How Much Is a Beach Wedding (2026 Data)
What the beach itself costs: permit fees in 11 places, marriage licenses in 34 states, the rules that come with a permit, and where Americans travel to marry.
- Published
- Updated
- 71 sources
- 156 statistics
- 15 min read
- Graduate of a top-ranked hospitality business school
- Former VP Revenue Management, 400-property hotel group
- Certified hotel-industry analyst
- Former federal consular-fee policy analyst
- Credentialed actuary
- 18 years in travel-insurance underwriting
Key findings
- $20 to $300A permit for a small wedding costs $20 to $300 across the 11 US beach places on this page.
- $60Marriage licenses cost $25 to $169 across 34 states, with a median of $60.
- $34,000Surveyed US couples spent an average of $34,000 on their 2025 wedding, or $292 per guest.
- 62.4%In 2023, 62.4% of Hawaii's 17,925 marriages joined two people who did not live in Hawaii.
- 24.6Nevada's 2023 marriage rate of 24.6 per 1,000 people was four times the US rate of 6.1.
- 66,375About 66,375 air visitors came to Hawaii for a wedding in 2024, a third fewer than in 2019.
- 11.8%The US recorded 2,041,926 marriages in 2023, 11.8% fewer than in 2000.
How much is a beach wedding? The part of the bill that belongs to the beach is small. A public beach permit for a small ceremony costs $201 on Hawaii's state shoreline, $252 in North Myrtle Beach and $3003 for an elopement in the state parks of Big Sur. Add a marriage license, which runs from $254 in Indiana to $1695 in King County, Washington, and the legal and public-land cost of saying vows on the sand stays in the low hundreds of dollars.
Everything else is an ordinary wedding budget, and that is where the money goes: couples who reported their spending averaged $34,0006 for a 2025 wedding. Against that figure, even the most expensive small-ceremony permit on this page is 0.88%7 of the total. The sections below cover permit fees and rules, Florida, license fees in 34 states, the wider wedding budget, Hawaii, and the marriage records that show where Americans actually marry.
What you pay for the beach itself
A beach wedding permit is the right to hold a ceremony on public sand for a set time. It does not buy a venue, chairs, catering or a reserved spot, and it is separate from the marriage license. Where a beach authority prices a small ceremony, the lowest published fee ranges from $201 to $3003 across the 11 places collected here.7
- Big Sur's elopement permit costs $300 in total.
- Hawaii's state beaches charge a $20 minimum.
- Four of the 11 places charge $50 or less.
At the bottom of the scale, North Myrtle Beach charges $252 per wedding or vow renewal, and Pinellas County $508 a day for a non-commercial wedding of up to 50 attendees in its parks. St. Pete Beach charges a resident $509 for a ceremony of up to 20 people with no equipment. Two national seashores in North Carolina, Cape Hatteras and Cape Lookout, both start at $10010.11
Higher up the scale, Walton County on Florida's Panhandle charges $15012 for 1 to 30 people under its special event and beach wedding permit,13 and San Diego a grounds-use fee of $19114 a day, plus a park fund fee of $1.2014 an hour for a non-commercial event of under 50 people, with a permit required for every wedding whatever the number of guests. Virginia Beach charges a non-refundable $20015 processing fee for a ceremony on the Oceanfront or at Sandbridge. In California's state parks the fee has two parts: $5016 plus $17516 at Lobeiro Park on Calafia State Beach, and $253 plus $2753 for four hours in Big Sur.7
How group size and equipment change the fee
The entry fee often covers only the smallest ceremony, and several schedules charge more for a bigger group, chairs and an arch, a paid vendor or a non-resident.121089 Walton County's scale climbs from $15012 for up to 30 people to $1,00012 for 76 or more, 6.677 times the entry price. At St. Pete Beach a non-resident with a standard setup pays $2509, five times the resident no-equipment rate.7 Pinellas County doubles its day rate to $1008 above 50 attendees and charges $1508 when a commercial vendor supports the wedding.
| Pinellas County parks, 1-50 attendees, per day | $50 |
| Pinellas County parks, 51+ attendees, per day | $100 |
| Pinellas County parks, with a commercial vendor, per day | $150 |
| St. Pete Beach, resident, no equipment, up to 20 people | $50 |
| St. Pete Beach, non-resident, no equipment, up to 20 people | $75 |
| St. Pete Beach, resident, standard beach wedding | $100 |
| St. Pete Beach, non-resident, standard beach wedding | $250 |
| Walton County special event / beach wedding permit, 1-30 people | $150 |
| Walton County special event / beach wedding permit, 31-50 people | $250 |
| Walton County special event / beach wedding permit, 51-75 people | $500 |
| Walton County special event / beach wedding permit, 76+ people | $1,000 |
| Cape Hatteras, up to 49 participants, no chairs or arch | $100 |
| Cape Hatteras, 50+ participants or any chairs, arch or tables | $200 |
| Cape Lookout, 49 people or fewer | $100 |
| San Diego grounds-use fee, 50-300 persons (smaller weddings pay the same; park fund fee extra) | $191 |
| San Diego grounds-use fee, 301-1,000 persons | $763 |
| Lobeiro Park, 50 or fewer (incl. $50 application) | $225 |
| Lobeiro Park, 51-100 (incl. $50 application) | $275 |
| Lobeiro Park, 101-150 (incl. $50 application) | $325 |
Cape Hatteras charges $20010 for a large wedding of 50 or more participants or for any chairs, arch or tables, and monitoring by a ranger is estimated at about $5510 per hour, up to $22010 for a large two-hour event. Cape Lookout publishes $10011 for weddings of 49 people or fewer; the $15011 schedule for groups of 50 or more on the same page is written for memorials, so no fee is stated for a larger wedding there.
Hawaii prices the sand by the square foot
Hawaii's state shoreline works differently. A wedding run by a paid professional, such as a wedding coordinator or photographer, is commercial activity on state land and needs a right-of-entry permit.1 The fee is 10 cents1 per square foot, per event, per day, with a minimum of $201. The minimum covers 2007 square feet; a 20-by-20-foot ceremony area of 4007 square feet costs $407.7
The permit comes with a two-hour maximum including setup, a limit of 30 people including the professionals, and liability insurance of at least $500,0001 per incident and $1,000,0001 in aggregate. So what does a permit actually let you do?
