Research · Travel Costs

How Much Is a Flight Nanny for a Puppy? (2026 Data)

Flight-nanny prices from seven US companies, airline pet fees by airline and route, the cost of the hold, USDA endorsement fees, dog import rules and Hawaii's arrival fees.

  • Published
  • Updated
  • 41 sources
  • 84 statistics
  • 12 min read

Key findings

  1. $675A flight nanny for a puppy starts at about $675, the median published starting price of 7 commercial US companies.
  2. $125The median in-cabin pet fee across 9 US airlines is $125 each way.
  3. 58%Delta raised its in-cabin pet fee 58%, from $95 to $150, for tickets issued from April 8, 2025.
  4. $200Checking a pet in the hold on Alaska or Hawaiian costs $200 each way, double the $100 cabin fee.
  5. $185Hawaii charges $185 to release a qualifying dog or cat at Honolulu airport, or $244 with late paperwork.
  6. $275A USDA endorsement of one pet's export health certificate costs $101 with no lab tests and up to $275.

A puppy that flies alone to a new home rarely travels cheaply. The escort who carries it in the cabin publishes prices from $4001 to $1,9002 for a domestic trip, with a middle value of $6753 across seven companies. Owners who fly the pet themselves pay the airline instead, with a median fee of $1253 each way for a carrier under the seat, and some trips add government fees on top.

This page adds up each part of the bill: what a flight nanny costs and what the price covers, airline pet fees by airline and route, the fee for putting a pet in the hold, how fees have risen, and the paperwork, from the USDA endorsement of an export health certificate to the dog import rules and the fees Hawaii charges on arrival.

How much is a flight nanny?

A flight nanny is a person who buys a seat, carries the pet in a soft carrier under the seat in front and hands it over at the destination airport or door. Seven US companies publish a starting price for a domestic trip with one small pet. The lowest is $4001 for a direct flight, or $4501 with a layover, plus travel costs; the highest is a typical price of $1,9002 from airport to airport for a weekday trip booked ahead. The median of the seven prices is $6753 and the mean $853.63, pulled up by the top price.

Flight-nanny starting price by company, domestic US trip
Published starting price for one small pet flown in the cabin within the US; 7 companies with a published price (one price per company; the top one is a typical weekday price booked ahead); two companies are breeders that fly only their own puppies; what each price includes is in the next table; ranked
Unit: US dollars, one pet, one way
  1. The Waggin' Trail Express$1,900
  2. PurplePup$1,000
  3. Rebecca Creek Retrievers (breeder)$1,000
  4. TLC Flight Nanny$675
  5. Stokeshire (breeder)$500
  6. Fuzzy Fur Babies$500
  7. Pawsitive Landing$400
Source: Flight-nanny companies' own price pages, fetched 2026-09-27 (commercial sample of 7 US companies)1456782travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • The median of the 7 starting prices is $675.
  • The highest price, $1,900, is 4.75 times the lowest, $400.
  • Two companies start at $500.
What each flight-nanny starting price covers
Published domestic starting price and what it includes, as stated on each company's own page; fetched 2026-09-27; 'not stated' = the page does not say
Unit: US dollars, one pet, one way; pounds (lb)
The Waggin' Trail Express$1,900 typical price, airport to airport (weekday, booked ahead)not statednot statedunder 10 lb, new carrier included
PurplePupfrom $1,000 (same-day airport to airport averages $1,200; puppy service averages $1,000-$1,500)includedincludednot stated
Rebecca Creek Retrievers (breeder)$1,000 (own puppy buyers only)included, round tripincludednot stated
TLC Flight Nanny$675not statedextra, $95-$150 if chargedunder 20 lb
Stokeshire (breeder)$500 (own puppy buyers)extra, at costextraunder 20 lb
Fuzzy Fur Babies$500 ($500-$850 range)not statednot statedunder 20 lb
Pawsitive Landing$400 direct ($450 with a layover)extra (travel costs)extra, $100-$200 a segmentunder 20 lb
Source: Flight-nanny companies' own price pages, fetched 2026-09-27 (commercial sample of 7 US companies)14567829travelstatisticsbureau.com

The prices are not like for like, and the starting price is not always the whole bill. Two of the seven include the nanny's airfare and the airline's pet fee: a flight-nanny service that starts at $1,0007 and a breeder that escorts only its own puppies, also at $1,0008. The same service says a same-day airport-to-airport trip averages $1,2007 and its puppy service $1,000-$1,5009. Others add the nanny's travel costs and the airline fee on top.

Most prices assume one pet under 20 lb6, or under 10 lb2 at the most expensive company. These are the companies' own published prices, fetched on September 27, 2026, not a survey of what customers paid.

International flight nannies

Trips abroad cost more. One company's international tiers start at $5001 for Canada or Mexico, $1,0001 for Europe, $1,2001 for Asia and $1,5001 for Australia, each plus travel costs; the middle of the four tiers is $1,1003. A breeder-run service charges a flat $80010 for an international trip, plus airfare and destination fees, against $5004 at home.

International flight-nanny starting price by destination
One company's published starting prices for one pet flown in the cabin from the US, plus the nanny's travel costs; fetched 2026-09-27; ranked
Unit: US dollars, one pet, one way, before travel costs
  1. Australia$1,500
  2. Asia$1,200
  3. Europe$1,000
  4. Canada or Mexico$500
Source: Flight-nanny company price page (commercial), fetched 2026-09-271travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • Australia starts at $1,500, three times Canada or Mexico.
  • Europe starts at $1,000.
  • Asia costs $200 more than Europe.

What one booking adds up to

One breeder-run service publishes a cost estimator for its domestic deliveries that shows where the rest of the money goes. Its nanny fee is $5004, and every flight travels with a health certificate package, vet exam included, at $2954. The estimate adds a $1504 ticket upgrade for the nanny, the airline's in-cabin pet fee of $95-$1504 depending on the airline, and $754 each for travel insurance and airport parking. These fixed lines come to $1,2453 with the highest pet fee.

