Research · Travel Costs

How Much Is In-Flight WiFi (2026 Data)

Wi-Fi prices and free-access rules on 16 US and international airlines in September 2026, aircraft with free Wi-Fi, the satellite rollout and airline Wi-Fi revenue per session from 2011 to 2018.

  • Published
  • Updated
  • 43 sources
  • 76 statistics
  • 12 min read

Key findings

  1. $8Southwest and Alaska charge passengers without a membership $8 for Wi-Fi on one flight.
  2. 1,000Delta put its 1,000th aircraft with free Wi-Fi for SkyMiles members into service in December 2025.
  3. 400More than 400 United aircraft had Starlink Wi-Fi, free for MileagePlus members, in June 2026.
  4. 4,580One satellite provider's in-flight internet was in service on 4,580 commercial aircraft in March 2026.
  5. $12.74One major North American airline Wi-Fi network earned an average $12.74 in revenue per session in 2015.
  6. 13.2%On the same network, 13.2% of passengers used Wi-Fi in 2019, up from 4.7% in 2011.

How much is in-flight WiFi in 2026? On a growing share of flights the answer is nothing, as long as you log in with a free loyalty account. Where a price is still charged, it is $81 for one flight on Southwest without a membership and $82 on Alaska, while long-haul passes on international airlines reach about twenty to thirty dollars. Only one of the nine US airlines on this page gives Wi-Fi to every passenger with no account at all,3 and one still has no Wi-Fi on board.4

The change is recent and fast. Delta counted its 1,000th5 free Wi-Fi aircraft in December 2025, American stopped charging its members in January 2026,6 and nearly a decade of airline Wi-Fi records show what Wi-Fi earned per session before that, and how few passengers went online. Below: the price on every major US airline, the international carriers, the satellite rollout and the revenue per Wi-Fi session from 2011 to 2018.

What in-flight Wi-Fi costs in 2026

Across the nine US airlines tracked here, the price of Wi-Fi now depends less on the flight and more on whether you are signed in. Delta, American, Southwest, Alaska and Hawaiian all give Wi-Fi free to members of their loyalty programs, and joining costs nothing.5 6 7 8 The catch is the aircraft: on Alaska and United the free service runs only on jets already fitted with the new satellite system, and Alaska still sells the older system by the flight.2 9

The table below gives the price for a passenger without a membership and who gets it free, as of September 2026.

Wi-Fi price and free access on nine US airlines, September 2026
Price for a passenger without a loyalty membership, where the airline's own page or filing gives one
Unit: US dollars per flight (see column)
Unitednot confirmed as of September 27, 2026MileagePlus members on Starlink-equipped aircraft (more than 400 in June 2026)
Deltano price publishedanyone logged in with a free SkyMiles account
Americanno price publishedAAdvantage members (narrowbody and dual-class regional jets since January 2026)
Southwest$8 per device, takeoff to landingRapid Rewards members (since October 24, 2025)
Alaska$8 per flight (Standard or Basic Wi-Fi)Atmos Rewards members on Starlink jets; eligible T-Mobile customers
Hawaiianfree with a free accountAtmos Rewards members on flights to and from Hawaii; none on neighbor-island flights
JetBluefree for everyoneall passengers, every fare
Frontierno Wi-Fi on boardno one; Starlink planned from early 2027
Spiritno serviceceased all flights on May 2, 2026
Source: Airline Wi-Fi and fee pages, airline Forms 10-K for 2025 and airline newsrooms, checked September 27, 20269510617283411travelstatisticsbureau.com

Where Wi-Fi is sold by the pass, a full-flight internet pass starts at a few dollars on a short European hop and is $8 on the two US airlines that publish a price. The chart compares the lowest full-internet pass each airline lists for one flight, in US dollars.12 1 2 Messaging-only passes are left out, because they do not open the web. Several of the lowest international prices could only be confirmed from reports of the airlines' pages, so they carry an asterisk and no ranking claim rests on them.12 13 14

Lowest full-flight internet pass by airline, September 2026
Lowest listed price for full internet access on one flight, for a passenger without free access; euro and pound prices converted at the ECB reference rate of September 25, 2026; * = secondary report of the airline's page
Unit: US dollars per flight (full-flight pass)
  1. Cathay Pacific, up to 6 hours*$12.95
  2. Qatar Airways, bought on board*$10.00
  3. Emirates, shortest flights*$9.99
  4. Etihad, under 7 hours*$9.99
  5. Southwest$8.00
  6. Alaska$8.00
  7. Lufthansa, up to 90 min*$6.84
  8. British Airways, short-haul streaming*$6.61
  9. Air France, short-haul*$3.42
Source: Airline Wi-Fi pages; euro and pound prices converted at the ECB rate of 2026-09-25121314121516171819travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • Southwest and Alaska both list $8.
  • The lowest listed pass is $3.42 and the highest here is $12.95.
  • 7 of the 9 prices carry an asterisk.

