for people over 40, with obesity, after recent surgery or injury, on estrogen, during or after pregnancy, or with a previous clot.53

The flight trials used mild to moderate pressure, measured at the ankle: 12-1854, 14-1754, 20-3054 and 23-3254 mmHg, mostly on flights of 7 to 12 hours.54 None of the trials used more than 32 mmHg.

Compression stockings tested on long flights
Randomized trials in a systematic review; pressure at the ankle, flight length and number of passengers as reported
Unit: mmHg; hours; passengers (see columns)
Scurr 200120-30at least 8231aged over 50
Belcaro 200214-177-8 and 11-12657moderate risk
Cesarone 2003 (Italy)20-307-8 and 11-12284low to medium risk
Cesarone 2003 (London)12-187-8 and 11-12266low to medium risk
Belcaro 200314-1711.5-12300high risk (people contacted)
Olsen 201923-32 (class II)not stated34not stated
Source: Jornal Vascular Brasileiro, systematic review (2021), Table 154travelstatisticsbureau.com

What the trials found

A pooled review of 128 randomized trials with 2,9188 passengers on flights of more than five hours found that stockings cut symptomless deep vein thrombosis sharply. Of the 2,6378 passengers followed up in the 108 trials of stockings on both legs, 504 had a silent clot: 38 wearing stockings and 478 not, an odds ratio of 0.108, rated high-certainty evidence. That is 1.9%4 of the passengers followed up. There were no deaths, lung clots or clots with symptoms in either group, and the stockings also reduced swelling of the legs.8 A second review of 854 trials, covering 2,02254 passengers for clots and 1,31154 for swelling on flights longer than three hours, reached the same direction of result.54

Compression classes are not the same everywhere

A "class 1" stocking means different pressures in different countries: 14-1755 mmHg under the British standard, 10-1555 under the French and 18-2155 under the German one. Compression up to 20 mmHg55 can be used without an arterial check when there are no warning signs.55 US Medicare codes group stockings into 18-3038, 30-4038 and 40-50 mmHg bands, so a British or French class 1 stocking sits below the lowest Medicare band.

Compression classes by national standard
Pressure at the ankle for each compression class under the British, French and German (RAL) standards
Unit: mmHg (millimeters of mercury)
Class 1 (mild)14-1710-1518-21
Class 2 (moderate)18-2415-2023-32
Class 3 (strong)25-3520-3634-46
Class 4 (extra strong)not definedover 36over 49
Source: Wounds UK, Best Practice Statement: Compression hosiery (3rd edition), Table 255travelstatisticsbureau.com

What compression stockings cost Medicare

Medicare covers compression stockings for lymphedema treatment, a benefit that started in January 2024, not for travel. For a covered patient in July 2026 the Medicare fee schedule amount (the allowed payment) is $39.0738 for a below-knee stocking of 18-30 mmHg and up to $138.2138 for a waist-length stocking of 40 mmHg or more, 3.54 times4 as much. Of the below-knee amount, Medicare pays 80% ($31.264) and the patient 20% ($7.814). The below-knee amount was $36.9342 in 2024, so it has risen 5.8%4 in two years; the amounts are updated each year with consumer prices.

These are Medicare fee schedule amounts for patients, not shelf prices of travel socks.

Medicare fee schedule amount per compression stocking, July 2026
Lymphedema compression treatment items, national Medicare fee schedule amount (allowed payment) per stocking, by length and pressure; Medicare pays 80%, the patient 20%. The below-knee 30-40 and 40 mmHg or more cells are the surgical-dressing fee lines of the same codes (A6531, A6532, modifier AW), which are also the codes used for lymphedema; all other cells are lymphedema lines
Unit: US dollars per stocking (Medicare fee schedule amount)
1Below knee$39.07$61.66$86.88
2Thigh length$54.86$62.65$72.13
3Full length$73.95$87.67$102.65
4Waist length$97.86$116.68$138.21
Source: Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, DMEPOS fee schedule, July 2026 (DME26-C)38travelstatisticsbureau.com

How many travelers carry a quart bag

Every person who passes a US airport checkpoint may carry one quart bag. In 2025 that was a record 906.7 million5 people, 2.48 million4 a day and 2,667,3994 more than in 2024. The busiest day was November 30, 2025, with 3,134,6135 people, 2.01 times4 the quietest day, Thanksgiving Day itself, with 1,559,1655. On 85 days of 2025 more than 3 million people were screened.

The count fell to 339.8 million56 in 2020, 40.1%4 of the 2019 total of 848.1 million57, and passed 2019 again in 2023. From January to August 2026, 602.6 million58 people were screened, 0.63%4 fewer than in the same months of 2025.