The nanny's airfare is billed at cost, a 3%4 card fee applies, and the company says a domestic delivery runs from about $1,5504 plus tax for most US destinations, so the nanny fee is at most about a third of it.

One domestic flight-nanny booking, item by item
Fixed lines in one breeder-run service's published cost estimator for a delivery within the US; the airline fee at its highest value; the nanny's airfare (billed at cost), the 3% card fee and tax come on top; ranked
Unit: US dollars, one pet, one way
  1. Nanny fee$500
  2. Health certificate package (vet exam, certificate)$295
  3. Nanny's ticket upgrade (seat, refundable, priority)$150
  4. Airline in-cabin pet fee$150
  5. Travel insurance$75
  6. Airport parking$75
Source: Flight-nanny company cost estimator, domestic page (commercial), fetched 2026-09-274travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • The $500 nanny fee is the largest item.
  • The $295 health certificate package is the second largest.
  • The six fixed lines add up to $1,245 before airfare.
One domestic flight-nanny booking: the estimator's lines
Each line as the estimator publishes it and the value used in the chart; delivery within the US; airfare at cost, the 3% card fee and tax are not included
Unit: US dollars
Nanny fee$500 flat$500
Health certificate package (vet exam, certificate)$295$295
Nanny's ticket upgrade (seat, refundable, priority)$150$150
Airline in-cabin pet fee$95-$150 by airline; $150 if the airline is not chosen$150
Travel insurance$75$75
Airport parking$75$75
Source: Flight-nanny company cost estimator, domestic page (commercial), fetched 2026-09-274travelstatisticsbureau.com

Service tiers

Door-to-door handling costs more than a handover at the airport. The company at the top of the price range charges $1,9002 from airport to airport, $2,1752 from the door to the airport and $2,3752 from door to door, so the full service adds $4753. Its prices are for weekday, non-holiday trips booked in advance and include a new carrier.

Flight-nanny price by service tier
One company's published prices for a dog or cat under 10 lb flown in the cabin within the US; in service order
Unit: US dollars, one pet, one way
  1. Airport to airport$1,900
  2. Door to airport$2,175
  3. Door to door$2,375
Source: Flight-nanny company price page (commercial), fetched 2026-09-272travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • Door to door costs $475 more than airport to airport.
  • Door to airport is $2,175.

The nanny's fee is rarely the whole bill, and some charges come before the flight is even booked.

Deposits and booking fees

One company asks for a $12511 non-refundable deposit to start scheduling and credits $10011 of it to the final bill, so $253 is lost if the trip does not go ahead; it also sells its own pet insurance for $5011, covering up to $5,00011. Another takes a $256 non-refundable processing fee to open a request, and a layover instead of a direct flight adds $503 to the lowest starting price.

Deposits and booking fees charged by flight-nanny companies
Charges published on the companies' own pages, fetched 2026-09-27
Unit: US dollars
QT Pet TransportDeposit to start scheduling (non-refundable)$125, of which $100 is credited
QT Pet TransportOptional pet travel insurance$50, covers up to $5,000
TLC Flight NannyProcessing fee to start a request (non-refundable)$25
Pawsitive LandingFlight with a layover instead of direct$450 instead of $400
Source: Flight-nanny companies' own pages (commercial)1161travelstatisticsbureau.com

The extras around one quote

The same service lists add-ons and options outside the fixed lines. An owner who flies in and collects the puppy at the nearest small airport pays a $1204 handoff fee, and a handover at a large hub costs $32010. Every invoice carries the card fee, while booking at least 74 days ahead takes $504 off. A puppy of 20 lb4 or more is too big for the cabin and is quoted separately for ground transport; the service does not ship puppies as cargo.

Options and extras around one flight-nanny quote
One breeder-run service's published handoff options, credits and rules outside the estimator's fixed lines; fetched 2026-09-27
Unit: US dollars; percent; pounds
Handover at a large hub airport (Minneapolis-Saint Paul)$320
Handover at the local airport (Central Wisconsin)$120
Nanny's airfarebilled at actual cost
Airline-approved soft carrierincluded
Card processing3% of the invoice
Booking 7 or more days ahead$50 credit
Puppy of 20 lb or morenot flown in the cabin; ground transport quoted separately
Source: Flight-nanny company estimator (commercial)410travelstatisticsbureau.com

How much is a dog flight ticket?

A dog does not get a ticket of its own. It flies as a carry-on in a carrier under the seat, and the airline charges a pet fee for each carrier each way. Among nine US airlines the fee runs from $5012 on Allegiant to $15013 on Delta and three others, and the middle value is $1253; Alaska and Hawaiian charge $10014.15

The fee is charged each way, so a round trip doubles it, and the carrier also counts as the owner's personal item or carry-on bag, on Southwest and WestJet for example.16 17 A pet carrier bought at a Southwest ticket counter costs $5816.

In-cabin pet fee by US airline, 2026
Fee for one pet in a carrier under the seat, one way, standard domestic route, in force 2026-09-26; '(secondary)' = the airline's own page could not be read and the fee is from a pet-travel guide; ranked
Unit: US dollars, one pet, one way
  1. Delta$150
  2. American (secondary)$150
  3. United (secondary)$150
  4. JetBlue (secondary)$150
  5. Southwest$125
  6. Spirit (secondary)$125
  7. Alaska and Hawaiian$100
  8. Frontier (secondary)$99
  9. Allegiant$50
Source: Airlines' own pet pages and contracts of carriage; pet-travel guide (secondary) for five airlines1316141215travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • Four airlines charge $150 each way.
  • Allegiant's $50 is a third of $150.
  • The middle of the nine fees is $125.

How much is a cat flight ticket?