Put the sixteen airlines researched for this page side by side and a pattern appears. Only one of the fifteen still flying lets every passenger online free with no account, four give it free to anyone who joins their loyalty program, and seven give it free only on the aircraft that already carry new satellite equipment.3 9 5 8 20 21

How 15 airlines give out Wi-Fi, September 2026
US and international airlines on this page that are still flying (Spirit excluded); Other = no Wi-Fi on board; Qatar Airways, Emirates, Etihad and Air France classified from secondary reports of their pages
Unit: airlines
  1. Free only on newly equipped jets746.7%
  2. Free with a free loyalty account426.7%
  3. Paid, free only for top tiers or cabins213.3%
  4. Free for every passenger16.7%
  5. Other16.7%
Source: Airline Wi-Fi pages, newsrooms and Forms 10-K, September 2026356789202117121516224travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • 7 of the 15 airlines give free Wi-Fi only on newly equipped jets.
  • 4 give it free to anyone with a free loyalty account.
  • Just 1 gives it to every passenger.

Wi-Fi on US airlines, one by one

Each airline has its own mix of price, program and equipment. This is where each one stands in September 2026.

United

Here is how much WiFi costs on a United flight: on the jets that carry Starlink, nothing for MileagePlus members, and joining is free. More than 4009 United aircraft had Starlink in June 2026, and United expected close to 1,0009 by the end of the year, including nearly 609 widebody jets for long international routes. United began with its regional jets and has moved on to mainline and widebody aircraft.23 9 United's price for other passengers is not given here.

The service is already carrying large numbers. Since its launch in spring 2025, United has flown more than 18.6 million9 passengers on more than 311,0009 Starlink-equipped flights, and 9.9 million9 devices have connected.

Delta

Delta settled how much WiFi costs on a Delta flight by removing the price for anyone who logs in: fast Wi-Fi is free for all customers through a free SkyMiles account, and the airline's 1,000th5 free Wi-Fi-enabled aircraft entered service in December 2025. Any number of devices can connect after logging in.10 Delta publishes no price for passengers who prefer not to sign up. Its Wi-Fi page now describes free Wi-Fi on over 80010 aircraft serving its most popular destinations, a narrower count than the December 2025 milestone.

American

The answer to how much WiFi costs on an American Airlines flight changed in January 2026. American made high-speed Wi-Fi free for AAdvantage members on its narrowbody and dual-class regional fleets that month and said it would reach nearly every flight by spring 2026.6 Its mainline narrowbody fleet alone was 87624 aircraft at the end of 2025, out of 1,0136 mainline jets.

Aircraft with free Wi-Fi for members or all passengers, as each airline counts them
Not like-for-like counts: Delta, its free Wi-Fi aircraft in December 2025 (its Wi-Fi page now says over 800); American, mainline narrowbody jets only on December 31, 2025, though its free Wi-Fi also covers dual-class regional jets; JetBlue, whole fleet on December 31, 2025; United, Starlink aircraft in June 2026 (more than 400); Alaska and Hawaiian, Starlink aircraft in June 2026 including the regional E175 fleet
Unit: aircraft
  1. Delta (Dec 2025)1,000
  2. American (mainline narrowbody only)876
  3. United (Starlink, June 2026)400
  4. JetBlue (whole fleet)288
  5. Alaska and Hawaiian (Starlink, incl. E175)150
Source: Airline Forms 10-K for 2025, airline Wi-Fi page and news releases, 2025-2026510693824travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • Delta counted its 1,000th free Wi-Fi aircraft in December 2025.
  • American's 876 covers only its mainline narrowbody jets.
  • United's 400 counts only Starlink jets, in June 2026.

Southwest

So how much WiFi costs on a Southwest flight depends on one sign-in. Wi-Fi has been free for Rapid Rewards members since October 24, 2025, sponsored by T-Mobile.7 Without an account, access costs $81 per device from takeoff to landing, on the aircraft that have paid Wi-Fi; Southwest notes it is available on select aircraft only.1 It had 8037 Boeing 737s at the end of 2025.

How many passengers do these policies reach? Counting only flights each airline operates itself, the nine carriers flew 678.8 million25 domestic passengers in 2025, and Southwest alone carried 24.4%24 of them, more than any of the other eight.25

Domestic passengers by US airline, 2025, with each airline's Wi-Fi policy today
Passengers on scheduled domestic flights operated by the airline itself, January-December 2025; regional partner flights excluded; Wi-Fi policy as of September 2026
Unit: million passengers
  1. Southwest (free for members)165.8M
  2. Delta (free for members)138.5M
  3. American (free for members)132.0M
  4. United (free for members on Starlink jets)109.9M
  5. Alaska (free for members on Starlink jets)33.0M
  6. Frontier (no Wi-Fi)31.7M
  7. Spirit (ceased May 2026)28.7M
  8. JetBlue (free for everyone)28.5M
  9. Hawaiian (free for members, to and from Hawaii)10.6M
Source: Bureau of Transportation Statistics, T-100 Domestic Segment, 202525travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • Southwest carried 165.8 million passengers.
  • Delta carried 138.5 million and American 132.0 million.
  • Spirit's 28.7 million passengers flew an airline that has since stopped flying.

Counting every airline, including the regional partners, US scheduled domestic flights carried 845.2 million25 passengers in 2025, including Puerto Rico, the US Virgin Islands and a US Pacific territory; the 50 states on the map account for 837.5 million25. The map below does not show Wi-Fi: Wi-Fi prices are set by airline and aircraft, not by state, so it shows this related official count by the state where passengers boarded, as a guide to where the policies above reach the most travelers.