The rules that come with the permit
Beach permits are written for a short ceremony, not a party. North Myrtle Beach allows no more than one portable arch, two small tables, 24 folding chairs and one battery-powered speaker, bans receptions and catering, and reserves no spot on the sand.17 Virginia Beach grants exclusive use of the beach for up to three hours, including setup and breakdown, and does not allow private receptions, food or alcohol on public property.15
| Hawaii state beaches | 30 incl. professionals | 2 hours incl. setup | paid professional holds the permit; insurance $500,000 / $1,000,000 |
| North Myrtle Beach, SC | not stated | not stated | 24 folding chairs, 1 arch, 2 small tables, 1 battery speaker; no reception or catering; no reserved spot |
| Virginia Beach, VA | not stated | 3 hours exclusive use | apply 14 days ahead; no reception, food or alcohol |
| Cape Hatteras, NC | 49 for the simple permit | not stated | chairs only for elderly or disabled guests at the simple rate |
| St. Pete Beach, FL | 20 at the no-equipment rate | not stated | no equipment or chairs at that rate |
| Big Sur state parks, CA | not stated | 4 hours | hike-in elopements only; 1 event per day in the sector; deposit $400-$1,500 |
Guest caps are tight where they exist: 30 people including professionals on Hawaii's state beaches, 20 people for the no-equipment rate at St. Pete Beach, and 49 participants for a simple permit at Cape Hatteras, where chairs are allowed only for elderly or disabled guests.10 The Big Sur elopement permit covers four hours, is for hike-in elopements only, and the sector issues one special event permit a day.3
Other beach authorities require a permit but publish no fee, or do not allow weddings at all. Okaloosa County, home to Destin and Okaloosa Island, requires a permit for every wedding on a county beach or park and sets the fee by date, location and time frame.18 Miami-Dade County books weddings in its parks through the park manager rather than its special events permit.19 Gulf Shores, Alabama, goes further: it generally does not allow weddings on the city's public beaches, while a private beach house needs no city permit.20
How much is a beach wedding in Florida?
In Florida, the beach wedding fees on this page are set by counties and cities, and the gaps are wide.8912 In Pinellas County parks such as Fort De Soto and Sand Key, a non-commercial ceremony costs $508 a day for up to 50 attendees, $1008 above that, and $1508 with a commercial vendor. Next door in St. Pete Beach, the range runs from $509 for a resident with no equipment to $2509 for a non-resident with a standard setup.9
Florida's marriage rate, counted where the wedding takes place, was 7.021 per 1,000 residents in 2023, tied with Idaho, Maine and Wyoming for 10th place among the 50 states and the District of Columbia, and above the US rate of 6.121. It was 8.921 in 2000, peaked at 9.421 in 2002 and fell to 5.721 in 2020.21
Projection: linear trend of 2000–2023 yearly values, 95% prediction range. Our calculation, not a forecast.
- Florida's rate fell from 8.9 in 2000 to 7.0 in 2023.
- Its 2000-2023 high was 9.4 in 2002.
- The 2020 low was 5.7.
Our straight-line trend for Florida over 2000-2023 points to about 5.27 marriages per 1,000 residents in 2035, with a 95% range of 3.97 to 6.67; it is our calculation, not a forecast.7
On the Panhandle, Walton County, which covers South Walton and the 30A beaches, charges $15012 to $1,00012 by group size under a 2024 resolution. The license adds $8622 in Miami-Dade County, or $6122 for couples who complete a premarital course, a saving of $257. From one county's sand, the scale now jumps to the document every state requires.7
The marriage license: the fee every wedding pays
Whatever the setting, a wedding needs a marriage license from the state where the ceremony happens. Across the 34 states collected here, the standard fee runs from $254 in Indiana to $1695 in King County, Washington, a gap of $1447. The median is $607, and 21 of the 34 states charge $60 or less.7 Each row is the capital or largest county, or the statewide fee where the state sets one.
- Washington's King County charges $169, the most of the 34.
- Indiana charges $25.
- Nevada's Clark County charges $102.
| 1 | Washington | King County - largest county | $169.00 |
| 2 | Wisconsin | Dane County - capital county | $150.00 |
| 3 | Minnesota | State of Minnesota, Minn. Stat. 517.08 - statewide fee set by statute | $125.00 |
| 4 | Nevada | Clark County - largest county | $102.00 |
| 5 | Tennessee | Shelby County - largest county | $97.50 |
| 6 | California | Los Angeles County - largest county | $91.00 |
| 7 | Pennsylvania | Philadelphia, Register of Wills - largest county | $90.00 |
| 8 | Florida | Miami-Dade County - largest county | $86.00 |
| 9 | Kansas | Shawnee County, 3rd Judicial District - capital county; fee is statewide | $85.50 |
| 10 | Texas | Harris County - largest county | $81.00 |
| 11 | Georgia | Fulton County - capital and largest county | $68.50 |
| 12 | Hawaii | State of Hawaii, Department of Health - statewide fee | $65.00 |
| 13 | Ohio | Franklin County - capital and largest county | $65.00 |
| 14 | Arkansas | Pulaski County - capital and largest county | $60.00 |
| 15 | Illinois | Cook County - largest county | $60.00 |
| 16 | Kentucky | Jefferson County - largest county | $60.00 |
| 17 | North Carolina | Wake County - capital county; fee is statewide | $60.00 |
| 18 | Oregon | Multnomah County - largest county | $60.00 |
| 19 | Maryland | Montgomery County - largest county | $55.00 |
| 20 | New Mexico | Bernalillo County - largest county | $55.00 |
| 21 | Missouri | Jackson County - second-largest county | $52.00 |
| 22 | Connecticut | City of Hartford - capital city; licenses issued by towns | $50.00 |
| 23 | Massachusetts | City of Boston - capital city; licenses issued by cities and towns | $50.00 |
| 24 | Oklahoma | Oklahoma County - capital and largest county | $50.00 |
| 25 | South Carolina | Greenville County - largest county | $50.00 |
| 26 | Utah | Salt Lake County - capital and largest county | $50.00 |
| 27 | New York | New York City - largest city; fee as of 2021 | $35.00 |
| 28 | Colorado | City and County of Denver - capital county; fee is statewide | $30.00 |
| 29 | Idaho | Ada County - capital and largest county | $30.00 |
| 30 | Michigan | Wayne County - largest county | $30.00 |
| 31 | Virginia | Fairfax County - largest county | $30.00 |
| 32 | New Jersey | State of New Jersey, Department of Health - statewide fee | $28.00 |
| 33 | Louisiana | Orleans Parish, Louisiana Department of Health - New Orleans licenses are issued by the state registry | $27.50 |
| 34 | Indiana | State of Indiana, Judicial Branch - statewide fee | $25.00 |
The expensive end is a mix of states and counties: Dane County, Wisconsin, charges $15023 plus a service fee, Minnesota's statute sets $12524, and Clark County, home of Las Vegas, charges $10225. Among coastal wedding states, Los Angeles County charges $9127 for a public license, Hawaii $6532 including the online portal fee, and Greenville County, South Carolina, $5045 for county residents. At the cheap end sit New Jersey at $2852, Louisiana at $27.5053 and Indiana at $254; New York City charges $3547, a fee last stated in 2021.