Cats pay the same fee as dogs. The airlines' fee tables charge per carrier or kennel and do not price cats and dogs differently, and the carrier rules are the same for both.13 16 14

Fees by route

The standard fee is not the only one. Delta charges $20013 each way on international routes, $503 more than at home, and raised its Brazil fee from $7513 to $20013. Flights between the Hawaiian islands cost $3516 on both Southwest and Alaska and Hawaiian.14 Air Canada and WestJet charge $50-$6018 and $50-$5919 within Canada and between Canada and the US, and about double that on other international routes; their ranges come from tax, which depends on the departure airport.

In-cabin pet fee by airline and route
Fee for one pet in a carrier under the seat, one way, in force 2026-09-26; ranges include tax that varies by departure airport; fees for trips starting in the US are charged in US dollars
Unit: US dollars, one pet, one way
DeltaUS, Canada, Puerto Rico, US Virgin Islands$150 (tickets issued from Apr 8, 2025; $95 before)
DeltaInternational$200
DeltaBrazil$200 (was $75)
SouthwestUS mainland$125
SouthwestBetween the Hawaiian islands$35
Alaska and HawaiianStandard$100
Alaska and HawaiianWholly within Hawaii$35
Air CanadaWithin Canada and Canada-US$50-$60
Air CanadaInternational$100-$120
WestJetWithin Canada and the US$50-$59
WestJetOutside Canada and the US$100-$118
Source: Airlines' own pet and fee pages1316141819travelstatisticsbureau.com

Checking a pet in the hold

A pet too big for the cabin has to fly as checked baggage or as cargo, and of the nine US airlines in the fee chart, only Alaska and Hawaiian take checked pets from the general public.20 Southwest, JetBlue, Spirit, Allegiant and Frontier take pets in the cabin only, and so does Breeze.21 22 23 12 24 25 Delta, American and United accept a checked pet only from active-duty military or State Department staff moving on orders.13 15

Who can check a pet in the hold, by airline
Whether the airline carries pets in the cabin and as checked baggage in the hold, as of 2026-09-27; '(secondary)' = from a pet-travel guide because the airline's own page could not be read
Unit: access (yes / no / restricted)
Alaska and Hawaiianyesyes, open to the public
Deltayesactive-duty military and State Department staff on orders only
American (secondary)yesactive-duty military and State Department staff on orders only
United (secondary)yesactive-duty military and State Department staff on orders only
Southwestyesno
JetBlueyesno
Spirityesno
Allegiantyesno
Frontieryesno
Breezeyes, domestic flightsno
Air Canadayesyes, pets of 10 lb (4.5 kg) or more
WestJetyesyes
Source: Airlines' own pet pages and contracts of carriage; pet-travel guide (secondary) for American and United2013152122231224251817travelstatisticsbureau.com

Where the hold is open, it costs two to three times the cabin fee. Alaska and Hawaiian charge $20020 each way per kennel, double their cabin fee.14 The hold fee falls to the cabin level within Alaska or for active-duty military on orders, and to $6020 within Hawaii, $1403 less than the standard fee. Military families on orders between Seattle or Honolulu and Japan pay $34020. In Canada, a checked pet costs $105-$12618 or $100-$11819 on Canada-US flights and up to $32418 on other international routes, 2.73 times the airline's top international cabin fee.

Fee to check a pet in the hold, by airline and route
Fee per kennel, one way, in force 2026-09-26; ranges include tax that varies by departure airport; Southwest, JetBlue, Spirit, Allegiant, Frontier and Breeze take pets in the cabin only; Delta, American and United take checked pets only from military and State Department staff on orders
Unit: US dollars, per kennel, one way
Alaska and HawaiianStandard$200
Alaska and HawaiianWithin Alaska, or active-duty military on orders$100
Alaska and HawaiianWithin Hawaii$60
Alaska and HawaiianMilitary on orders, Seattle or Honolulu to Japan$340
Air CanadaWithin Canada and Canada-US$105-$126
Air CanadaInternational$270-$324
WestJetWithin Canada and the US$100-$118
WestJetOutside Canada and the US$200-$236
Source: Airlines' own pet and fee pages201819travelstatisticsbureau.com

Carrier and kennel limits

A soft carrier for the cabin may be up to 17 x 11 x 9.5 inches14 on Alaska and Hawaiian, 18 x 11 x 11 inches13 on Delta depending on the aircraft, or 17 x 8 x 13 inches25 on Breeze, where the pet may weigh 25 lb25 at most. In the hold, Alaska and Hawaiian take a pet and kennel of up to 150 lb20 in five kennel sizes, and Air Canada and WestJet stop at 100 lb17.18 Cats and dogs under 10 lb18 are not accepted in the hold on Air Canada, so a small pet flies in the cabin there.

Largest pet carrier allowed in the cabin, by airline
Maximum carrier size (length x width x height) and pet weight limit as published; 'not stated' = no single figure on the airline's page
Unit: inches (centimeters in brackets); pounds
Delta18 x 11 x 11 (varies by aircraft)not stated
Frontiersoft 18 x 14 x 11; hard 18 x 14 x 8not stated
Allegiantsoft 18 x 12 x 11; hard 17 x 11 x 10.5not stated
Alaska and Hawaiian17 x 11 x 9.5, soft-sided onlynot stated
Breeze17 x 8 x 13, soft-sidedpet 25 lb or less
Air Canada16 x 17 x 8 (40 x 43 x 20 cm) on jets; 16 x 22 x 10 (40 x 55 x 27 cm) on regional aircraftnot stated
WestJet16 x 10 x 8.5 (41 x 25.4 x 21.5 cm)not stated
Source: Airlines' own pet pages and contracts of carriage13241214251817travelstatisticsbureau.com

In the hold, the limit is the kennel: its outside size and the combined weight of pet and kennel. A bigger kennel does not change the fee on these airlines, which charge per kennel.20 19