Domestic passengers departing each state on scheduled flights, 2025
Related official dataset, shown because Wi-Fi prices are set by airline and aircraft, not by state: passengers boarding scheduled domestic passenger flights of all US airlines, by departure state, January-December 2025. Washington, DC's airports lie in Virginia and Maryland
Unit: thousand departing passengers
Alabama: 3,133Alaska: 5,163Arizona: 26,898Arkansas: 2,476California: 90,130Colorado: 40,851Connecticut: 3,959Delaware: 167District of Columbia: no dataFlorida: 88,308Georgia: 46,825Hawaii: 16,725Idaho: 3,168Illinois: 44,032Indiana: 6,449Iowa: 2,479Kansas: 1,114Kentucky: 7,295Louisiana: 7,520Maine: 1,762Maryland: 11,862Massachusetts: 16,866Michigan: 18,026Minnesota: 16,053Mississippi: 1,060Missouri: 13,802Montana: 3,338Nebraska: 2,855Nevada: 27,163New Hampshire: 777New Jersey: 16,359New Mexico: 2,909New York: 38,896North Carolina: 34,671North Dakota: 1,331Ohio: 10,450Oklahoma: 3,984Oregon: 10,744Pennsylvania: 19,343Rhode Island: 2,153South Carolina: 7,243South Dakota: 1,247Tennessee: 17,353Texas: 87,885Utah: 13,526Vermont: 713Virginia: 26,406Washington: 25,465West Virginia: 415Wisconsin: 5,250Wyoming: 871AL3,133AK5,163AZ26,898AR2,476CA90,130CO40,851CT3,959DE167DCFL88,308GA46,825HI16,725ID3,168IL44,032IN6,449IA2,479KS1,114KY7,295LA7,520ME1,762MD11,862MA16,866MI18,026MN16,053MS1,060MO13,802MT3,338NE2,855NV27,163NH777NJ16,359NM2,909NY38,896NC34,671ND1,331OH10,450OK3,984OR10,744PA19,343RI2,153SC7,243SD1,247TN17,353TX87,885UT13,526VT713VA26,406WA25,465WV415WI5,250WY871
Source: Bureau of Transportation Statistics, T-100 Domestic Segment, 2025; our calculation2524travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • California had 90.1 million departing passengers, Florida 88.3 million.
  • Texas followed with 87.9 million.
  • Delaware had the fewest, 167 thousand.

Alaska and Hawaiian

Alaska sells two paid tiers at the same price: Standard Wi-Fi, which allows streaming, and Basic Wi-Fi on its 737-700s, both $82 per flight. Starlink Wi-Fi is free for Atmos Rewards members; it is on every regional jet and on select 737 MAX 8s, and the whole fleet is due to have it by the end of 2027.2 26 By June 2026 about 1508 Alaska and Hawaiian aircraft carried it, the whole regional fleet plus the first 508 mainline jets. Hawaiian's jets to and from North America and on international routes are equipped, and from mid-July 2026 guests need a free Atmos Rewards account to get online; its neighbor-island flights have no Wi-Fi at all.8

JetBlue

JetBlue is the exception. Every JetBlue fare includes free high-speed Wi-Fi, and the entire fleet of 2883 aircraft is equipped, with no loyalty account required. JetBlue plans to add a low Earth orbit satellite service on part of its fleet in 2027.3

Frontier and Spirit

Frontier has no Wi-Fi, no seatback screens and no power outlets on board today. It plans to begin installing Starlink in early 2027,4 and has not said whether the service will be free or paid.27 How much WiFi costs on a Spirit flight is no longer a question with a price: Spirit Airlines ceased all flight operations on May 2, 2026, as part of its bankruptcy and liquidation.11

How much WiFi costs on an international flight

On international airlines the price still depends on the route, the cabin and the loyalty tier, and the free satellite services are only arriving. The table below shows who gets Wi-Fi free on seven large international airlines; the price tables after it show what everyone else pays.

Who gets free Wi-Fi on seven international airlines, September 2026
* = condition from a secondary report of the airline's page
Unit: text (see columns)
Emirates*Skywards members (depends on tier); everyone on Starlink-equipped aircraftpaid passes for others
Qatar Airways*everyone on Starlink aircraft (Boeing 777 and Airbus A350 fleets)Privilege Club: 1 free hour on other aircraft
British Airwaysevery customer in every cabin once Starlink is fitted, from 2026legacy passes on older aircraft*
Lufthansa GroupMiles & More customers and Travel ID users, all classes, on Starlink aircraftfirst flight August 19, 2026; about 850 aircraft by 2029
Air France*logged-in Flying Blue members, all cabins, fleet-wide by end of 2026legacy passes on older aircraft
Etihad*chat package for Etihad Guest members; Surf free in First and for top tiersSurf pass for others
Cathay PacificFirst and Business, Diamond and Gold members in all cabins (from November 15, 2025)paid passes for others*
Source: Airline Wi-Fi pages and newsrooms, checked September 27, 2026151721132012162218travelstatisticsbureau.com

Emirates

On older aircraft, how much WiFi costs on an Emirates flight depends on the length of the flight: a full-flight pass runs from $9.9915 to $19.9915, a 30-minute pass is $9.9915 and chat-only access is $2.9915 to $5.9915. Skywards members get free access depending on their tier, and everyone connects free on the aircraft fitted with Starlink. The longest-flight pass costs 2.024 times the shortest.