Discounts and surcharges
Several states cut the fee for couples who take a premarital course. In Minnesota the fee falls from $12524 to $5024, a saving of $757; in Shelby County, Tennessee, from $97.5026 to $37.5026; in Fulton County, Georgia, from $68.5031 to $28.5031; and in Oklahoma County from $5044 to $544.7
Other places charge more to couples from elsewhere, which matters for a destination wedding. Harris County, Texas, charges $18130 without proof of Texas residency, $1007 more than the standard fee. Greenville County charges $11545 to out-of-state couples, Indiana $654 and Wayne County, Michigan, $4050 when both applicants live out of state.
| Minnesota (statewide) | $125 | $50 | - |
| Tennessee (Shelby County) | $97.50 | $37.50 | - |
| Florida (Miami-Dade County) | $86 | $61 | - |
| Texas (Harris County) | $81 | up to $60 off | $181 without proof of Texas residency |
| Georgia (Fulton County) | $68.50 | $28.50 | - |
| South Carolina (Greenville County) | $50 county residents; $75 other SC residents | - | $115 |
| Oklahoma (Oklahoma County) | $50 | $5 | - |
| Michigan (Wayne County) | $30 | - | $40 (both applicants out of state) |
| Indiana (statewide) | $25 | - | $65 |
A license also works only where it was issued. Hawaii's license is valid only within the State of Hawaii, and Wayne County's only in Michigan, so a couple marrying on a beach in another state needs that state's license.32 Hawaii sets no residence or citizenship requirement.32 On a Hawaii state beach, a ceremony with no paid professional needs no right-of-entry permit, so the public cost is the $6532 license alone.1 With a paid professional, whose ceremony is commercial activity that needs the permit, the minimum is $857: the license plus the $201 minimum permit.7
The rest of the bill: what a whole wedding costs
Permit and license together are a few hundred dollars at most; the ceremony and party are the budget. Couples who reported their spending averaged $34,0006 for a wedding held in 2025, or $2926 per guest, with an average of 1176 guests.6 The reported average was $33,00054 a year earlier and $35,00055 in 2023.
These yearly averages do not all measure the same thing. For 2021 to 2023 the figure is stated as ceremony and reception only: $28,00056 in 2021, $30,00056 in 2022 and $35,00055 in 2023.56 For 2024 and 2025 the average is published without saying whether the engagement ring is left out, and the 2025 release reports the ring separately at $4,6006. The table keeps the basis next to each number, so the years are not read as one series.
| 2021 | $28,000 | ceremony and reception (ring excluded; the headline $34,000 included the ring) | more than 15,200 |
| 2022 | $30,000 | ceremony and reception | nearly 12,000 |
| 2023 | $35,000 | ceremony and reception | nearly 10,000 |
| 2024 | $33,000 | average wedding cost; basis not stated | nearly 17,000 |
| 2025 | $34,000 | average wedding cost; basis not stated (ring reported separately, $4,600) | 10,474 |
Guest lists shrank sharply in the pandemic and have held steady since. The average wedding had 13157 guests in 2019 and 10557 in 2021, then 11756 in 2022 and 11654 in 2024. Within one release, reported spending per guest rose from $21457 in 2019 to $26657 in 2021.57 The newest release puts it at $2926 for 2025, $86 more than in 2024.6 That release does not state whether the ring is excluded, so its figures are compared only with each other, not with 2019 or 2021.
| 2019 | 131 | $214 |
| 2021 | 105 | $266 |
| 2022 | 117 | not reported |
| 2023 | 115 | not reported |
| 2024 | 116 | $284 |
| 2025 | 117 | $292 |
A destination wedding moves part of the cost onto the guests. One wedding-planning estimate puts a destination wedding at $25,00058 to $40,00058 for the couple. Each guest spends $1,50058 to $3,50058 to attend a destination wedding in the US and $2,50058 to $5,00058 for one abroad; those are the guests' own travel costs, not part of the couple's budget.
How many couples travel to marry
Two measures describe how common destination weddings are, and they count different things. Among married couples surveyed after the wedding, about one in five called theirs a destination wedding: 24%59 in 2011, 20%59 in 2016, 21%57 in 2019 and nearly 20%57 in 2021.57
Among couples planning a 2024 wedding, 36%60 said most guests would travel by plane, train or a very long drive: 8%60 planned a wedding abroad and 28%60 a wedding in the US far from most guests.60 The first measure is a completed-wedding label; the second is a plan measured by the guests' journey, so the two are shown side by side, not combined.
- Near most guests64%64%
- Far from most guests, in the US28%28%
- Abroad8%8%
- 64% planned a wedding near most guests.
- 28% planned a US wedding far from most guests.
- 8% planned a wedding abroad.