Kennel sizes and weight limits for pets in the hold
Largest kennel and pet-plus-kennel weight accepted as checked baggage; Alaska and Hawaiian list five kennel sizes
Unit: inches (length x width x height, centimeters in brackets); pounds (kilograms in brackets)
Alaska and HawaiianSize 100 (extra small)21 x 16 x 15150 lb (68 kg) with kennel
Alaska and HawaiianSize 200 (small)27 x 20 x 19150 lb (68 kg) with kennel
Alaska and HawaiianSize 300 (medium)32 x 22 x 23150 lb (68 kg) with kennel
Alaska and HawaiianSize 400 (large)36 x 24 x 26150 lb (68 kg) with kennel
Alaska and HawaiianSize 500 (extra large)40 x 27 x 30150 lb (68 kg) with kennel
Air CanadaAny115 in (292 cm) length + width + height100 lb (45 kg); pets under 10 lb (4.5 kg) not accepted
WestJetAny40 x 27 x 32 (101 x 68 x 81 cm)100 lb (45 kg)
Source: Airlines' own pet pages201817travelstatisticsbureau.com

How airline pet fees have changed

In force today, the in-cabin fee is $15013 each way on Delta for tickets issued from April 8, 2025, up from $9513, a rise of 58%3, and $12516 on the Southwest mainland. On the Brazil route Delta's fee rose to 2.673 times its old level.13 The older points in the table come from news reports of the time, not from the airlines, and are shown for context only: in June 2008 American, Delta and United charged about $10026 each way, and by November 2013 $12527 was their fee, JetBlue and Alaska charged $10027, and Southwest $7527 before a rise to $9527 in January 2014. Measured that way, the typical big-airline fee has gone from about $100 to $150 in 18 years3.

In-cabin pet fee by airline: 2026 in force, with dated earlier reports
One way; 2026 column from the airlines' own pages (Delta, Southwest, Alaska) or a pet-travel guide (secondary); 2013 and 2008 columns from news reports published on those dates (secondary, dated)
Unit: US dollars, one pet, one way
Delta$150 (from Apr 8, 2025; $95 before)$125$100
American$150 (secondary)$125$100
United$150 (secondary)$125$100, then $125 from Aug 18, 2008
Southwest$125$75 ($95 from Jan 15, 2014)not found
JetBlue$150 (secondary)$100$75, raised to $100
Alaska$100$100not found
Source: Airlines' own pages; pet-travel guide (secondary); news reports of 2008 and 2013 (secondary, dated)131614152726travelstatisticsbureau.com

Flying a pet yourself vs hiring a nanny

For an owner who can fly, the cheapest domestic option is the airline fee alone, a median $1253 each way, plus the owner's own ticket. The median nanny price of $6753 is 5.43 times that fee; most nanny prices leave out the nanny's airfare, but two include it. Abroad the gap narrows: the owner pays Delta's $20013 international fee plus the $10128 USDA endorsement, $3013 in all, against a $1,1003 middle nanny tier, or 3.653 times as much. The comparison leaves out the owner's own airfare and time, which is what a nanny replaces.

Flying a pet yourself vs hiring a flight nanny
Pet-related charges for one small pet, one way; the owner's own ticket is not included; most nanny prices leave out the nanny's airfare, two of seven include it; in route order
Unit: US dollars, one pet, one way
  1. Domestic: fly it yourself (airline fee)$125
  2. Domestic: flight nanny$675
  3. International: fly it yourself (fee + USDA endorsement)$301
  4. International: flight nanny$1,100
Source: Airlines' pet pages, USDA endorsement fees and flight-nanny companies' pages; our calculation313281456782travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • A domestic nanny costs $675, 5.4 times the $125 airline fee.
  • Abroad the nanny's $1,100 is 3.65 times the $301 do-it-yourself cost.
Fly it yourself or hire a nanny: what each figure is
What each bar in the chart above is made of and the nanny's multiple of the do-it-yourself cost (our calculation)
Unit: US dollars; times (multiple)
Domestic: fly it yourself (airline fee)$125airline in-cabin fee, median of 9 airlines1.00x
Domestic: flight nanny$675median starting price of 7 companies5.40x
International: fly it yourself (fee + USDA endorsement)$301$200 international fee + $101 endorsement1.00x
International: flight nanny$1,100middle of 4 destination tiers of one company3.65x
Source: Our calculation from the figures on this page3travelstatisticsbureau.com

The paperwork: health certificates and endorsements

A trip abroad usually starts with a health certificate from a USDA-accredited vet, and depending on the destination the certificate is then endorsed by the USDA.28 The endorsement fee depends on how many laboratory tests the destination demands, not on the vet's work: $10128 per certificate with no tests, for any number of pets, $16028 with one or two tests, $20628 with three to six and $27528 with seven or more, 2.723 times the no-test fee. Each extra pet on the same certificate adds $1028 to $2128 on the tested tiers. Vaccines do not count as tests, the vet's own charges come on top, and service dogs under the disability law are exempt, while emotional support animals pay. The endorsement is for export certificates, so a trip within the US does not need it.28

USDA endorsement fee for a pet's export health certificate
Fee per certificate for one pet by number of laboratory tests the destination requires; vaccines are not tests; in force 2026-09-26; in tier order
Unit: US dollars per certificate
  1. No lab tests$101
  2. 1-2 tests$160
  3. 3-6 tests$206
  4. 7 or more tests$275
Source: U.S. Department of Agriculture, pet health certificate endorsement fees28travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • The fee rises from $101 with no tests to $275 with seven or more.
  • Three to six tests cost $206.
USDA endorsement fee: first pet and each additional pet
Fee per certificate; additional pets on the same certificate; in force 2026-09-26
Unit: US dollars per certificate
No lab tests$101no extra charge (any number of pets)
1-2 tests$160+$10
3-6 tests$206+$18
7 or more tests$275+$21
Source: U.S. Department of Agriculture, pet health certificate endorsement fees28travelstatisticsbureau.com

Service animals

Only a trained service dog now flies free as of right. Since January 11, 2021, the federal rule counts only dogs trained to do work for a person with a disability as service animals, and airlines may ask for a federal form before the flight; emotional support animals are pets and pay the pet fee.29 The same line holds at the USDA, which waives the endorsement fee for service dogs but not for emotional support animals.28