British Airways

How much WiFi costs on a British Airways flight is about to change. On aircraft still using the older system, messaging costs £1.9913 to £2.9913 on short-haul flights for passengers outside the BA Club, and full streaming costs £4.9913 to £21.9913 on long-haul flights ($6.6124 to $29.1424). Starlink Wi-Fi will be free for every customer in every cabin, with installation starting in 2026.21

Full-flight Wi-Fi pass on long-haul flights, six international airlines, September 2026
Price of the full-flight pass on the longest routes, for passengers without free access; euro and pound prices converted at the ECB rate of September 25, 2026; * = secondary report of the airline's page
Unit: US dollars per flight
1Emirates*USD 19.99$19.99longest flights
2Etihad*USD 19.99$19.99flights over 7 hours
3Cathay Pacific*USD 19.95-24.95$24.95routes over 6 hours (top of range)
4British Airways*GBP 21.99$29.14long-haul streaming (top of range)
5Lufthansa*from EUR 25$28.51long-haul full flight
6Air France*EUR 18$20.53long-haul whole flight
Source: Airline Wi-Fi pages; ECB reference rate 2026-09-2515161813141219travelstatisticsbureau.com

Etihad

How much WiFi costs on an Etihad flight comes down to what you want to do online. The chat package is free for Etihad Guest members, and joining is free. The Surf package with unlimited data is $9.9916 on flights under 7 hours and $19.9916 on longer ones; it is free in First and for Platinum and Exclusive members, and Gold members get 25% off.

Cathay Pacific

How much WiFi costs on a Cathay Pacific flight depends first on the cabin. First and Business passengers get it free, and so do Diamond and Gold members in any cabin since November 15, 2025.22 Other passengers pay $3.9518 for a full-flight messaging pass on routes up to 6 hours, $9.9518 for one hour, or $12.9518 for a full flight on routes up to 6 hours.

Messaging and full internet are priced very differently wherever both are sold. The table sets them side by side.

Messaging pass vs full internet pass, four international airlines
Listed price ranges by route length for passengers without free access; British Airways converted at the ECB rate of September 25, 2026; * = secondary report of the airline's page
Unit: US dollars or pounds per flight (see columns)
Emirates*USD 2.99-5.99USD 9.99-19.99
Cathay Pacific*USD 3.95 (routes up to 6 hours)USD 12.95-24.95
Etihad*free for Etihad Guest membersUSD 9.99-19.99
British Airways*GBP 1.99-4.99 ($2.64-$6.61)GBP 4.99-21.99 ($6.61-$29.14)
Source: Airline Wi-Fi pages; ECB reference rate 2026-09-251518161319travelstatisticsbureau.com

Qatar Airways, Lufthansa and Air France

Qatar Airways has Starlink across its Boeing 777 and Airbus A350 fleets, free for everyone; on other aircraft a pass costs about $1017 on board or about $817 bought in advance. Lufthansa Group's new Starlink service is free for Miles & More customers and Travel ID users in every class; the first flight was on August 19, 2026, and about 85020 aircraft are to have it by 2029. Older Lufthansa aircraft sell passes from €614 ($6.8424) on flights up to 90 minutes. Air France gives free Wi-Fi to logged-in Flying Blue members as it upgrades its fleet through 2026; on older aircraft a short-haul pass is €312 ($3.4224) and a medium-haul pass from €512 ($5.7024).

When free satellite Wi-Fi arrives on each airline

The move to free Wi-Fi rides on new satellite hardware, and each airline is fitting it on its own timetable. Some have finished, most are mid-way, and one has not started.

Free and satellite Wi-Fi milestones by airline, 2025-2029
Dates the airlines give for launches and targets; * = secondary report of the airline's page
Unit: date (see column)
Southwestfree for Rapid Rewards membersOctober 24, 2025
Delta1,000th free Wi-Fi aircraft in serviceDecember 2025
Americanfree for AAdvantage members on narrowbody and dual-class regional jetsJanuary 2026
Spiritceased operationsMay 2, 2026
Alaska and Hawaiianabout 150 Starlink aircraft; membership required from mid-JulyJune 2026
Lufthansa Groupfirst Starlink flight (Frankfurt-Rome)August 19, 2026
Air Francefree Wi-Fi fleet-wide for Flying Blue members*end of 2026
British AirwaysStarlink installation begins, free for all customers2026
Frontierfirst Starlink installationsearly 2027
JetBluelow Earth orbit service on part of the fleet2027
AlaskaStarlink on the whole fleetend of 2027
Lufthansa Groupabout 850 aircraft equipped2029
Source: Airline Forms 10-K for 2025, newsrooms and Wi-Fi pages756118201221432travelstatisticsbureau.com

The equipment count behind that rollout keeps climbing. One major supplier of airline internet had its service installed on 47628 commercial aircraft in March 2016 and on 4,58029 in March 2026, 9.624 times as many. Fiscal 2024 is the first count after it bought a satellite operator in May 2023, so that step should not be read as a single year of installs.30 In fiscal 2026 alone it added 46024 aircraft, with about 1,00029 more due under existing airline contracts.