Hawaii: where most weddings are visitors' weddings
Hawaii's official marriage records separate residents' weddings from visitors'. In 2023 the state recorded 17,92561 marriages; in 11,18761 of them, 62.4%61, neither partner lived in Hawaii.61 That share stayed between 60.1%61 and 68.0%61 in every year from 2004 to 2023 except 2020, when travel stopped and it fell to 34.2%61.
The total has fallen. Hawaii recorded 28,84361 marriages in 2004 and 17,92561 in 2023, 37.9%7 fewer. Residents' marriages declined more slowly, from 9,22561 to 6,73861, so most of the drop came from visitors: marriages with both partners from elsewhere fell from 19,6187 to 11,1877.7
Projection: linear trend of 2004–2023 yearly values, 95% prediction range. Our calculation, not a forecast.
- Resident marriages fell from 9,225 in 2004 to 6,738 in 2023.
- The 2008 peak was 9,643.
- Resident marriages fell from 7,520 to 6,877 in 2020.
| 2004 | 28,843 | 9,225 | 19,618 |
| 2005 | 29,272 | 9,358 | 19,914 |
| 2006 | 28,681 | 9,300 | 19,381 |
| 2007 | 27,346 | 9,401 | 17,945 |
| 2008 | 25,464 | 9,643 | 15,821 |
| 2009 | 23,169 | 9,017 | 14,152 |
| 2010 | 23,918 | 9,117 | 14,801 |
| 2011 | 24,177 | 8,907 | 15,270 |
| 2012 | 24,207 | 8,863 | 15,344 |
| 2013 | 22,902 | 8,692 | 14,210 |
| 2014 | 25,175 | 9,366 | 15,809 |
| 2015 | 22,834 | 8,870 | 13,964 |
| 2016 | 22,241 | 8,652 | 13,589 |
| 2017 | 21,924 | 8,599 | 13,325 |
| 2018 | 21,697 | 8,061 | 13,636 |
| 2019 | 20,068 | 7,520 | 12,548 |
| 2020 | 10,444 | 6,877 | 3,567 |
| 2021 | 18,493 | 7,373 | 11,120 |
| 2022 | 20,777 | 7,068 | 13,709 |
| 2023 | 17,925 | 6,738 | 11,187 |
A straight line through the whole 2004-2023 record would take total marriages close to zero by mid-century, which is not a plausible reading of a series cut in half by one closed year, so the total is shown as a table. The resident series and the nonresident share are steadier and carry a trend line: our calculation puts the share at about 51.1%7 in 2035, with a wide 95% range of 33.2%7 to 69.0%7. It is our calculation, not a forecast.7
Projection: linear trend of 2004–2023 yearly values, 95% prediction range. Our calculation, not a forecast.
- The share was 68.0% in 2004 and 62.4% in 2023.
- It fell to 34.2% in 2020, when travel stopped.
- It rebounded to 66.0% in 2022.
The couples who fly in are different from those who live there. In 2023 the median age of nonresident grooms was 3661 and of brides 3361, against 3261 and 3061 when at least one partner was a resident. A third of nonresident grooms, 33.6%61, had been married before. Religious ceremonies made up 89.6%61 of nonresident weddings and 71.8%61 of resident ones, as the categories are printed; same-sex marriages were 4.8%61 of the total.61
| Marriages | 17,925 | 6,738 | 11,187 |
| Same-sex marriages | 856 | 325 | 527 |
| Same-sex, % of marriages | 4.8% | 4.8% | 4.7% |
| Median age, males (years) | 34 | 32 | 36 |
| Median age, females (years) | 32 | 30 | 33 |
| Previously married, males (%) | 30.3% | 24.9% | 33.6% |
| Previously married, females (%) | 29.2% | 23.2% | 32.8% |
| Civil ceremony (%) | 17.0% | 28.1% | 10.3% |
| Religious ceremony (%) | 83.0% | 71.8% | 89.6% |
Wedding and honeymoon travelers
Visitor surveys also count the trips. In 2024, 66,3757 air visitors gave a wedding ("Wedding/Get Married") as the purpose of their trip to Hawaii: 50,72862 from the US mainland and 15,64762 from other countries and US territories.62 That is 32,7227 fewer than the 99,09763 of 2019, a drop of 33.0%7.7
The domestic count is close to its old level, 4,5507 below 2019; the loss is international: 28,1727 fewer visitors, down 64.3%7.7
| 2015 | 55,991 | 53,930 | 109,921 |
| 2016 | 53,484 | 49,892 | 103,376 |
| 2017 | 53,584 | 47,163 | 100,747 |
| 2018 | 56,654 | 45,859 | 102,513 |
| 2019 | 55,278 | 43,819 | 99,097 |
| 2020 | 14,301 | 6,238 | 20,539 |
| 2021 | 45,350 | 524 | 45,874 |
| 2022 | 61,008 | 9,460 | 70,468 |
| 2023 | 53,054 | 14,453 | 67,507 |
| 2024 | 50,728 | 15,647 | 66,375 |
Honeymooners outnumber wedding visitors about five to one: 336,9507 in 2024, 197,41062 domestic and 139,54062 international.62 In 2015 there were 588,23664. A straight-line trend over 2015-2024 is dominated by the 2020 and 2021 border closures and would run to zero, so both visitor series are shown as tables without a projection.