Bringing a dog back into the US

Coming home has its own rules for dogs. Every dog needs a CDC Dog Import Form receipt, and the form is free.30 A dog that has been only in rabies-free or low-risk countries needs nothing more on paper, but it must look healthy, carry a microchip and be at least 6 months31 old. A US-vaccinated dog that has been in any of 11132 high-risk countries or places in the past six months needs a second document, a rabies vaccination form that the USDA must endorse before the dog leaves the US; its cost is set by the vet and the USDA.30 A dog vaccinated abroad in a high-risk country pays the most: a foreign vaccination form valid for 30 days33, a blood titer test or a 28-day33 quarantine, and a reservation at a registered animal care facility for an exam and a new rabies shot, all at the owner's expense.33

What a dog needs to enter the US, by where it has been
Requirements by the countries the dog was in during the 6 months before entry; the import form itself is free; vet, laboratory and animal-care-facility costs are paid by the owner
Unit: documents; US dollars; days and months
Only rabies-free or low-risk countries1: import form receipt$0healthy, microchip, at least 6 months old
Only Canada, Mexico and the US1: import form receipt, reusable for 6 months$0healthy, microchip, at least 6 months old
High-risk country, vaccinated in the US2: import form + USDA-endorsed US rabies vaccination form$0form endorsed before the dog leaves the US; microchip before the vaccine
High-risk country, vaccinated abroad2: import form + foreign vaccination form (valid 30 days)$0titer test or 28-day quarantine; animal care facility reservation, exam and revaccination; first vaccine at 12 weeks or older and 28+ days before entry
High-risk country, not vaccinatednot allowed to enter--
Source: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, dog importation pages303331travelstatisticsbureau.com

The map shows where the second document comes in for a dog vaccinated in the US: most of Africa, much of Asia and parts of Latin America and Eastern Europe are on the high-risk list, while Canada, Mexico, Western Europe, Japan and Australia are not.32

Documents a US-vaccinated dog needs to come home, by country visited
CDC-required documents for a dog vaccinated in the US that has been in the country during the 6 months before returning: 1 = import form only (not high risk), 2 = import form + USDA-endorsed rabies vaccination form (high risk for dog rabies); list dated April 15, 2026; 110 mapped high-risk and 60 other countries; territories without their own entry are left blank
Unit: CDC-required documents (1 or 2)
Afghanistan: 2Angola: 2Albania: 1United Arab Emirates: 2Argentina: 1Armenia: 2Antarctica: no dataFrench Southern and Antarctic Lands: no dataAustralia: 1Austria: 1Azerbaijan: 2Burundi: 2Belgium: 1Benin: 2Burkina Faso: 2Bangladesh: 2Bulgaria: 1The Bahamas: 1Bosnia and Herzegovina: 1Belarus: 2Belize: 2Bermuda: no dataBolivia: 2Brazil: 2Brunei: 2Bhutan: 1Botswana: 2Central African Republic: 2Canada: 1Switzerland: 1Chile: 1China: 2Ivory Coast: 2Cameroon: 2Democratic Republic of the Congo: 2Republic of the Congo: 2Colombia: 2Costa Rica: 1Cuba: 2Northern Cyprus: no dataCyprus: 1Czech Republic: 1Germany: 1Djibouti: 2Denmark: 1Dominican Republic: 2Algeria: 2Ecuador: 2Egypt: 2Eritrea: 2Spain: 1Estonia: 1Ethiopia: 2Finland: 1Fiji: 1Falkland Islands: no dataFrance: 1Gabon: 2United Kingdom: 1Georgia: 2Ghana: 2Guinea: 2Gambia: 2Guinea Bissau: 2Equatorial Guinea: 2Greece: 1Greenland: no dataGuatemala: 2French Guiana: no dataGuyana: 2Honduras: 2Croatia: 1Haiti: 2Hungary: 1Indonesia: 2India: 2Ireland: 1Iran: 2Iraq: 2Iceland: 1Israel: 2Italy: 1Jamaica: 1Jordan: 2Japan: 1Kazakhstan: 2Kenya: 2Kyrgyzstan: 2Cambodia: 2South Korea: 1Kosovo: 1Kuwait: 2Laos: 2Lebanon: 2Liberia: 2Libya: 2Sri Lanka: 2Lesotho: 2Lithuania: 1Luxembourg: 1Latvia: 1Morocco: 2Moldova: 2Madagascar: 2Mexico: 1Macedonia: 1Mali: 2Malta: 1Myanmar: 2Montenegro: 1Mongolia: 2Mozambique: 2Mauritania: 2Malawi: 2Malaysia: 2Namibia: 2New Caledonia: no dataNiger: 2Nigeria: 2Nicaragua: 1Netherlands: 1Norway: 1Nepal: 2New Zealand: 1Oman: 2Pakistan: 2Panama: 1Peru: 2Philippines: 2Papua New Guinea: 1Poland: 1Puerto Rico: no dataNorth Korea: 2Portugal: 1Paraguay: 1Qatar: 2Romania: 1Russia: 2Rwanda: 2Western Sahara: 2Saudi Arabia: 1Sudan: 2South Sudan: 2Senegal: 2Solomon Islands: 1Sierra Leone: 2El Salvador: 2Somaliland: 2Somalia: 2Republic of Serbia: 1Suriname: 2Slovakia: 1Slovenia: 1Sweden: 1Swaziland: 2Syria: 2Chad: 2Togo: 2Thailand: 2Tajikistan: 2Turkmenistan: 2East Timor: 2Trinidad and Tobago: 1Tunisia: 2Turkey: 2Taiwan: 1United Republic of Tanzania: 2Uganda: 2Ukraine: 2Uruguay: 1United States of America: no dataUzbekistan: 2Venezuela: 2Vietnam: 2Vanuatu: 1West Bank: 2Yemen: 2South Africa: 2Zambia: 2Zimbabwe: 2Afghanistan2Angola2Albania1United Arab Emirates2Argentina1Armenia2AntarcticaFrench Southern and Antarctic LandsAustralia1Austria1Azerbaijan2Burundi2Belgium1Benin2Burkina Faso2Bangladesh2Bulgaria1The Bahamas1Bosnia and Herzegovina1Belarus2Belize2BermudaBolivia2Brazil2Brunei2Bhutan1Botswana2Central African Republic2Canada1Switzerland1Chile1China2Ivory Coast2Cameroon2Democratic Republic of the Congo2Republic of the Congo2Colombia2Costa Rica1Cuba2Northern CyprusCyprus1Czech Republic1Germany1Djibouti2Denmark1Dominican Republic2Algeria2Ecuador2Egypt2Eritrea2Spain1Estonia1Ethiopia2Finland1Fiji1Falkland IslandsFrance1Gabon2United Kingdom1Georgia2Ghana2Guinea2Gambia2Guinea Bissau2Equatorial Guinea2Greece1GreenlandGuatemala2French GuianaGuyana2Honduras2Croatia1Haiti2Hungary1Indonesia2India2Ireland1Iran2Iraq2Iceland1Israel2Italy1Jamaica1Jordan2Japan1Kazakhstan2Kenya2Kyrgyzstan2Cambodia2South Korea1Kosovo1Kuwait2Laos2Lebanon2Liberia2Libya2Sri Lanka2Lesotho2Lithuania1Luxembourg1Latvia1Morocco2Moldova2Madagascar2Mexico1Macedonia1Mali2Malta1Myanmar2Montenegro1Mongolia2Mozambique2Mauritania2Malawi2Malaysia2Namibia2New CaledoniaNiger2Nigeria2Nicaragua1Netherlands1Norway1Nepal2New Zealand1Oman2Pakistan2Panama1Peru2Philippines2Papua New Guinea1Poland1Puerto RicoNorth Korea2Portugal1Paraguay1Qatar2Romania1Russia2Rwanda2Western Sahara2Saudi Arabia1Sudan2South Sudan2Senegal2Solomon Islands1Sierra Leone2El Salvador2Somaliland2Somalia2Republic of Serbia1Suriname2Slovakia1Slovenia1Sweden1Swaziland2Syria2Chad2Togo2Thailand2Tajikistan2Turkmenistan2East Timor2Trinidad and Tobago1Tunisia2Turkey2Taiwan1United Republic of Tanzania2Uganda2Ukraine2Uruguay1United States of AmericaUzbekistan2Venezuela2Vietnam2Vanuatu1West Bank2Yemen2South Africa2Zambia2Zimbabwe2
Source: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, High-Risk Countries for Dog Rabies (April 15, 2026)3230travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • Countries shaded 2 require the endorsed rabies vaccination form.
  • Countries shaded 1 need only the import form.