Commercial aircraft with Viasat in-flight internet, in service and contracted, 2018-2026
Aircraft in service at fiscal year-end (March 31) and further aircraft expected under existing airline agreements; fiscal 2024 includes the Inmarsat acquisition (completed May 30, 2023)
Unit: commercial aircraft
  • In service
  • Contracted, not yet in service
Source: Viasat, Inc., Forms 10-K for fiscal years 2018-2026283132333435303629travelstatisticsbureau.comDownload PNG
What the data shows
  • Aircraft in service rose from 635 in 2018 to 4,580 in 2026.
  • The contracted backlog peaked at 1,600 in 2025.
  • It fell to 1,000 in 2026.
Viasat in-flight internet aircraft by fiscal year, 2016-2026
Aircraft in service at March 31 and aircraft expected under existing agreements; 2016 and 2017 from the fiscal 2018 filing; from fiscal 2021 the in-service count includes aircraft inactive at year-end (shown separately, as stated)
Unit: commercial aircraft
2016476not statednot published
2017559not statednot published
2018635not stated955
20191,312not stated490
20201,390not stated750
20211,480about 2001,190
20221,910about 80970
20232,270about 401,310
20243,720about 701,360
20254,120about 901,600
20264,580about 1301,000
Source: Viasat, Inc., Forms 10-K for fiscal years 2018-2026283132333435303629travelstatisticsbureau.com

What airline Wi-Fi earned per session, 2011-2019

Before free Wi-Fi, access was sold per session and most passengers simply did not buy it. The clearest record comes from the ground-to-air network that dominated North American airline Wi-Fi in the 2010s, whose airline business was sold in December 2020 for $400.0 million37. Later, in September 2024, US regulators opened an extra satellite band to low-orbit systems, including receivers on moving vehicles and aircraft.38

The network grew from 1,34539 North American airline aircraft online in 2011 to a peak of 2,84040 in 2017, then fell to 2,44240 by 2019 as one large airline customer took aircraft off the network.40

Airline aircraft online with Gogo Wi-Fi in North America, 2011-2019
Commercial Aviation North America segment, aircraft with service available at year-end; satellite and air-to-ground (ATG) split published from 2017; the 2013 and 2014 filings defined aircraft online as ATG-equipped aircraft; overlapping years agree across filings
Unit: aircraft
20111,345not publishednot published
20121,811not publishednot published
20132,032not publishednot published
20142,098not publishednot published
20152,387not publishednot published
20162,676not publishednot published
20172,8404162,424
20182,5516701,881
20192,4428651,577
Source: Gogo Inc., Forms 10-K for 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2019, Commercial Aviation North America key metrics39414240travelstatisticsbureau.com

Outside North America the same provider started later and grew faster, from 8542 airline aircraft in 2014 to 79240 in 2019, 9.324 times as many.

Airline aircraft online with Gogo Wi-Fi outside North America, 2014-2019
Commercial Aviation Rest of World segment: aircraft online at year-end and average aircraft equivalents in the year
Unit: aircraft
20148585
2015202130
2016267196
2017391268
2018589418
2019792632
Source: Gogo Inc., Forms 10-K for 2016 and 2019, Commercial Aviation Rest of World key metrics4240travelstatisticsbureau.com

Revenue per aircraft shows what each connected plane earned from passengers and airlines. It almost doubled from $5,98039 a month in 2011 to $11,39242 in 2016, but the growth stalled at the end: 2016 was only slightly above 2015's $11,30442.

Average monthly service revenue per airline aircraft, North America, 2011-2016
Commercial Aviation North America segment; per aircraft online (2011-2014) or per aircraft equivalent (2015-2016)
Unit: US dollars per aircraft per month
2011$5,980
2012$6,981
2013$8,375
2014$10,064
2015$11,304
2016$11,392
Source: Gogo Inc., Forms 10-K for 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2019, Commercial Aviation North America key metrics394142travelstatisticsbureau.com

From 2017 the measure changed to a yearly figure net of some airline payments, in thousands of dollars, so it cannot be joined to the monthly series. In North America it stood at $122 thousand40 per aircraft in 2019; outside North America it fell each year, to $130 thousand40.

Net annualized revenue per airline aircraft, 2017-2019
Net annualized average monthly service revenue per aircraft equivalent, North America and rest of world; 2018-2019 under the revenue standard adopted in 2018 (ASC 606), earlier years not restated
Unit: thousand US dollars per aircraft per year
2017$114k$192k
2018$111k$149k
2019$122k$130k
Source: Gogo Inc., Form 10-K for 201940travelstatisticsbureau.com

The number closest to a Wi-Fi price is revenue per session: the network's connectivity revenue divided by the number of sessions, one passenger online on one flight segment, whether or not that passenger paid. The revenue includes access paid for by airlines and sponsors, not only by passengers. It rose from $9.0139 in 2011 to a peak of $12.7442 in 2015, then fell to $6.9740 in 2018, when airline-paid and sponsored access grew. The 2018 value follows the revenue accounting standard adopted that year (ASC 606) and earlier years were not restated, so the $5.7724 drop from the peak crosses that change.

Wi-Fi connectivity revenue on North American airline flights, 2014-2019
Commercial Aviation North America connectivity service revenue, paid by passengers, airlines and sponsors, including non-session revenue; 2014-2016 as reported in the 2016 filing, 2017-2019 in the 2019 filing; 2018-2019 under the revenue standard adopted in 2018 (ASC 606), earlier years not restated
Unit: thousand US dollars
2014$244,088
2015$294,220
2016$341,104
2017$368,886
2018$339,791
2019$322,783
Source: Gogo Inc., Forms 10-K for 2016 and 2019, Commercial Aviation North America segment results4240travelstatisticsbureau.com

Total Wi-Fi revenue on the network peaked at $368.9 million40 in 2017 and was $322.8 million40 in 2019, even as the share of passengers going online kept rising.