| 2015 | 228,711 | 359,525 | 588,236 |
| 2016 | 228,554 | 371,186 | 599,740 |
| 2017 | 231,373 | 342,980 | 574,353 |
| 2018 | 228,615 | 300,775 | 529,390 |
| 2019 | 226,005 | 290,188 | 516,193 |
| 2020 | 47,461 | 41,520 | 88,981 |
| 2021 | 233,858 | 5,031 | 238,889 |
| 2022 | 261,316 | 99,838 | 361,154 |
| 2023 | 210,504 | 150,589 | 361,093 |
| 2024 | 197,410 | 139,540 | 336,950 |
The market matters. Among surveyed 2023 visitors from Japan, 14.4%62 named a honeymoon as the main purpose of the trip, against 2.0%62 of US visitors; getting married was the main purpose for 1.3%62 of Japanese and 0.4%62 of US visitors.62
| Honeymoon | 2.0% | 1.6% | 2.7% | 14.4% |
| Attend or participate in a wedding / vow renewal | 1.7% | 1.6% | 1.9% | 1.7% |
| To get married | 0.4% | 0.3% | 0.6% | 1.3% |
| Anniversary / birthday | 3.3% | 3.0% | 3.9% | 0.4% |
Honeymooners also spend more per day. In 2024 a visitor from the US East on honeymoon spent $376.562 a day, against $264.662 for all US East visitors, $111.97 more. For the US West the gap was $89.27: $319.062 against $229.862.7
| US East, on honeymoon | $372.80 | $376.50 |
| Japan, on honeymoon | $332.80 | $321.30 |
| US West, on honeymoon | $332.30 | $319.00 |
| US East, all visitors | $262.60 | $264.60 |
| US East, pleasure | $253.90 | $256.20 |
| Japan, all visitors | $240.70 | $239.60 |
| US West, pleasure | $228.50 | $232.30 |
| US West, all visitors | $225.40 | $229.80 |
| Japan, pleasure | $229.30 | $224.70 |
Where Americans marry: rates by state
State marriage rates are counted where the wedding takes place, not where the couple lives, so destination states stand out.21 In 2023 Nevada recorded 24.621 marriages per 1,000 residents, 4.037 times the US rate of 6.121. Hawaii followed at 12.521, about twice the national rate, then Utah at 11.221 and Montana at 9.221.21 Nineteen of the 51 areas were above the US rate, and Louisiana had the lowest, 3.721.21
- Nevada's 24.6 leads the country.
- Louisiana's 3.7 is the lowest.
- Florida sits at 7.0.
The destination hubs have shrunk sharply. Nevada's rate was 99.021 in 1990 and 72.221 in 2000; its 2023 rate is about a third of the 2000 level. Hawaii's rate peaked at 22.621 in 2004 and 2005 and dropped to 7.421 in 2020 before recovering to 14.421 in 2022, then fell 1.97 points to 2023.21 Straight-line trends for Nevada and Hawaii would reach zero within a few decades, so the destination states are shown in a table rather than with trend lines.7
| Nevada | 72.2 | 57.4 | 38.3 | 31.0 | 25.9 | 21.0 | 25.9 | 24.6 |
| Hawaii | 20.6 | 22.6 | 17.6 | 15.9 | 14.2 | 7.4 | 14.4 | 12.5 |
| Florida | 8.9 | 8.9 | 7.3 | 8.2 | 7.1 | 5.7 | 7.1 | 7.0 |
| South Carolina | 10.6 | 8.3 | 7.4 | 7.5 | 6.3 | 5.7 | 6.5 | 6.2 |
| United States | 8.2 | 7.6 | 6.8 | 6.9 | 6.1 | 5.1 | 6.2 | 6.1 |
The full state table shows how widespread the decline is. South Carolina went from 15.921 in 1990 to 6.321 in 2019. The 2020 column shows the pandemic year, when Louisiana fell to 3.421 and Nevada to 21.021.21
| Alabama | 10.6 | 10.1 | 6.7 | 7.2 |
| Alaska | 10.2 | 8.9 | 6.5 | 5.7 |
| Arizona | 10.0 | 7.5 | 5.3 | 4.9 |
| Arkansas | 15.3 | 15.4 | 8.4 | 7.8 |
| California | 7.9 | 5.8 | 5.7 | 3.2 |
| Colorado | 9.8 | 8.3 | 7.3 | 6.7 |
| Connecticut | 7.9 | 5.7 | 5.0 | 4.3 |
| Delaware | 8.4 | 6.5 | 5.0 | 4.4 |
| District of Columbia | 8.2 | 4.9 | 7.8 | 6.5 |
| Florida | 10.9 | 8.9 | 7.1 | 5.7 |
| Georgia | 10.3 | 6.8 | 6.0 | 5.1 |
| Hawaii | 16.4 | 20.6 | 14.2 | 7.4 |
| Idaho | 13.9 | 10.8 | 7.4 | 7.3 |
| Illinois | 8.8 | 6.9 | 5.2 | 3.9 |
| Indiana | 9.6 | 7.9 | 6.2 | 5.8 |
| Iowa | 9.0 | 6.9 | 5.4 | 4.9 |
| Kansas | 9.2 | 8.3 | 5.3 | 4.9 |
| Kentucky | 13.5 | 9.8 | 6.3 | 4.9 |
| Louisiana | 9.6 | 9.1 | 5.1 | 3.4 |
| Maine | 9.7 | 8.8 | 7.1 | 5.8 |
| Maryland | 9.7 | 7.5 | 5.6 | 4.3 |
| Massachusetts | 7.9 | 5.8 | 5.0 | 4.0 |
| Michigan | 8.2 | 6.7 | 5.2 | 4.2 |
| Minnesota | 7.7 | 6.8 | 5.1 | 4.4 |
| Mississippi | 9.4 | 6.9 | 6.0 | 5.7 |
| Missouri | 9.6 | 7.8 | 6.0 | 5.6 |
| Montana | 8.6 | 7.3 | 7.9 | 10.4 |
| Nebraska | 8.0 | 7.6 | 5.5 | 5.0 |
| Nevada | 99.0 | 72.2 | 25.9 | 21.0 |
| New Hampshire | 9.5 | 9.4 | 6.6 | 6.1 |
| New Jersey | 7.6 | 6.0 | 5.2 | 4.1 |
| New Mexico | 8.8 | 8.0 | 6.0 | 3.4 |
| New York | 8.6 | 7.1 | 7.2 | 4.5 |
| North Carolina | 7.8 | 8.2 | 6.2 | 5.5 |
| North Dakota | 7.5 | 7.2 | 5.4 | 5.3 |
| Ohio | 9.0 | 7.8 | 5.3 | 4.8 |
| Oklahoma | 10.6 | n/a | 6.3 | 5.9 |
| Oregon | 8.9 | 7.6 | 6.0 | 5.2 |
| Pennsylvania | 7.1 | 6.0 | 5.4 | 4.6 |
| Rhode Island | 8.1 | 7.6 | 6.1 | 4.5 |
| South Carolina | 15.9 | 10.6 | 6.3 | 5.7 |
| South Dakota | 11.1 | 9.4 | 6.1 | 6.0 |
| Tennessee | 13.9 | 15.5 | 7.5 | 7.3 |
| Texas | 10.5 | 9.4 | 4.9 | 5.3 |
| Utah | 11.2 | 10.8 | 8.1 | 8.4 |
| Vermont | 10.9 | 10.0 | 7.7 | 6.0 |
| Virginia | 11.4 | 8.8 | 6.1 | 5.3 |
| Washington | 9.5 | 6.9 | 5.7 | 4.8 |
| West Virginia | 7.2 | 8.7 | 6.0 | 5.6 |
| Wisconsin | 7.9 | 6.7 | 5.0 | 4.5 |
| Wyoming | 10.7 | 10.0 | 7.0 | 6.8 |
Fewer weddings nationwide
The United States recorded 2,041,92671 marriages in 2023, 273,0747 or 11.8%7 fewer than the 2,315,00071 of 2000.7 The pandemic cut 2020 to 1,676,91171, 16.8%7 below 2019, and the count rebounded to 2,065,90571 in 2022.71 Our straight-line trend over 2000-2023, which includes the 2020 dip, points to about 1,897,8297 marriages in 2030 and about 1,628,5747 in 2050, with a 95% range of 1,302,2367 to 1,954,9137 for 2050; it is our calculation, not a forecast.7
Projection: linear trend of 2000–2023 yearly values, 95% prediction range. Our calculation, not a forecast.