Flying a pet to Hawaii

Hawaii is rabies-free and charges its own fees when a dog or cat lands.34 A pet that meets the rules is released at Honolulu airport for $18534 if its papers arrive at least 10 days34 before arrival, or $24434 if they arrive later, $593 more. The 5-Day-or-Less program also costs $244, a direct release on a neighbor island needs a $16534 permit, and a pet that returns after a trip pays a $9834 re-entry fee, or $13034 with late papers. A pet that arrives before it qualifies pays $14.3034 a day on top. Flying a small dog in the cabin to Honolulu on Alaska or Hawaiian and releasing it at the airport therefore costs $2853 in fees before any vet bills.

Since the New World screwworm was found in the US in June 2026, the health certificate must also state that the animal was inspected and found free of it.34

Hawaii fees for a dog or cat arriving by air
State fee per dog or cat; 'late' = documents received less than 10 days before arrival; in force 2026-09-27; ranked
Unit: US dollars per dog or cat
  1. Airport release, Honolulu, late papers$244
  2. 5-Day-or-Less program$244
  3. Airport release, Honolulu, papers on time$185
  4. Neighbor island direct release permit$165
  5. Re-entry, late papers$130
  6. Re-entry, papers on time$98
  7. Overnight hold not picked up by 10 a.m. (extra)$59
Source: State of Hawaii, animal quarantine fees34travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • On-time papers save $59 on a Honolulu airport release.
  • The neighbor island permit costs $165.
  • Re-entry costs $98, or $130 with late papers.

The cheaper fees depend on timing. A pet can be released on arrival only 30 days34 or more after a passing rabies antibody test, and one that does not qualify can be held for up to 120 days34.

Hawaii's deadlines for a quick release
Waiting periods and deadlines that decide whether a dog or cat is released on arrival or quarantined; in force 2026-09-27
Unit: days; hours
After a passing rabies antibody (FAVN) testat least 30 days before arrival
After the most recent rabies vaccinationat least 30 days before arrival
Papers received for the lower airport-release fee10 days or more before arrival
Papers received for a neighbor island permit30 days or more before arrival
Quarantine for a pet that does not qualifyup to 120 days
Pick-up of a pet held overnightby 10:00 a.m.
Source: State of Hawaii, animal quarantine information34travelstatisticsbureau.com

What this means for a booking

For a small pet flying within the US, the cheapest route is the owner's own trip: a $5012 to $15013 pet fee each way and a carrier that fits under the seat. A nanny makes sense when nobody can fly, and then the fee is only part of it: one breeder-run service says the whole domestic delivery runs from about $1,5504 plus tax for most US destinations, at least three times the nanny's own fee.

A big dog changes everything. With the cabin closed to it, the choice shrinks to the few airlines that still take pets in the hold, at $20020 each way on Alaska and Hawaiian, or to cargo. Paperwork is the other swing factor: nothing extra for most trips at home, $10128 to $27528 for a USDA endorsement abroad, and $18534 or more on arrival in Hawaii.

For comparison: how often animals are hurt in flight

Price is not the only thing owners weigh. US airlines with 60 or more seats per aircraft report each animal that dies, is injured or is lost while in their care.35 In 2024 they reported 1035 deaths and 335 injuries among 161,33535 animals carried, 0.8135 incidents per 10,000, against 1.1836 in 2015. Over the same years the number of animals reported fell by 69.8%3, so the rate per 10,000, not the count, is the figure to compare. The years swing, and eight years with gaps are too few for a trend line.