People screened at US airport checkpoints, 2019-2026
Sum of the daily checkpoint counts for each year; 2026 covers January-August; busiest day and number of days with 3 million or more people
Unit: million people; people; days (see columns)
2019848.1 million2.32 million2019-12-012,882,9150
2020339.8 million0.93 million2020-02-142,507,5880
2021585.3 million1.60 million2021-11-282,458,3250
2022760.1 million2.08 million2022-11-272,639,6160
2023858.5 million2.35 million2023-11-262,908,7850
2024904.1 million2.47 million2024-12-013,088,8362
2025906.7 million2.48 million2025-11-303,134,6138
2026 (January-August)602.6 million2.48 million2026-06-182,988,2040
Source: Transportation Security Administration, checkpoint travel numbers (daily tables, summed)575659606162558travelstatisticsbureau.com

Month by month

Summer is the peak. July 2025 was the busiest month, with 85.1 million5 people screened, 1.36 times4 February's 62.6 million5. 2026 has tracked 2025 closely, month by month.

People screened per month, January-August 2019, 2025 and 2026
Sum of the daily checkpoint counts per month
Unit: million people
  • 2019
  • 2025
  • 2026
Source: Transportation Security Administration, checkpoint travel numbers (daily tables, summed)575659606162558travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • July 2025 had 85.1 million people, the peak.
  • July 2026 had 83.3 million, 1.8 million fewer than July 2025.
  • February 2025 had 62.6 million.

What it means for your bag

The quart bag is a small part of any trip, but three things follow from the numbers on this page.

  • Decanting pays. A 3.2-ounce travel mouthwash costs 3.01 times4 as much per ounce as the 1-liter bottle, so filling a reusable 3-ounce bottle from a big bottle at home costs far less per ounce.
  • Mini deodorants and ointments cost the most per ounce. At $3.7818 an ounce, the half-ounce mini antiperspirant had the highest price per ounce of the 16 travel items on the shelf.18
  • Medical gear flies separately. A CPAP machine is allowed in hand luggage and in the hold on UK flights and is screened separately, and liquid medicine may exceed 3.4 ounces in the US.63 11

In Europe, check the departure airport: a 2-liter bottle allowed through a CT lane there still has to go in the checked bag on any flight that leaves from a US airport.

FAQ

Is 100 ml the same as 3.4 oz?

Almost: 100 ml is 3.38 US fluid ounces, and the US rule rounds it to 3.4 ounces.1 4

Can I bring a 5 oz bottle that is half full?

No. The limit is the container's size, so a larger container goes in checked baggage even when it is part full.1 3

Do medicines count toward the quart bag?

No. Liquid medication is allowed in reasonable quantities and does not have to go in the bag; declare it at the checkpoint.11

Can a CPAP go in carry-on?

Yes. The makers of current travel CPAP machines describe them as approved for air travel, and UK rules list CPAP machines as allowed in hand luggage, screened separately.33 63

Does Medicare cover compression socks for flights?

No. Medicare pays for compression stockings only as lymphedema treatment for covered patients.38

Conclusions

  1. The size is global, the price per ounce is not. The same 100 ml limit applies in the US, Canada and most EU airports and many UK airports, but the travel bottle costs up to 3.01 times as much per ounce as the big bottle of the same product.1 4
  2. Toiletry prices rose less than prices overall. The price index for personal care products of all sizes rose 12.0% from 2019 to 2025, against 25.9% for all prices. The travel-size premium is a separate, same-day comparison of one product at two sizes.31
  3. A travel CPAP costs more than Medicare's full rental. The $769 to $919 list prices are 1.44 to 1.72 times the about $534.45 that 13 months of Medicare rental fees for a CPAP device add up to (months 4-13 are paid at 75% of the fee for months 1-3).6 7 38 4
  4. Mild to moderate stockings did the work in trials. The flight trials used 12-32 mmHg at the ankle; pooled trials cut silent clots from 47 to 3. Medicare's lowest stocking band starts at 18 mmHg.54 8 38
  5. The 2-liter bottle is a European exception, not a new rule. It depends on the airport's CT lanes, and the US limit stays at 3.4 ounces.9 10

Methodology

  • Rules in force on September 25, 2026: US, Canada, UK, EU.
  • Prices: one US retailer, September 25, 2026; travel CPAP makers' list prices, September 25, 2026.
  • Price indexes: 1935-2025 (personal care products), 1978-2025, 1998-2025, 2010-2025; monthly to August 2026.
  • Medicare fees: January 2013-2026 and July 2026; checkpoint counts: 2019 to August 2026.