Average revenue per Wi-Fi session, North American airline flights, 2011-2018
Revenue per session: connectivity revenue divided by sessions; a session is one passenger using Wi-Fi on one flight segment, paid or not; revenue includes access paid by airlines and sponsors, which grew from 2018; non-session revenue excluded from 2014; 2018 under the revenue standard adopted in 2018 (ASC 606), earlier years not restated
Unit: US dollars per session
2011$9.01
2012$9.74
2013$10.40
2014$11.08
2015$12.74
2016$12.31
2017$10.33
2018$6.97
Source: Gogo Inc., Forms 10-K for 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2019, Commercial Aviation North America key metrics39414240travelstatisticsbureau.com

Few passengers went online. The take rate, sessions as a share of passengers on equipped aircraft, was 4.7%39 in 2011 and still only 6.6%42 in 2016. It climbed to 13.2%40 by 2019, 2.824 times the 2011 level, once airline-paid and sponsored access spread.

Share of passengers who used Wi-Fi on Gogo-equipped North American flights, 2011-2019
Connectivity take rate: sessions as a percentage of passengers on equipped aircraft; 2018-2019 under the revenue standard adopted in 2018 (ASC 606), earlier years not restated
Unit: percent of passengers
20114.7%
20125.3%
20136.2%
20146.7%
20156.2%
20166.6%
20178.3%
201811.6%
201913.2%
Source: Gogo Inc., Forms 10-K for 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2019, Commercial Aviation North America key metrics39414240travelstatisticsbureau.com

The pool of potential users grew quickly too. Passengers flying on equipped aircraft rose from 192.1 million39 in 2011 to 398.1 million42 in 2016, 2.0724 times as many, and revenue per passenger on those flights rose from $0.4339 to $0.7941 by 2014.

Passengers on Gogo-equipped North American flights and revenue per passenger, 2011-2016
Gross passenger opportunity (passengers on equipped aircraft) and total average revenue per passenger opportunity; from the 2016 filing, passenger counts use actual airline data where available and estimates otherwise
Unit: thousand passengers; US dollars per passenger
2011192,074$0.43
2012250,354$0.53
2013294,709$0.67
2014313,979$0.79
2015351,730not published
2016398,075not published
Source: Gogo Inc., Forms 10-K for 2013, 2014, 2016 and 2019, Commercial Aviation North America key metrics394142travelstatisticsbureau.com

What this means for your next flight

For most US flights the cheapest Wi-Fi is a free loyalty account created before boarding.5 7 On Delta, American, Southwest and Hawaiian that account removes the price; on JetBlue there is nothing to sign up for.6 8 3 If you would rather not join, budget $81 on Southwest and Alaska for one flight, and check whether your jet has the new satellite system, which on Alaska and United decides whether members get Wi-Fi free.9

Long international flights are where the bill can still add up. A full-flight pass on the longest routes ranges from $19.9915 to $29.1424 on the airlines in the long-haul table, while messaging passes cost a few dollars and are often free for members. Frontier passengers should plan to be offline until at least 2027.4

History suggests why airlines are giving Wi-Fi away. When it was sold per session, at most 6.7%41 of passengers on equipped flights used it in 2011-2016; the take rate reached 13.2% by 2019, as airline-paid and sponsored access spread.42 40

Wi-Fi on private jets, for comparison

Private jets are a separate market. The same provider's business aviation service earned about $3,42143 a month per aircraft with air-to-ground Wi-Fi in 2025, on 6,40243 such aircraft, and after buying a satellite service provider in December 2024 it also served 1,32143 business aircraft by satellite. These figures are for private aircraft, not airline flights.

Private jets with Gogo Wi-Fi and monthly revenue per air-to-ground aircraft, 2023-2025
Gogo Business Aviation: air-to-ground (ATG) aircraft online at year-end (AVANCE and Gogo Biz), satellite (GEO) aircraft online, and average monthly ATG connectivity service revenue per ATG aircraft online (revenue share from Intelsat excluded); GEO counts jump from 2024 after the Satcom Direct purchase (December 3, 2024); private aircraft, not airlines
Unit: aircraft; US dollars per aircraft per month
20237,20510$3,380
20247,0591,249$3,481
20256,4021,321$3,421
Source: Gogo Inc., Form 10-K for 202543travelstatisticsbureau.com

FAQ

Is Wi-Fi free on US flights?

On most flights of Delta, American and Southwest it is free with a free loyalty account, and on JetBlue it is free for everyone. Hawaiian gives it free to members on its flights to and from Hawaii, and United and Alaska give it free to members on their Starlink-equipped aircraft; Frontier has none.5 6 7 8 9 3 4

Do I need a loyalty account to use free airline Wi-Fi?

On most airlines, yes. Delta, American, Southwest, Alaska and Hawaiian tie free Wi-Fi to their free programs; JetBlue does not ask for one.5 8 3

How many United planes have free Starlink Wi-Fi?

More than 400 in June 2026, free for MileagePlus members, with close to 1,000 expected by the end of 2026.9

Why did Spirit Airlines stop offering Wi-Fi?

Spirit stopped flying altogether: it ceased all flight operations on May 2, 2026, during its bankruptcy liquidation.11

Is Wi-Fi free on long international flights?