Animal deaths, injuries and losses reported by US airlines, 2015-2024
Calendar-year totals reported by airlines with 60+ seat aircraft; 2017, 2023 and 2025 not included (see Limitations); no trend line: a straight-line fit turns negative before 2050
Unit: animals; incidents per 10,000 animals transported
201535253534,5371.18
201626220523,7430.92
20181070424,6210.40
20191180404,5560.47
2020640311,1490.32
20217140256,1140.82
2022711188,2230.48
20241030161,3350.81
Source: U.S. Department of Transportation, Air Travel Consumer Reports (annual animal incident tables)36373839404135travelstatisticsbureau.com

FAQ

Does a flight nanny's price include the airline pet fee?

Sometimes. Two of seven companies with a published price include the nanny's airfare and the pet fee; the others add the travel costs and the airline fee on top.7 8 1

Can a large dog fly in the cabin?

Usually not. The pet and carrier must fit under the seat, and most flight-nanny prices assume a pet under 20 lb.14 6

Is the CDC Dog Import Form free?

Yes. The form costs nothing; vet, laboratory and animal-care-facility costs are paid by the owner.30

Do emotional support animals fly free?

No. They are treated as pets and pay the pet fee; only trained service dogs are exempt.29

Can I buy a pet carrier at the airport?

On Southwest, a pet carrier bought at the ticket counter costs $58.16

Conclusions

  1. The nanny's fee is only the start of the bill. The median starting price is $675, but one breeder-run service says a whole domestic delivery runs from about $1,550 plus tax for most US destinations once airfare, the certificate, the airline fee and insurance are added.4
  2. The airline fee has become the fixed cost. A cabin pet pays $50 to $150 each way at home, with a median of $125, and the big-airline fee has gone from about $100 in 2008 to $150 today.13 26
  3. The hold is closed to most owners. A pet that fits under the seat pays the cabin fee. A bigger one needs the hold, and of nine US airlines only Alaska and Hawaiian take checked pets from the public, at $200, twice their cabin fee; Delta, American and United take them only from military and State Department staff on orders.20 21 15
  4. Paperwork cost depends on the destination. A trip at home needs no endorsement, abroad it costs $101 to $275, a dog coming back from any of 111 high-risk places needs a second endorsed form, and Hawaii adds $185 or more on arrival.28 32 34

Methodology

  • Prices and fees in force on 2026-09-26/27; fee history 2008, 2013 and 2026.
  • Animal incidents 2015-2024, 8 years (2017, 2023 and 2025 not included; see Limitations).

Definition. Flight-nanny price = the starting price a company publishes for escorting one small pet in the cabin on a domestic trip; one price per company. Airline pet fee = fee per carrier or kennel, one way. USDA endorsement = the federal fee for endorsing an export health certificate. Hawaii fees = state fees per dog or cat on arrival. Animal incidents = deaths, injuries and losses reported by airlines with 60+ seat aircraft.

Data sources. Flight-nanny companies' own price pages (commercial sample of 7 companies, fetched 2026-09-27); airlines' own pet pages, fee pages and contracts of carriage (Delta, Southwest, Alaska Airlines, Allegiant, Frontier, Breeze, JetBlue, Air Canada, WestJet); a pet-travel guide (Chewy, secondary) for American, United, JetBlue, Frontier and Spirit, whose own pages could not be read; news reports of 2008 and 2013 (secondary, dated); USDA APHIS endorsement fees; CDC dog importation pages; Hawaii Department of Agriculture and Biosecurity animal quarantine page; the DOT service-animal rule and DOT Air Travel Consumer Reports.

Calculations. Medians, means, midpoints, multiples and differences are our arithmetic from the figures shown. The do-it-yourself cost is the airline fee (plus the USDA no-test endorsement abroad); the owner's own ticket is not included, and most nanny prices leave out the nanny's airfare (two of seven include it). The animal-incident series has no trend line because a straight-line fit turns negative before 2050.

Limitations. Flight-nanny prices are published starting prices, not what customers paid, and include different items. Five airline fees are secondary because the airlines' pages could not be read. The 2008 and 2013 fees are from news reports. Airline fees and state fees change without notice. DOT has published full-year animal-incident tables for 2023 and 2025; they were not available to us at publication and are not included; the 2017 table was not located.