- Marriages fell from 2,315,000 in 2000 to 2,041,926 in 2023.
- 2020 dropped to 1,676,911.
- The count rebounded to 2,065,905 in 2022.
The rate fell faster than the count because the population grew: from 8.271 marriages per 1,000 people in 2000 to 6.171 in 2023, 2.17 points lower. The same straight-line method puts the rate near 5.27 per 1,000 in 2030 and 3.27 in 2050, again our calculation, not a forecast.7
Projection: linear trend of 2000–2023 yearly values, 95% prediction range. Our calculation, not a forecast.
- The rate fell from 8.2 in 2000 to 6.1 in 2023.
- The 2020 low was 5.1.
- It was 6.8 in every year from 2009 to 2013.
What this means for a couple planning a beach wedding
For the budget, the public side of a beach wedding is small and knowable. The lowest license and the lowest permit on this page add up to $457; the highest license and the highest small-ceremony permit to $4697.7 The venue, food, photographer and travel are where the money goes, and a destination budget of $25,00058 to $40,00058 for the couple brackets the $34,0006 average that surveyed couples reported for 2025.58
For the plan, the rules matter more than the fee. Permits cap the ceremony at two hours in Hawaii, three in Virginia Beach and four in Big Sur; guest limits of 20 to 50 people apply at the cheapest rates; and North Myrtle Beach and Virginia Beach allow no reception on the sand.11539817 The format the permits are built for is a short ceremony on the beach and a party somewhere else, such as a hotel, a restaurant or a rented beach house.
For the guest list, distance moves money onto the guests: each one spends $1,50058 to $3,50058 to attend a destination wedding in the US.58 A permit also gives no exclusive spot in North Myrtle Beach, so other beachgoers may share the sand during the ceremony.2
For the paperwork, the license must come from the state of the ceremony, and some counties charge out-of-state couples more, as Harris County's $18130 shows.30 Checking the local fee sheet a few weeks ahead matters too: Virginia Beach wants the application 14 days before the date.15
FAQ
Do you need a permit to get married on a public beach?
Can you have a reception on the beach?
How many guests can a beach ceremony have?
Is a marriage license from another state valid for a beach wedding?
Conclusions
- The sand is almost free; the wedding is not. A small-ceremony permit costs $20 to $300 across the 11 places on this page, and even the top of that range is 0.88% of the $34,000 that surveyed couples reported spending on a 2025 wedding.
- Rules shape a beach wedding more than fees. Guest caps of 20 to 50 people, two- to four-hour windows and bans on receptions make a short ceremony plus a party elsewhere the format the permits are built for.
- Destination weddings are measurable where records split residents, and both hubs are shrinking. 62.4% of Hawaii's marriages joined two visitors in 2023, and Nevada's rate is four times the US rate, yet Hawaii recorded 37.9% fewer marriages in 2023 than in 2004 and Nevada's rate fell from 72.2 to 24.6 since 2000.
- Fewer couples marry, and within each survey release they spend more per guest. US marriages were 11.8% below 2000 in 2023. Reported spending per guest rose from $214 to $266 between 2019 and 2021 in one release, and by $8 to $292 between 2024 and 2025 in another; the two releases may not share a cost basis, so they are not read as one trend.
Methodology
- Permits: places whose authority publishes a price; a convenience set, not a sample. Schedules are the newest found: St. Pete Beach 2016, Big Sur 2018, Calafia 2019.
- Licenses: 34 states; Alabama not included (it no longer issues licenses). New York City's fee is from the city clerk's 2021 FAQ, the latest official statement of the amount.
- Hawaii visitors: air visitors staying overnight; editions to 2017 worded coverage to include interisland trips, and 2017 international figures were revised by about 1% in the 2018 edition.
Definition. Beach wedding permit fee = the lowest published fee a public beach authority charges for a small wedding ceremony on its beach (roughly 20-50 people); excludes the venue, vendors and the marriage license. Marriage license fee = standard fee in the capital or largest county, or the statewide fee. Marriage rate = marriages per 1,000 total population by state of occurrence.
Data sources. Official fee schedules of 11 beach authorities and 34 state or county marriage license pages (fetched 2026-09-25); CDC/NCHS National Vital Statistics System marriage counts and rates (2000-2023, states 1990-2023); State of Hawaii Data Book 2024 Section 2 (Hawaii State Department of Health marriage records) and Section 7 Table 7.10 editions 2016-2024, one reference per edition, plus Tables 7.19 and 7.26 (2024 edition). Commercial surveys, labelled in the chart source lines: The Knot Real Weddings Study press releases 2017-2026 and Zola's First Look Report 2024 and destination cost guide.