Definition. Travel-size liquid = a container of 3.4 US fluid ounces (100 ml) or less in the carry-on quart bag (US rule). Travel-size prices = shelf list prices at one US retailer on September 25, 2026, before tax and coupons; price per ounce as printed or computed as price / size. Price indexes = CPI-U annual averages, US city average, not seasonally adjusted. Medicare amounts = fee schedule amounts (the allowed payment per unit; Medicare pays 80%, the patient 20%), not retail prices; the CPAP rental fee is the amount for rental months 1-3, and months 4-13 are paid at 75% of it. People screened = daily checkpoint counts summed by year and month.

Data sources. TSA liquids, medication, formula and alcohol pages; eCFR 49 CFR 175.10; CATSA; GOV.UK hand luggage and duty-free pages; European Commission news of July 31, 2024; ACI EUROPE Airport magazine (July 25, 2025); Euronews (January 30, 2026, press report); Bavarian State Ministry for Housing, Building and Transport press release of September 14, 2026; Target product pages and the travel-size category page (commercial); BLS CPI flat files; ResMed eShop and AirMini user guide, Transcend and DirectHomeMedical product pages (commercial); FDA recall database and openFDA 510(k) records; Medicare.gov; CMS DMEPOS fee schedules (January 2013-2026, July 2026); Cochrane review (2021); Jornal Vascular Brasileiro review (2021); Wounds UK Best Practice Statement (2021); CDC; TSA checkpoint travel numbers 2019-2026.

Calculations. Daily checkpoint counts were transcribed for every day of 2019-2025 and January-August 2026 and summed by year and month. Medicare fees are the median of the 48 contiguous states and DC (non-rural from 2016). The 13-month CPAP rental total is 3 x the months 1-3 fee + 10 x 75% of it. Per-ounce ratios, percent changes and shares are our arithmetic from the figures shown. Trend lines (personal care products, fit 1980-2025; cosmetics, fit 2000-2025; CPAP rental fee and full face mask fee, fit 2017-2026, after the 2016 cut) are ordinary least-squares straight lines extended to 2050 with a 95% prediction range: our calculation, not a forecast. The hair, dental and shaving index and the medical equipment index are shown as tables without a trend line, because no fit range gives a plausible line (a level shift, and a series that starts in 2010).

Limitations. The current daily table for 2019 sums to 848.1 million, above the total announced at the time; the table includes later updates and is used for every year. Retail prices are one retailer on one day. The Colgate Total travel tube has no same-version full-size tube for comparison, so no per-ounce premium is given for it; the Dove antiperspirant stick pair is left out because the two sizes list different active-ingredient strengths. EU airports differ: 2-liter containers are allowed only where the airport's CT lanes allow them, and no official EU list of those airports exists. The rural CPAP fee and the Alaska and Hawaii fees follow different rules from the contiguous non-rural fees. Compression trials measured symptomless clots; no trial recorded deaths or clots with symptoms.