Sources

  1. Pawsitive Landing LLC. “Pet Transport Pricing.” pawsitivelanding.com, 2026. pawsitivelanding.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  2. The Waggin' Trail Express. “Flight Nanny.” thewaggintrailexpress.com, 2026. thewaggintrailexpress.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  3. Travel Statistics Bureau. “Travel Statistics Bureau calculations.” own calculation, 2026. Methodology. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  4. Stokeshire. “Flight Nanny Fee - Domestic.” wisconsindesignerdoodles.com, 2026. wisconsindesignerdoodles.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  5. Fuzzy Fur Babies Flight Nanny. “Fuzzy Fur Babies Flight Nanny.” fuzzyfurbabiesflightnanny.com, 2026. fuzzyfurbabiesflightnanny.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  6. TLC Flight Nanny. “TLC Flight Nanny: Pricing & Fees.” tlcflightnanny.com, 2026. tlcflightnanny.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  7. PurplePup Pet Transportation. “Flight Nanny.” purplepup.net, 2026. purplepup.net. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  8. Rebecca Creek Retrievers. “Puppy Shipping.” rebeccacreekretrievers.com, 2026. rebeccacreekretrievers.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  9. PurplePup Pet Transportation. “Puppy Flight Nanny.” purplepup.net, 2026. purplepup.net. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  10. Stokeshire. “Flight Nanny Fee - International.” wisconsindesignerdoodles.com, 2026. wisconsindesignerdoodles.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  11. QT Pet Transport. “Flight Nanny QT Pet Transport.” flightnannyqtpettransport.com, 2026. flightnannyqtpettransport.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  12. Allegiant Travel Company. “Contract of Carriage.” allegiantair.com, 2026. allegiantair.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  13. Delta Air Lines, Inc. “Pet Travel Overview.” delta.com, 2026. delta.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  14. Alaska Airlines, Inc. “Pets in Cabin.” alaskaair.com, 2026. alaskaair.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  15. Wendy Rose Gould. “The Complete Airline Pet Policy Guide for U.S. Airlines.” chewy.com, 2025-10-09. chewy.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  16. Southwest Airlines Co. “Optional Travel Charges.” southwest.com, 2026. southwest.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  17. WestJet Airlines Ltd. “Pets.” westjet.com, 2026. westjet.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  18. aircanada.com. “Travelling with pets.” aircanada.com, 2026. aircanada.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  19. WestJet Airlines Ltd. “Service fees.” westjet.com, 2026. westjet.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  20. Alaska Airlines, Inc. “Pets in Baggage Compartment.” alaskaair.com, 2026. alaskaair.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  21. Southwest Airlines Co. “Pet Policy.” southwest.com, 2026. support.southwest.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  22. JetBlue Airways Corporation. “Contract of Carriage (revision 103).” jetblue.com, 2026-07-29. jetblue.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  23. Spirit Airlines, Inc. “Contract of Carriage (updated as of April 30, 2026).” spirit.com, 2026-04-30. content.spirit.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  24. Frontier Airlines, Inc. “Do you allow pets on the plane?” flyfrontier.com, 2026. faq.flyfrontier.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  25. Breeze Airways. “Contract of Carriage (updated as of March 20, 2025).” flybreeze.com, 2025-03-20. media.flybreeze.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  26. NBC News. “Flying the not-so-fur-friendly skies.” nbcnews.com, 2008-06-25. nbcnews.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  27. Fox News. “Southwest Airlines raising the price of taking your pet with you to $95 each way.” foxnews.com, 2013-11-26. foxnews.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  28. Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service. “Cost To Endorse Your Pet's Health Certificate.” U.S. Department of Agriculture, 2026-06-18. aphis.usda.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  29. U.S. Department of Transportation. “Traveling by Air With Service Animals (final rule, 14 CFR Part 382).” Federal Register, 2020-12-10. govinfo.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  30. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. “Entry Requirements for U.S.-Vaccinated Dogs from High-Risk Countries.” U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 2026-04-28. cdc.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  31. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. “Frequently Asked Questions on Dog Importation.” U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 2026-08-27. cdc.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  32. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. “High-Risk Countries for Dog Rabies.” U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 2026-04-15. cdc.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  33. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. “Entry Requirements for Foreign-Vaccinated Dogs from High-Risk Countries.” U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, 2024-07-22. cdc.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  34. Hawaii Department of Agriculture and Biosecurity. “Animal Quarantine Information Page.” State of Hawaii, 2026. dab.hawaii.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  35. Office of Aviation Consumer Protection. “Air Travel Consumer Report (February 2025).” U.S. Department of Transportation, 2025. rosap.ntl.bts.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  36. Office of Aviation Consumer Protection. “Air Travel Consumer Report (February 2017).” U.S. Department of Transportation, 2017. rosap.ntl.bts.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  37. Office of Aviation Consumer Protection. “Air Travel Consumer Report (February 2019).” U.S. Department of Transportation, 2019. rosap.ntl.bts.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  38. Office of Aviation Consumer Protection. “Air Travel Consumer Report (February 2020).” U.S. Department of Transportation, 2020. rosap.ntl.bts.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  39. Office of Aviation Consumer Protection. “Air Travel Consumer Report (February 2021).” U.S. Department of Transportation, 2021. rosap.ntl.bts.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  40. Office of Aviation Consumer Protection. “Air Travel Consumer Report (February 2022).” U.S. Department of Transportation, 2022. rosap.ntl.bts.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  41. Office of Aviation Consumer Protection. “Air Travel Consumer Report (February 2023).” U.S. Department of Transportation, 2023. rosap.ntl.bts.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text

About the author

Capt. Helen Askew
Senior Author, Aviation

Helen Askew writes the publication's aviation coverage, from airline reliability rankings to fare and fee analysis. She flew for 21 years as a commercial pilot, the last eight as a captain on wide-body long-haul routes, accumulating more than 12,000 flight hours on both major narrow-body and wide-body aircraft families. Off the flight deck, Helen served as Head of Flight Safety for a major European carrier, where she ran the airline's safety-management system, led incident investigations and represented the company in working groups with national and regional aviation regulators. She holds a master's degree in air transport management and is a fellow of a leading aeronautical professional society. Her writing draws on primary data (regulator filings, operational performance reports and airline financial disclosures) rather than press releases. She is regularly quoted by trade and consumer media on airline safety, cancellations and passenger rights.

Daniel R. Whitcombe
Reviewed by
Editor-in-Chief, Travel Statistics Bureau

Every figure on this page links to its source. How we research

Related research

More tourism and travel-cost research from Travel Statistics Bureau.

  1. Travel CostsHow Much Is In-Flight WiFi (2026 Data)$8 Wi-Fi for one flight on Southwest or Alaska without an accountRead the research →
  2. Travel CostsHow Much Is a Flight to Hawaii? (2026 Data)$483 average round-trip flight from the US to HawaiiRead the research →
  3. Travel CostsHow Much Is a Flight to New York (2026 Data)$305 average round-trip flight to New York from US citiesRead the research →
  4. Travel CostsHow Much Is a Flight to Thailand (2026 Data)$484 average round-trip flight from the US to BangkokRead the research →
  5. Travel CostsHow Much Is a Flight to the Dominican Republic (2026 Data)$571 average round-trip flight from the US to Punta CanaRead the research →
  6. Travel CostsHow Much Is a Flight to Mexico? (2026 Data)$514 average round-trip flight from the US to CancunRead the research →