Only on some airlines and aircraft. Qatar Airways' Starlink aircraft are free for everyone, and British Airways plans the same in every cabin as Starlink is fitted from 2026; elsewhere members or premium cabins get it free and others buy a pass.17 21 22

Conclusions

  1. The price of in-flight Wi-Fi has become a sign-in. Four of the nine US airlines tracked here, Delta, American, Southwest and JetBlue, give Wi-Fi free on most flights, to members of a free program or to everyone. Hawaiian does so on its flights to and from Hawaii, and United and Alaska on their Starlink jets.5 6 7 3 8 9
  2. Paying is now the exception, and it is cheap in the US. Where a US price remains, it is $8 for one flight on Southwest and Alaska, below the $12.74 one major network earned per session in 2015, a figure that also counted access paid by airlines and sponsors.1 2 42
  3. Free Wi-Fi follows the hardware. One satellite provider alone had its service on 4,580 airliners in March 2026, Alaska and Lufthansa Group are still fitting new systems through 2027 and 2029, and Frontier starts in 2027, so the same ticket can be free on one jet and paid on the next.29 2 20 4
  4. Sold per session, Wi-Fi reached few passengers. Only 4.7% to 6.7% of passengers used it in 2011-2016; the rate reached 13.2% in 2019 as airlines and sponsors paid, which helps explain today's sponsored free Wi-Fi.39 40

Methodology

  • Airline prices and free-access rules: in force on September 27, 2026.
  • Aircraft counts: December 2025 to June 2026 (as dated in each figure); provider series 2011-2026.
  • Passengers: US scheduled domestic passenger flights, January-December 2025 (by airline: the nine airlines' own flights).

Definition. In-flight Wi-Fi price = the price an airline lists for internet access on board for a passenger without free access (per flight, per device or per day pass, as stated). Free access = no charge to the passenger, with the condition the airline states (loyalty account, cabin, tier or aircraft type). Revenue per session and take rate are the provider's own key metrics for its North American airline segment.

Data sources. Airline Wi-Fi and fee pages (Southwest, Alaska, Delta, Frontier), airline newsrooms (Alaska Air Group, British Airways, Lufthansa Group, Cathay Pacific, Frontier), airline Forms 10-K for 2025 (Delta, American, Southwest, JetBlue, United, Alaska Air Group), United news release of June 22, 2026; Gogo Inc. Forms 10-K 2013-2025, Intelsat S.A. Form 10-K 2020, Viasat, Inc. Forms 10-K fiscal 2018-2026; BTS T-100 Domestic Segment 2025; FCC Report and Order 24-97; ECB euro reference rates. United's price for other passengers is not given. Prices for Emirates, Qatar Airways, British Airways, Lufthansa, Air France, Etihad and Cathay Pacific are secondary (the airlines' pages blocked automated access) and are marked with an asterisk.

Calculations. Euro and pound prices converted at the ECB reference rate of September 25, 2026 (1 EUR = 1.1403 USD, 1 GBP = 1.32524 USD). The state map is a related official dataset, not a Wi-Fi measure: passengers on scheduled domestic passenger flights of all US airlines, summed by departure state (charter and cargo flights left out); it is not counted as a Wi-Fi figure. American's 876 = its mainline narrowbody fleet on December 31, 2025. No trend line is drawn: the provider series end with a sale (2020) or include an acquisition (2023), so a straight line to 2050 would not be plausible.

Limitations. Airline Wi-Fi rules change often and differ by aircraft; the figures are a snapshot. Passenger counts are 2025 while Wi-Fi rules are those of September 2026, and the per-airline chart leaves out regional partner flights. The provider metrics cover one provider's airline network, not the whole market; its revenue per aircraft changed unit in 2017, and its 2018-2019 values follow the revenue standard adopted in 2018 without restating earlier years. Revenue per session includes access paid by airlines and sponsors, so it is not a passenger price.