Sources

  1. Transportation Security Administration. “Liquids, Aerosols, and Gels Rule.” tsa.gov, 2026. tsa.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  2. Canadian Air Transport Security Authority. “Liquids, Non-solid Food & Personal Items.” catsa-acsta.gc.ca, 2024-02-20. catsa-acsta.gc.ca. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  3. Department for Transport. “Hand luggage restrictions at UK airports: Liquids.” gov.uk, 2026-09-17. gov.uk. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  4. Travel Statistics Bureau. “Travel Statistics Bureau calculations.” own calculation, 2026. Methodology. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  5. Transportation Security Administration. “TSA checkpoint travel numbers (2025).” tsa.gov, 2025. tsa.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  6. Somnetics International. “Transcend Micro Auto CPAP.” mytranscend.com, 2026-09-25. mytranscend.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  7. ResMed. “AirMini AutoSet CPAP Machine.” eshop.resmed.com, 2026-09-25. eshop.resmed.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  8. Clarke MJ et al. “Compression stockings for preventing deep vein thrombosis in airline passengers.” Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2021. doi.org. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  9. Alessio Dell'Anna and Damaso Jaivenois. “Liquid anxiety: Which European airports have scrapped the 100ml limit?” euronews.com, 2026-01-30. euronews.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  10. Bayerisches Staatsministerium für Wohnen, Bau und Verkehr. “Flughafen München rüstet auf.” stmb.bayern.de, 2026-09-14. stmb.bayern.de. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  11. Transportation Security Administration. “Medications (Liquid).” tsa.gov, 2026. tsa.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  12. Transportation Security Administration. “Breast milk, formula and juice exempt from 3-1-1 liquids rule.” tsa.gov, 2026. tsa.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  13. Canadian Air Transport Security Authority. “Duty-free Purchases.” catsa-acsta.gc.ca, 2024-02-16. catsa-acsta.gc.ca. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  14. Office of the Federal Register. “49 CFR 175.10 Exceptions for passengers, crewmembers, and air operators.” ecfr.gov, 2026-09-01. ecfr.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  15. Transportation Security Administration. “Alcoholic Beverages.” tsa.gov, 2026. tsa.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  16. European Commission. “Commission enforces temporary restrictions on liquid screening at certain EU airports.” transport.ec.europa.eu, 2024-07-31. transport.ec.europa.eu. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  17. ACI EUROPE. “EU lifts restrictions on Smiths Detection C3 technology scanners - timeline for other suppliers still unknown.” airport.buzz, 2025-07-25. airport.buzz. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  18. Target. “Mini & Travel Size Products.” target.com, 2026-09-25. target.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  19. Target. “Listerine Antiseptic Intense Mouthwash for Bad Breath - Cool Mint - Travel Size - 3.2oz.” target.com, 2026-09-25. target.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  20. Target. “Listerine Antiseptic Intense Mouthwash for Bad Breath - Cool Mint - 1L.” target.com, 2026-09-25. target.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  21. Target. “Head & Shoulders Classic Clean Daily-Use Anti-Dandruff Paraben Free Shampoo - 3 fl oz.” target.com, 2026-09-25. target.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  22. Target. “Head & Shoulders Dandruff Shampoo, Anti-Dandruff Treatment, Classic Clean for Daily Use, Paraben-Free - 12.5 fl oz.” target.com, 2026-09-25. target.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  23. Target. “Herbal Essences Travel Size Smooth Shampoo with Rose Hips & Jojoba Extracts - 3.38 fl oz.” target.com, 2026-09-25. target.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  24. Target. “Herbal Essences Smooth Shampoo with Rose Hips & Jojoba Extracts - 13.5 fl oz.” target.com, 2026-09-25. target.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  25. Target. “Dove Beauty Mini Advanced Care Cool Essentials Antiperspirant & Deodorant Dry Spray - Travel Size - 1oz.” target.com, 2026-09-25. target.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  26. Target. “Dove Beauty Advanced Care Cool Essentials 72-Hour Women's Antiperspirant & Deodorant Dry Spray - 3.8oz.” target.com, 2026-09-25. target.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  27. Target. “Listerine Antiseptic Intense Mouthwash for Bad Breath - Cool Mint - 250ml.” target.com, 2026-09-25. target.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  28. Target. “Listerine Antiseptic Intense Mouthwash for Bad Breath - Cool Mint - 500ml.” target.com, 2026-09-25. target.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  29. Target. “Listerine Antiseptic Intense Mouthwash for Bad Breath - Cool Mint - 1.5L.” target.com, 2026-09-25. target.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  30. Target. “Colgate Total Travel Size Whitening Tarter Control Fluoride Toothpaste - 1.4oz.” target.com, 2026-09-25. target.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  31. U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics. “Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers (CPI-U), U.S. city average, not seasonally adjusted.” download.bls.gov, 2026-09 (data through August 2026). download.bls.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  32. Somnetics International. “Transcend Micro 510 Auto CPAP.” mytranscend.com, 2026-09-25. mytranscend.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  33. ResMed. “AirMini User Guide.” shop.resmed.com, 2017-02. shop.resmed.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  34. DirectHomeMedical. “Z2 Auto Portable Auto-CPAP Machine.” directhomemedical.com, 2026-09-25. directhomemedical.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  35. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. “Class 1 Device Recall Philips Respironics DreamStation Go.” accessdata.fda.gov, 2021-06-14. accessdata.fda.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  36. U.S. Food and Drug Administration. “510(k) premarket notification records.” api.fda.gov, 2026-09-14. api.fda.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  37. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. “Continuous positive airway pressure (CPAP) devices, accessories, & therapy.” medicare.gov, 2026. medicare.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  38. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. “DME26-C: July 2026 DMEPOS Fee Schedule.” cms.gov, 2026-07. cms.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  39. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. “DME15-A: DMEPOS Fee Schedule, January 2015.” cms.gov, 2015-01. cms.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  40. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. “DME17-A: DMEPOS Fee Schedule, January 2017.” cms.gov, 2017-01. cms.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  41. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. “DME23-A: DMEPOS Fee Schedule, January 2023.” cms.gov, 2023-01. cms.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  42. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. “DME24-A: DMEPOS Fee Schedule, January 2024.” cms.gov, 2024-01. cms.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  43. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. “DME26-A: DMEPOS Fee Schedule, January 2026.” cms.gov, 2026-01. cms.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  44. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. “DME13_A: DMEPOS Fee Schedule, January 2013.” cms.gov, 2013-01. cms.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  45. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. “DME14_A: DMEPOS Fee Schedule, January 2014.” cms.gov, 2014-01. cms.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  46. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. “DME16-A: DMEPOS Fee Schedule, January 2016.” cms.gov, 2016-01. cms.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  47. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. “DME18-A: DMEPOS Fee Schedule, January 2018.” cms.gov, 2018-01. cms.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  48. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. “DME19-A: DMEPOS Fee Schedule, January 2019.” cms.gov, 2019-01. cms.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  49. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. “DME20-A: DMEPOS Fee Schedule, January 2020.” cms.gov, 2020-01. cms.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  50. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. “DME21-A: DMEPOS Fee Schedule, January 2021.” cms.gov, 2021-01. cms.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  51. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. “DME22-A: DMEPOS Fee Schedule, January 2022.” cms.gov, 2022-01. cms.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  52. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services. “DME25-A: DMEPOS Fee Schedule, January 2025.” cms.gov, 2025-01. cms.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  53. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. “Understanding Your Risk for Blood Clots with Travel.” cdc.gov, 2024-05-15. cdc.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  54. Jornal Vascular Brasileiro. “Graduated compression stockings as a prophylactic measure in venous thromboembolism and edema of lower limbs triggered by air travel: a systematic review of clinical trials.” jvascbras.org, 2021. doi.org. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  55. Wounds UK. “Best Practice Statement. Compression hosiery: A patient-centric approach (3rd edition).” wounds-uk.com, 2021. wounds-uk.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  56. Transportation Security Administration. “TSA checkpoint travel numbers (2020).” tsa.gov, 2020. tsa.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  57. Transportation Security Administration. “TSA checkpoint travel numbers (2019).” tsa.gov, 2019. tsa.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  58. Transportation Security Administration. “TSA checkpoint travel numbers.” tsa.gov, 2026 (January-August rows). tsa.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  59. Transportation Security Administration. “TSA checkpoint travel numbers (2021).” tsa.gov, 2021. tsa.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  60. Transportation Security Administration. “TSA checkpoint travel numbers (2022).” tsa.gov, 2022. tsa.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  61. Transportation Security Administration. “TSA checkpoint travel numbers (2023).” tsa.gov, 2023. tsa.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  62. Transportation Security Administration. “TSA checkpoint travel numbers (2024).” tsa.gov, 2024. tsa.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
  63. Department for Transport. “Hand luggage restrictions at UK airports: Essential medicines and medical equipment.” gov.uk, 2026. gov.uk. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text