Calculations. Derived figures (sums, differences, shares) are computed from the published values shown on this page. Trend lines are ordinary least-squares straight lines over the stated fit years with a 95% prediction range: our calculation, not a forecast. Series whose straight-line trend would reach zero or leave a plausible range (Hawaii total marriages, Hawaii visitors, Nevada and Hawaii rates) are shown as tables without a projection.
Limitations. Survey averages of wedding cost are self-reported by couples using a wedding website, not a probability sample; the 2024 and 2025 averages do not state whether the engagement ring is excluded. Destination-wedding shares from two surveys use different definitions and are not combined. National counts exclude Louisiana in 2006 and Georgia in 2013-2014.
Sources
- Hawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources Land Division. “Application for Commercial Activity - Unencumbered Land, State Public Beaches, and General Terms and Conditions.” dlnr.hawaii.gov, 2019-05-08. dlnr.hawaii.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- North Myrtle Beach Parks and Recreation. “Beach Wedding/Vow Renewal Permit Information.” nmb.us, 2026. nmb.us. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- California Department of Parks and Recreation Big Sur Sector. “Big Sur Sector Elopement Special Event Permit Information Packet.” parks.ca.gov, 2018. parks.ca.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Indiana Judicial Branch. “Apply for a Marriage License.” in.gov, 2026. in.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- King County Recorder's Office. “Marriage licensing.” kingcounty.gov, 2026. kingcounty.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- The Knot Worldwide. “The Knot Worldwide Unveils 2026 Real Weddings Study.” theknotww.com, 2026-02-18. theknotww.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Travel Statistics Bureau. “Travel Statistics Bureau calculations.” own calculation, 2026. Methodology. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Pinellas County Government. “Special Events & Weddings.” pinellas.gov, 2026. pinellas.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- St. Pete Beach City Government. “Special Event Fees - Effective July 1, 2016.” stpetebeach.org, 2016-07-01. stpetebeach.org. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- National Park Service. “Wedding Permits - Cape Hatteras National Seashore.” nps.gov, 2026. nps.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- National Park Service. “Weddings - Cape Lookout National Seashore.” nps.gov, 2026. nps.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Walton County Board of County Commissioners. “Outdoor Event Permits.” mywaltonfl.gov, 2024-06-21. mywaltonfl.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Walton County Board of County Commissioners. “Beach Vendor Permits and Special Event Permit Information.” mywaltonfl.gov, 2026. mywaltonfl.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- San Diego Parks and Recreation Department. “Fee and Deposit Schedule.” sandiego.gov, 2026-07-01. sandiego.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Virginia Beach Resort Management. “Beach Wedding Permit Application Guidelines.” virginiabeach.gov, 2025-06-11. s3.us-east-1.amazonaws.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- California Department of Parks and Recreation Orange Coast District. “Calafia / Lobeiro Park Special Event Permit Application.” parks.ca.gov, 2019. parks.ca.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- North Myrtle Beach Parks and Recreation. “Rules and Regulations - Wedding, Vow Renewals, and Permits on the Beach.” parks.nmb.us, 2023-03-16. parks.nmb.us. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Okaloosa County Parks. “Wedding Permits or Special Event Permits.” myokaloosa.com, 2023-03-08. myokaloosa.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Miami-Dade Parks Recreation and Open Spaces. “Special Events Permit.” miamidade.gov, 2026. miamidade.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Gulf Shores City Government. “FAQs - Weddings on the beach.” gulfshoresal.gov, 2026. gulfshoresal.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- National Center for Health Statistics. “Marriage rates by State: 1990, 1995, and 2000-2023.” cdc.gov, 2025. cdc.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Miami-Dade Clerk of the Court and Comptroller. “Marriage Licenses.” miamidadeclerk.gov, 2026. miamidadeclerk.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Dane County Clerk. “Marriage.” clerk.danecounty.gov, 2026. clerk.danecounty.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes. “Sec. 517.08 MN Statutes.” revisor.mn.gov, 2025. revisor.mn.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Clark County Clerk. “Marriage License Requirements.” clarkcountynv.gov, 2026. clarkcountynv.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Shelby County Clerk. “Marriage Licenses.” shelbycountytn.gov, 2026. shelbycountytn.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Los Angeles County Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk. “Fees.” lavote.gov, 2026. lavote.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Philadelphia Register of Wills and Orphans' Court Division. “Orphans' Court Division fees.” courts.phila.gov, 2026. courts.phila.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Third Judicial District of Kansas. “Marriage Licenses.” 3rddistrictcourtks.gov, 2026. 3rddistrictcourtks.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Harris County Clerk's Office. “Personal Records.” cclerk.hctx.net, 2026. cclerk.hctx.net. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Fulton County Probate Court. “Marriage Licenses.” fultonprobatega.org, 2026. fultonprobatega.org. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Hawaii State Department of Health Vital Records. “Marriage and Civil Union Licenses.” health.hawaii.gov, 2026. health.hawaii.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Franklin County Probate Court. “Marriage License Requirements.” probate.franklincountyohio.gov, 2026. probate.franklincountyohio.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Pulaski County Circuit Clerk. “Marriage License.” pulaskiclerkar.gov, 2026. pulaskiclerkar.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Cook County Clerk. “Marriage Licenses.” cookcountyclerkil.gov, 2026. cookcountyclerkil.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Jefferson County Clerk's Office. “Marriage License Frequently Asked Questions.” jeffersoncountyclerk.org, 2025. jeffersoncountyclerk.org. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Wake County Register of Deeds. “Apply for a Marriage License.” wake.gov, 2026. wake.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Multnomah County Division of Assessment and Taxation. “Marriage Licenses.” multco.us, 2026. multco.us. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Circuit Court for Montgomery County. “How Do I Get a Marriage License?” montgomerycountymd.gov, 2026. montgomerycountymd.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Bernalillo County Clerk. “Marriage Licenses.” berncoclerk.gov, 2025. berncoclerk.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Jackson County Recorder of Deeds. “Apply for a Marriage License.” jacksongov.org, 2026. jacksongov.org. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Hartford Town and City Clerk. “Obtain a Marriage License.” hartfordct.gov, 2026. hartfordct.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Boston City Registry Division. “How to get married in Boston.” boston.gov, 2026. boston.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Oklahoma County District Court. “Courthouse Marriage.” oklacountyjudges.org, 2026. oklacountyjudges.org. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Greenville County Probate Court. “Marriage License Fees.” greenvillecounty.org, 2026. greenvillecounty.org. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Salt Lake County Clerk. “Apply for a Marriage License.” saltlakecounty.gov, 2026. saltlakecounty.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Office of the City Clerk of New York City. “Frequently Asked Questions (as of 08/23/2021).” cityclerk.nyc.gov, 2021-08-23. cityclerk.nyc.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Denver Clerk and Recorder. “Marriages and Civil Unions.” denvergov.org, 2026. denvergov.org. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Ada County Clerk. “Marriage License.” adacounty.id.gov, 2026. adacounty.id.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Wayne County Clerk. “Marriage Licenses.” waynecountymi.gov, 2026. waynecountymi.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Fairfax County Circuit Court. “Marriage License Information.” fairfaxcounty.gov, 2026. fairfaxcounty.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- New Jersey Department of Health Vital Statistics. “Marriage License.” nj.gov, 2026. nj.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Louisiana Department of Health. “Service Fees.” ldh.la.gov, 2026. ldh.la.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- The Knot Worldwide. “Weddings Shine Bright in 2025: The Knot Study Reveals Couples Prioritize Celebration, Joy and Connection Amid Socioeconomic Instability.” theknotww.com, 2025-02-27. theknotww.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- The Knot Worldwide. “Wedding Guests Take Center Stage. The Knot 2023 Real Weddings Study Reveals Couples Prioritize the Guest Experience.” theknotww.com, 2024-02-14. theknotww.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- The Knot Worldwide. “2023 Welcomes New Wedding Trends from Gen Z Couples and an Increased Reliance on Wedding Professionals, According to The Knot 2022 Real Weddings Study.” theknotww.com, 2023-02-14. theknotww.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- The Knot Worldwide. “The Knot 2021 Real Weddings Study Marks the Height of the Wedding Boom.” theknotww.com, 2022-02-14. theknotww.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Zola. “How to Cut Destination Wedding Costs.” zola.com, 2026-02-23. zola.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- The Knot Worldwide. “The Knot 2016 Real Weddings Study.” theknotww.com, 2017-02-02. theknotww.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Zola. “2024 Wedding Trends: Zola's First Look Report.” zola.com, 2024-12-12. zola.com. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Hawaii Department of Business and Economic Development and Tourism. “The State of Hawaii Data Book 2024, Section 2: Vital Statistics and Health.” files.hawaii.gov, 2024 edition. files.hawaii.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Hawaii Department of Business and Economic Development and Tourism. “The State of Hawaii Data Book 2024, Section 7: Tourism.” files.hawaii.gov, 2024 edition. files.hawaii.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Hawaii Department of Business and Economic Development and Tourism. “The State of Hawaii Data Book 2020, Section 7: Tourism.” files.hawaii.gov, 2020 edition. files.hawaii.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Hawaii Department of Business and Economic Development and Tourism. “The State of Hawaii Data Book 2016, Section 7: Tourism.” files.hawaii.gov, 2016 edition. files.hawaii.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Hawaii Department of Business and Economic Development and Tourism. “The State of Hawaii Data Book 2017, Section 7: Tourism.” files.hawaii.gov, 2017 edition. files.hawaii.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Hawaii Department of Business and Economic Development and Tourism. “The State of Hawaii Data Book 2018, Section 7: Tourism.” files.hawaii.gov, 2018 edition. files.hawaii.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Hawaii Department of Business and Economic Development and Tourism. “The State of Hawaii Data Book 2019, Section 7: Tourism.” files.hawaii.gov, 2019 edition. files.hawaii.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Hawaii Department of Business and Economic Development and Tourism. “The State of Hawaii Data Book 2021, Section 7: Tourism.” files.hawaii.gov, 2021 edition. files.hawaii.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Hawaii Department of Business and Economic Development and Tourism. “The State of Hawaii Data Book 2022, Section 7: Tourism.” files.hawaii.gov, 2022 edition. files.hawaii.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- Hawaii Department of Business and Economic Development and Tourism. “The State of Hawaii Data Book 2023, Section 7: Tourism.” files.hawaii.gov, 2023 edition. files.hawaii.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
- National Center for Health Statistics. “Provisional number of marriages and marriage rate: United States, 2000-2023.” cdc.gov, 2025. cdc.gov. Accessed 2026-09-25. Back to text
About the author
Anneliese Kurz analyzes hotel pricing, occupancy trends, loyalty-program value and the economics of the lodging sector. A graduate of one of Europe's leading hospitality business schools, she began her career in front-of-house operations before moving into revenue management, where she built demand-forecasting models for luxury and midscale properties. She rose to Vice President of Revenue Management for an international hotel group with more than 400 properties, overseeing pricing strategy across Europe, the Middle East and Asia-Pacific. During that period she led the group's response to two major demand shocks and developed the internal benchmarking system still used to compare property performance against market data. Anneliese holds a professional certification in hotel-industry analytics and has lectured on revenue strategy at her alma mater and at industry conferences. Her analyses rely on industry benchmark data, public company filings and her own modeling, with methodology disclosed on every piece.
Every figure on this page links to its source. How we research
Related research
More tourism and travel-cost research from Travel Statistics Bureau.
- Travel CostsHow Much Is a Flight to Hawaii? (2026 Data)$483 average round-trip flight from the US to HawaiiRead the research →
- Travel CostsHow Much Is a Flight to New York (2026 Data)$305 average round-trip flight to New York from US citiesRead the research →
- Travel CostsHow Much Is a Flight to Thailand (2026 Data)$484 average round-trip flight from the US to BangkokRead the research →
- Travel CostsHow Much Is a Flight Nanny for a Puppy? (2026 Data)$675 median flight-nanny starting priceRead the research →
- Travel CostsHow Much Is a Private Jet Flight (2026 Data)$8,456 per hour, light private jet, 2026Read the research →
- Travel CostsAverage Daily Budget: Peru Travel Costs (2026 Data)$123 a night spent by foreign tourists in Peru, 2025Read the research →