Sources

  1. Southwest Airlines. “Optional Travel Charges.” southwest.com, 2026. southwest.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  2. Alaska Airlines. “Inflight Wi-Fi.” alaskaair.com, 2026. alaskaair.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  3. JetBlue Airways Corporation. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2026-02-12. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  4. Frontier Airlines. “In-Flight Entertainment | Wi-Fi & Media.” flyfrontier.com, 2026. faq.flyfrontier.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  5. Delta Air Lines, Inc. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2026-02-11. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  6. American Airlines Group Inc. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2026-02-18. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  7. Southwest Airlines Co. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2026-02-05. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  8. Alaska Airlines. “Atmos Rewards members now unlock free inflight Wi-Fi on Alaska Airlines and Hawaiian Airlines, thanks to T-Mobile.” news.alaskaair.com, 2026-06-25. news.alaskaair.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  9. United Airlines. “United Accelerates Starlink Wi-Fi Rollout with First Widebody Transatlantic Flight.” prnewswire.com (United Airlines news release), 2026-06-22. prnewswire.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  10. Delta Air Lines. “Onboard Wi-Fi.” delta.com, 2026. delta.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  11. BWI Thurgood Marshall Airport. “May 2, 2026 - Spirit Airlines Ceases Operations.” bwiairport.com, 2026-05-02. bwiairport.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  12. Societe Air France. “Inflight wifi: connectivity and options.” airfrance.us, 2026. wwws.airfrance.us. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  13. British Airways Plc. “Onboard Wi-Fi.” britishairways.com, 2026. britishairways.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  14. Deutsche Lufthansa AG. “FlyNet on board.” lufthansa.com, 2026. lufthansa.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  15. Emirates Airline. “Onboard Wi-Fi.” emirates.com, 2026. emirates.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  16. Etihad Airways P.J.S.C. “Onboard services.” etihad.com, 2026. etihad.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  17. Qatar Airways Company Q.C.S.C. “Stay connected with Starlink.” qatarairways.com, 2026. qatarairways.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  18. Cathay Pacific Airways Limited. “Inflight Wi-Fi.” cathaypacific.com, 2026. cathaypacific.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  19. European Central Bank. “Euro foreign exchange reference rates (90-day history).” ecb.europa.eu, 2026-09-25. ecb.europa.eu. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  20. Deutsche Lufthansa AG. “Lufthansa Group Launches Free High-Speed Internet from Starlink.” newsroom.lufthansagroup.com, 2026-08-10. newsroom.lufthansagroup.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  21. British Airways Plc. “British Airways signs major deal with Starlink to provide every customer in every cabin free Wi-Fi that feels like home - another big investment for the airline as part of its GBP7bn transformation journey.” mediacentre.britishairways.com, 2025-11-06. mediacentre.britishairways.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  22. Cathay Pacific Airways Limited. “Cathay Pacific extends complimentary Wi-Fi to all Cathay Gold members.” news.cathaypacific.com, 2025-10-10. news.cathaypacific.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  23. United Airlines Holdings, Inc. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2026-02-12. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  24. Travel Statistics Bureau. “Travel Statistics Bureau calculations.” own calculation, 2026. Methodology. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  25. Bureau of Transportation Statistics. “T-100 Domestic Segment (All Carriers), January-December 2025.” U.S. Department of Transportation, 2026. transtats.bts.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  26. Alaska Air Group, Inc. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2026-02-12. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  27. Frontier Airlines. “Frontier Airlines to Offer Starlink, the Fastest WiFi in the Sky.” news.flyfrontier.com, 2026-07-14. news.flyfrontier.com. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  28. Viasat, Inc. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2018.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2018-05-30. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  29. Viasat, Inc. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2026.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2026-05-29. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  30. Viasat, Inc. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2024.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2024-05-29. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  31. Viasat, Inc. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2019.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2019-05-29. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  32. Viasat, Inc. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2020.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2020-05-29. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  33. Viasat, Inc. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2021.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2021-05-28. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  34. Viasat, Inc. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2022.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2022-05-31. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  35. Viasat, Inc. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2023.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2023-05-22. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  36. Viasat, Inc. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended March 31, 2025.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2025-05-27. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  37. Intelsat S.A. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2020.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2021. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  38. Federal Communications Commission. “Report and Order FCC 24-97, Amendment of Parts 2 and 25 of the Commission's Rules to Enable NGSO Fixed-Satellite Service (Space-to-Earth) Operations in the 17.3-17.8 GHz Band (IB Docket No. 22-273), adopted September 26, 2024.” fcc.gov, 2024-09-27. docs.fcc.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  39. Gogo Inc. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2013.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2014-03-10. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  40. Gogo Inc. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2019.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2020-03-13. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  41. Gogo Inc. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2014.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2015-03-02. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  42. Gogo Inc. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2016.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2017-02-28. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text
  43. Gogo Inc. “Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended December 31, 2025.” U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission (EDGAR), 2026-02-27. sec.gov. Accessed 2026-09-27. Back to text

About the author

Capt. Helen Askew
Senior Author, Aviation

Helen Askew writes the publication's aviation coverage, from airline reliability rankings to fare and fee analysis. She flew for 21 years as a commercial pilot, the last eight as a captain on wide-body long-haul routes, accumulating more than 12,000 flight hours on both major narrow-body and wide-body aircraft families. Off the flight deck, Helen served as Head of Flight Safety for a major European carrier, where she ran the airline's safety-management system, led incident investigations and represented the company in working groups with national and regional aviation regulators. She holds a master's degree in air transport management and is a fellow of a leading aeronautical professional society. Her writing draws on primary data (regulator filings, operational performance reports and airline financial disclosures) rather than press releases. She is regularly quoted by trade and consumer media on airline safety, cancellations and passenger rights.

Daniel R. Whitcombe
Reviewed by
Editor-in-Chief, Travel Statistics Bureau

Every figure on this page links to its source. How we research

Related research

More tourism and travel-cost research from Travel Statistics Bureau.

  1. Travel CostsHow Much Is a Flight Nanny for a Puppy? (2026 Data)$675 median flight-nanny starting priceRead the research →
  2. Travel CostsHow Much Is a Flight to Hawaii? (2026 Data)$483 average round-trip flight from the US to HawaiiRead the research →
  3. Travel CostsHow Much Is a Flight to New York (2026 Data)$305 average round-trip flight to New York from US citiesRead the research →
  4. Travel CostsHow Much Is a Flight to Thailand (2026 Data)$484 average round-trip flight from the US to BangkokRead the research →
  5. Travel CostsHow Much Is a Flight to the Dominican Republic (2026 Data)$571 average round-trip flight from the US to Punta CanaRead the research →
  6. Travel CostsHow Much Is a Flight to Mexico? (2026 Data)$514 average round-trip flight from the US to CancunRead the research →