About the author

Dr. Marcus Oyelaran
Senior Researcher, Travel HR and Workforce Mobility

Marcus Oyelaran researches how organizations manage business travel, relocation, duty of care and the workforce behind the travel industry itself. He holds a PhD in organizational behavior from a leading Canadian business school, where his dissertation examined burnout and retention among frequent business travelers. Before joining the publication, Marcus spent 12 years in corporate human resources, most recently as Global Mobility Director for a multinational with roughly 60,000 employees in 40 countries. He designed travel and relocation policies, negotiated with travel-management companies and relocation vendors, and led the firm's duty-of-care program, including crisis response for staff caught in regional emergencies. He holds a senior-level HR professional certification and sits on the research advisory network of a global business-travel industry association. His reports combine survey data he collects directly from HR and travel managers with public labor statistics, and he has been cited in reporting on airline and hotel staffing shortages.

Daniel R. Whitcombe
Reviewed by
Editor-in-Chief, Travel Statistics Bureau

Every figure on this page links to its source. How we research

Related research

More tourism and travel-cost research from Travel Statistics Bureau.

  1. Travel RulesHow Much Liquid Can You Take on a Flight (2026 Data)3.4 oz carry-on liquid limit per containerRead the research →
  2. Travel CostsHow Much Does Life Flight Cost (2026 Data)$36,400 median charge, helicopter life flight, 2017Read the research →
  3. Travel CostsHow Much Is a Private Jet Flight (2026 Data)$8,456 per hour, light private jet, 2026Read the research →
  4. Travel CostsHow Much Is Parking at Long Beach Airport (2026 Data)$30-$35/day parking at Long Beach Airport from October 2026Read the research →
  5. Flight CostsHow Much Is a First Class Flight (2026 Data)$16,261 median long-haul first class round tripRead the research →
  6. Travel TrendsAverage American Travel Statistics (2026 Data)2.28 trips per person per day in the US, 2022Read the research →